Cookie Settings

We use cookies to optimize our website. These include cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as those that are only used for anonymous statistic. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Further information can be found in our data privacy protection .

Essential

These cookies are necessary to run the core functionalities of this website and cannot be disabled.

Name Webedition CMS
Purpose This cookie is required by the CMS (Content Management System) Webedition for the system to function correctly. Typically, this cookie is deleted when the browser is closed.
Name econda
Purpose Session cookie emos_jcsid for the web analysis software econda. This runs in the “anonymized measurement” mode. There is no personal reference. As soon as the user leaves the site, tracking is ended and all data in the browser are automatically deleted.
Statistics

These cookies help us understand how visitors interact with our website by collecting and analyzing information anonymously. Depending on the tool, one or more cookies are set by the provider.

Name econda
Purpose Statistics
External media

Content from external video platforms is blocked by default. If cookies from external media are accepted, access to this content no longer requires manual consent.

Name Youtube
Purpose External media

Division of Metabolic crosstalk in cancer

Dr. Christiane Opitz

Evidence emerging in the last years has led to the re-appreciation of the central role of altered cell metabolism in cancer. We have identified a metabolic pathway of the essential amino acid tryptophan as a key element promoting malignant brain tumors. Tryptophan metabolites activate the dioxin receptor resulting in enhanced invasiveness and clonogenicity of brain tumor cells and increased formation of brain tumors. While the role of the dioxin receptor in cancer biology is well established, the signaling pathways through which the dioxin receptor promotes cancer are poorly understood. Due to the fact that tryptophan metabolites as (patho-)physiologically relevant endogenous dioxin receptor ligands were just identified, the signaling pathways activated by these endogenous dioxin receptor ligands remain elusive. As different dioxin receptor ligands exert diverse biological effects, it is expected that tryptophan metabolites will activate other signaling pathways than the classical and well-studied exogenous ligand dioxin. Inhibition of the dioxin receptor may be a new approach for cancer therapy. Understanding the downstream signaling pathways that are responsible for the tumor-promoting effects of endogenous dioxin receptor activation may identify more specific therapeutic targets for the treatment of tumors that rely on this pathway and and reveal potential biomarkers for monitoring biological activity of these pathways.

In the future we plan to identify the signaling pathways activated by tryptophan degradation in brain tumor cells. Specifically we will analyze the signaling pathways downstream of endogenous dioxin receptor signaling and the signaling pathways activated by tryptophan depletion. In addition we aim to use our expertise in monitoring cancer metabolism for the analysis of nicotinamide metabolism in brain tumors. Preliminary evidence suggests that several enzymes implicated in nicotinamide metabolism are overexpressed in brain tumors. Our group aims at delineating the role of nicotinamide metabolism in brain tumors by targeted metabolomics and bioinformatics approaches using malignant brain tumor cells and tumor stem cells. If the metabolism of nicotinamide is found to be functionally relevant for the malignant phenotype or the treatment resistance of brain tumors, small molecule screens will be performed to identify inhibitors of the respective enzymes. In addition, nicotinamide will be measured in biofluids of brain tumor patients and correlated with the activity of the respective enzymes in the tumor tissue with the aim of identifying biomarkers for the activity of nicotinamide metabolism for future stratification of patients to treatment with inhibitors of this pathway. In addition, “metabolic flux analyses” will be used to model tryptophan and nicotinamide metabolism.

Contact

Dr. Christiane Opitz
Metabolic crosstalk in cancer (B350)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 423839

