Helmholtz Institute for Translational Oncology Mainz - A Helmholtz Institute of the DKFZ

Immunotherapy has revolutionized the treatment of some types of cancer in recent years. But the sometimes spectacular healing successes are facing numerous patients who do not benefit from the treatment. Why this is and how to remedy this is one of the most pressing questions of cancer research. The Helmholtz Institute for Translational Oncology Mainz (HI-TRON Mainz) takes up this question in order to develop pioneering personalized immuno-therapy for cancer therapy based on a deep understanding of the mechanisms of action. For this reason, the goal of HI-TRON Mainz is to achieve a real breakthrough in cancer therapy with these pioneering immunotherapies.

At the Helmholtz Institute for Translational Oncology Mainz (HI-TRON Mainz), the German Cancer Research Center cooperates with the Research Institute for Translational Oncology at the University Medical Center of the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (TRON gGmbH), the University Medical Center Mainz and the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz in order to combine the internationally outstanding expertise of the partners in the field of personalized immunotherapy with the translational top research in the DKFZ. The new Helmholtz Institute for Translational Oncology (HI-TRON) is to be set up as a world-leading center for personalized cancer medicine with a focus on immunotherapy at the science location Mainz. The cooperation partners of HI-TRON Mainz want to pursue this goal together, so that in future even more patients can benefit from the powerful weapon against cancer.

With the establishment of the HI-TRON Mainz, an institute will be created that strongly links the two locations and which will become a center of excellence in translational oncology. Through its institutionalized academic format in collaboration with industry, HI-TRON Mainz will expand the global reputation of both sites as a biotechnology hotspot and bring new therapies to clinical translation as quickly as possible.

Contact Person:
Dr. Stefanie Höger
Administrative Coordination
Helmholtz Institute for Translational Oncology Mainz (HI-TRON Mainz)

Mobile: +49 173 1829898
Mail: s.hoeger@dkfz.de
www.dkfz.de

In Heidelberg:
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg

In Mainz:
Obere Zahlbacher Str. 63
55131 Mainz

 

to top

Helmholtz-Institut für Translationale Onkologie Mainz – Ein Helmholtz-Institut des Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrums

Immuntherapien haben in den letzten Jahren die Behandlung einiger Krebsarten geradezu revo-lutioniert. Doch den teilweise spektakulären Heilungserfolgen stehen zahlreiche Patienten ge-genüber, die von der Behandlung nicht profitieren. Woran das liegt und wie man hier Abhilfe schaffen kann, gehört zu den dringendsten Fragen der Krebsforschung. Diese Frage greift das Helmholtz-Institut für Translationale Onkologie Mainz (HI-TRON Mainz) auf, um basierend auf einem tiefen Verständnis der Wirkmechanismen zukunftsweisende personalisierte Immunthera-pien für die Krebstherapie zu entwickeln. Aus diesem Grund ist es Ziel des HI-TRON Mainz mit diesen zukunftsweisenden Immuntherapien einen echten Durchbruch in der Krebstherapie zu erzielen.

Im Helmholtz-Institut für Translationale Onkologie Mainz (HI-TRON Mainz) kooperiert das Deut-sche Krebsforschungszentrum mit dem Forschungsinstitut für Translationale Onkologie an der Universitätsmedizin der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (TRON gGmbH), der Universitätsmedizin Mainz und der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, um die internatio-nal herausragende Expertise der Partner auf dem Gebiet der personalisierten Immuntherapie mit der translationsstarken Spitzenforschung im DKFZ zusammenzuführen. Das neue Helmholtz Instituts für translationale Onkologie (HI-TRON) soll als ein weltweit führendes Zentrum für personalisierten Krebsmedizin mit Fokus auf Immuntherapie am Wissenschaftsstandort Mainz aufgebaut werden. Dieses Ziel wollen die Kooperationspartner des HI-TRON Mainz zusammen verfolgen, damit in Zukunft noch mehr Patienten von der machtvollen Waffe gegen den Krebs profitieren können.

Mit dem Aufbau des HI-TRON Mainz wird ein Institut geschaffen, das die beiden Standorte eng miteinander verbindet und zu einem Schwerpunktzentrum in der Translationalen Onko-logie machen wird. Durch das institutionalisierte akademische Format in Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie wird HI-TRON Mainz die weltweite Reputation beider Standorte als Biotechno-logie-Hotspot ausbauen und neue Therapien schnellstmöglich zur Anwendung zu bringen.

Ansprechpartner:
Dr. Stefanie Höger
Administrative Koordination
Helmholtz-Institut für Translationale Onkologie Mainz (HI-TRON Mainz)

Mobil: +49 173 1829898
Mail: s.hoeger@dkfz.de
www.dkfz.de

In Heidelberg:
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg

In Mainz:
Obere Zahlbacher Str. 63
55131 Mainz

nach oben