Chemical Biology Core Facility

Chemical Biology Core Facility

Small molecule screening facility

Ligand docked into target protein

Ligand docked into target protein
© dkfz.de

Small inhibitory molecules are widely used as therapeutic agents, but they are also excellent “biotool” compounds for basic research. They are often used as experimental tools to address important biological questions via loss-of-function experiments. The aim of this core facility is to provide research groups with inhibitory molecules against their target of interest and enable them to answer essential questions in their research. The facility assists groups in the development of primary and secondary assays for screening against our in-house compound library and guides them through the process of identifying tool compounds for their specific target. It also offers computational chemistry services.

The Chemical Biology Core Facility is a collaboration between DKFZ, the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) in Heidelberg and Heidelberg University, and is located at EMBL. For further information on this service, please visit this site.

Medicinal chemistry support is usually required following a small molecule screen. Here, the research group “Cancer Drug Development” headed by Dr. Aubry Miller offers assistance on a collaborative basis.

Contact

Dr. Joe Lewis

Head of Chemical Biology Core Facility

E-Mail: lewis@embl.de

Phone ++49 (0)6221 387- 8935

to top

Chemical Biology Core Facility

Chemical Biology Core Facility

Zentrale Serviceeinheit zum Durchmustern niedermolekularer Substanzen

An sein Zielprotein gebundener Ligand

An sein Zielprotein gebundener Ligand
© dkfz.de

Kleine inhibitorische Substanzen finden nicht nur Anwendung als therapeutische Agenzien, sie sind auch exzellente “Biowerkzeuge” in der Grundlagenforschung. Oft werden sie als experimentelle Werkzeuge in Funktionsverlust-Studien eingesetzt, um wichtige biologische Fragestellungen zu adressieren. Die Chemical Biology Core Facility wurde etabliert, um den wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgruppen die Möglichkeit zu geben, kleine inhibitorische Substanzen zu entwickeln, die gegen das sie interessierende Zielmolekül gerichtet sind und um sie damit in die Lage zu versetzen, anstehende Fragen ihrer Forschung anzugehen. Die Core Facility gibt Hilfestellung bei der Entwicklung primärer und sekundärer Testverfahren für die Durchmusterung einer eigenen Substanz-Bibliothek und begleitet den gesamten Prozess, einen geeigneten Inhibitor gegen ein Zielmolekül aufzufinden. Auch Dienstleistungen auf dem Gebiet der computergestützten Chemie werden angeboten.

Die Chemical Biology Core Facility ist eine Kooperation zwischen dem DKFZ, dem European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) in Heidelberg  sowie der Universität Heidelberg und ist am EMBL lokalisiert. Weitere Informationen über den Service finden Sie hier.

Nach der Identifizierung von niedermolekularen inhibitorischen Substanzen ist für das Projekt in der Regel Know-how aus der Medizinalchemie notwendig. Hier leistet die Arbeitsgruppe „Wirkstoffforschung“ unter der Leitung von Dr. Aubry Miller wertvolle Unterstützung auf Kooperationsbasis.

Kontakt

Dr. Joe Lewis

Leiter der Chemical Biology Core Facility

E-Mail: lewis@embl.de

Tel.: +49 (0)6221 387- 8935

nach oben