Selected Publications

  • Prentzell MT*, Rehbein U*, Cadena Sandoval M*, De Meulemeester AS*, Baumeister R, Brohée L, Berdel B, Bockwoldt M, Carroll B, Chowdhury SR, von Deimling A, Demetriades C, Figlia G; Genomics England Research Consortium, de Araujo MEG, Heberle AM, Heiland I, Holzwarth B, Huber LA, Jaworski J, Kedra M, Kern K, Kopach A, Korolchuk VI, van 't Land-Kuper I, Macias M, Nellist M, Palm W, Pusch S, Ramos Pittol JM, Reil M, Reintjes A, Reuter F, Sampson JR, Scheldeman C, Siekierska A, Stefan E, Teleman AA, Thomas LE, Torres-Quesada O, Trump S, West HD, de Witte P, Woltering S, Yordanov TE, Zmorzynska J, Opitz CA#, Thedieck K# (2021). G3BPs tether the TSC complex to lysosomes and suppress mTORC1 signaling. Cell, Jan 18:S0092-8674(20)31694-9. doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2020.12.024. (*equally contributing first authors, # shared corresponding and last authors)
  • Sadik A*, Somarribas Patterson LF*, Öztürk S*, Mohapatra SR*, Panitz V, Secker PF, Pfänder P, Loth S, Salem H, Prentzell MT, Berdel B, Iskar M, Faessler E, Reuter F, Kirst I, Kalter V, Foerster KI, Jäger E, Guevara CR, Sobeh M, Hielscher T, Poschet G, Reinhardt A, Hassel JC, Zapatka M, Hahn U, von Deimling A, Hopf C, Schlichting R, Escher BI, Burhenne J, Haefeli WE, Ishaque N, Böhme A, Schäuble S, Thedieck K, Trump S*, Seiffert M*, Opitz CA*#. IL4I1 Is a Metabolic Immune Checkpoint that Activates the AHR and Promotes Tumor Progression. Cell. 2020 Aug 17:S0092-8674(20)30946-6.
  • Mohapatra SR, Sadik A, Sharma S, Poschet G, Gegner HM, Lanz TV, Lucarelli P, Klingmüller U, Platten M, Heiland I, Opitz CA. (2021) Hypoxia Routes Tryptophan Homeostasis Towards Increased Tryptamine Production. Front Immunol 12(8).
  • Panitz V*, Koncarevic S*, Sadik A*, Friedel D, Bausbacher T, Trump S, Farztdinov V, Schulz S, Sievers P, Schmidt S, Jürgenson I, Jung S, Kuhn K, Pflüger I, Sharma S, Wick A, Pfänder P, Selzer S, Vollmuth P, Sahm F, von Deimling A, Heiland I, Hopf C, Schulz-Knappe P, Pike I, Platten M, Wick W, Opitz CA. (2021) Tryptophan metabolism is inversely regulated in the tumor and blood of patients with glioblastoma. Theranostics. 3;11(19):9217-9233.
to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Cookie Hinweis

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen ein optimales Webseiten-Erlebnis zu bieten. Dazu zählen Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Seite notwendig sind, sowie solche, die lediglich zu anonymen Statistikzwecken, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte genutzt werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass auf Basis Ihrer Einstellungen womöglich nicht mehr alle Funktionalitäten der Seite zur Verfügung stehen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzhinweisen .

Essentiell

Diese Cookies sind für die Funktionalität unserer Website erforderlich und können nicht deaktiviert werden.

Name Webedition CMS
Zweck Dieses Cookie wird vom CMS (Content Management System) Webedition für die unverwechselbare Identifizierung eines Anwenders gesetzt. Es bietet dem Anwender bessere Bedienerführung, z.B. Speicherung von Sucheinstellungen oder Formulardaten. Typischerweise wird dieses Cookie beim Schließen des Browsers gelöscht.
Name econda
Zweck Session-Cookie für die Webanalyse Software econda. Diese läuft im Modus „Anonymisiertes Messen“.
Statistik

Diese Cookies helfen uns zu verstehen, wie Besucher mit unserer Webseite interagieren, indem Informationen anonym gesammelt und analysiert werden. Je nach Tool werden ein oder mehrere Cookies des Anbieters gesetzt.

Name econda
Zweck Measure with Visitor Cookie emos_jcvid
Externe Medien

Inhalte von Videoplattformen werden standardmäßig blockiert. Wenn Cookies von externen Medien akzeptiert werden, bedarf der Zugriff auf diese Inhalte keiner manuellen Zustimmung mehr.

Name Youtube
Zweck Externe Medien

DKFZ-Juniorgruppe Hirntumor-Metabolismus

Dr. Christiane Opitz

Metabolische Veränderungen spielen eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Krebsentstehung. In den letzten Jahren haben wir einen Stoffwechselweg der essentiellen Aminosäure Tryptophan als zentral für die Bildung von bösartigen Hirntumoren identifiziert. Tryptophan-Metabolite aktivieren den Dioxin-Rezeptor, was zu einer Steigerung der Invasivität und Klonogenität von Hirntumorzellen und vermehrter Bildung von Hirntumoren führt. Obwohl die Rolle des Dioxin-Rezeptors in der Krebsbiologie gut etabliert ist, sind die durch den Dioxin-Rezeptor aktivierten Signalwege, die die Krebsentstehung fördern, unzureichend erforscht. Da bisher kein in der Krebsbiologie relevanter endogener Ligand des Dioxin-Rezeptors identifiziert wurde, sind insbesondere die Signalwege, die durch solch einen körpereigenen Liganden aktiviert werden, unbekannt. Da sich verschiedene Liganden des Dioxin-Rezeptors in ihrer biologischen Wirkung unterscheiden, ist davon auszugehen, dass Tryptophan-Metabolite andere Signalwege aktivieren als gut erforschte exogene Liganden wie Dioxin. Unsere Arbeit legt nahe, dass die Hemmung des Dioxin-Rezeptors ein neuer Ansatz für die Krebstherapie ist. Wir erwarten, dass das Verständnis der dem Dioxin-Rezeptor nachgeschalteten Tumor-fördernden Signalwege zur Identifizierung spezifischerer therapeutischer Ziele für die Tumorbehandlung führen wird.

In Zukunft möchten wir die Signalwege, die durch den Abbau von Tryptophan in Hirntumorzellen aktiviert werden, identifizieren. Konkret werden wir die Signalwege, die der endogenen Dioxin-Rezeptor-Aktivierung nachgeschaltet sind und die Signalwege, die durch Tryptophan-Mangel aktiviert werden, untersuchen. Darüber hinaus wollen wir unsere Expertise bei der Untersuchung des Krebsstoffwechsels für die Analyse des Nicotinamid-Metabolismus in Hirntumoren nutzen. Vorläufige Ergebnisse weisen darauf hin, dass mehrere Enzyme, die im Nicotinamid-Stoffwechsel beteiligt sind, in Hirntumoren überexprimiert werden. Mit Hilfe zielgerichteter Metabolomics-Analysen und bioinformatischer Ansätze wollen wir die Rolle des Nicotinamid-Stoffwechsels in Hirntumoren verstehen. Falls sich der Nicotinamid-Stoffwechsel als relevant für den malignen Phänotyp oder die Therapieresistenz von Hirntumoren herausstellt, werden wir ein Screening auf niedermolekulare Wirkstoffe durchführen, um Inhibitoren der jeweiligen Enzyme zu identifizieren. Darüber hinaus werden wir Nicotinamid in biologischen Flüssigkeiten von Hirntumorpatienten messen und mit der Aktivität der jeweiligen Enzyme im Tumorgewebe korrelieren mit dem Ziel, Biomarker für die Aktivität des Nicotinamid-Stoffwechsels für zukünftige Stratifizierung von Patienten zur Behandlung mit Inhibitoren dieses Stoffwechselweges zu identifizieren. Zudem werden wir mittels „Metabolic Flux Analysen“ den Tryptophan- und Nicotinamid-Stoffwechsel modellieren.

Kontakt

Dr. Christiane Opitz
Hirntumor-Metabolismus (B350)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 423839

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Prentzell MT*, Rehbein U*, Cadena Sandoval M*, De Meulemeester AS*, Baumeister R, Brohée L, Berdel B, Bockwoldt M, Carroll B, Chowdhury SR, von Deimling A, Demetriades C, Figlia G; Genomics England Research Consortium, de Araujo MEG, Heberle AM, Heiland I, Holzwarth B, Huber LA, Jaworski J, Kedra M, Kern K, Kopach A, Korolchuk VI, van 't Land-Kuper I, Macias M, Nellist M, Palm W, Pusch S, Ramos Pittol JM, Reil M, Reintjes A, Reuter F, Sampson JR, Scheldeman C, Siekierska A, Stefan E, Teleman AA, Thomas LE, Torres-Quesada O, Trump S, West HD, de Witte P, Woltering S, Yordanov TE, Zmorzynska J, Opitz CA#, Thedieck K# (2021). G3BPs tether the TSC complex to lysosomes and suppress mTORC1 signaling. Cell, Jan 18:S0092-8674(20)31694-9. doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2020.12.024. (*equally contributing first authors, # shared corresponding and last authors)
  • Sadik A*, Somarribas Patterson LF*, Öztürk S*, Mohapatra SR*, Panitz V, Secker PF, Pfänder P, Loth S, Salem H, Prentzell MT, Berdel B, Iskar M, Faessler E, Reuter F, Kirst I, Kalter V, Foerster KI, Jäger E, Guevara CR, Sobeh M, Hielscher T, Poschet G, Reinhardt A, Hassel JC, Zapatka M, Hahn U, von Deimling A, Hopf C, Schlichting R, Escher BI, Burhenne J, Haefeli WE, Ishaque N, Böhme A, Schäuble S, Thedieck K, Trump S*, Seiffert M*, Opitz CA*#. IL4I1 Is a Metabolic Immune Checkpoint that Activates the AHR and Promotes Tumor Progression. Cell. 2020 Aug 17:S0092-8674(20)30946-6.
  • Mohapatra SR, Sadik A, Sharma S, Poschet G, Gegner HM, Lanz TV, Lucarelli P, Klingmüller U, Platten M, Heiland I, Opitz CA. (2021) Hypoxia Routes Tryptophan Homeostasis Towards Increased Tryptamine Production. Front Immunol 12(8).
  • Panitz V*, Kon?arevi? S*, Sadik A*, Friedel D, Bausbacher T, Trump S, Farztdinov V, Schulz S, Sievers P, Schmidt S, Jürgenson I, Jung S, Kuhn K, Pflüger I, Sharma S, Wick A, Pfänder P, Selzer S, Vollmuth P, Sahm F, von Deimling A, Heiland I, Hopf C, Schulz-Knappe P, Pike I, Platten M, Wick W, Opitz CA. (2021) Tryptophan metabolism is inversely regulated in the tumor and blood of patients with glioblastoma. Theranostics. 3;11(19):9217-9233.
nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS