Cookie Settings

We use cookies to optimize our website. These include cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as those that are only used for anonymous statistic. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Further information can be found in our data privacy protection .

Essential

These cookies are necessary to run the core functionalities of this website and cannot be disabled.

Name Webedition CMS
Purpose This cookie is required by the CMS (Content Management System) Webedition for the system to function correctly. Typically, this cookie is deleted when the browser is closed.
Name econda
Purpose Session cookie emos_jcsid for the web analysis software econda. This runs in the “anonymized measurement” mode. There is no personal reference. As soon as the user leaves the site, tracking is ended and all data in the browser are automatically deleted.
Statistics

These cookies help us understand how visitors interact with our website by collecting and analyzing information anonymously. Depending on the tool, one or more cookies are set by the provider.

Name econda
Purpose Statistics
External media

Content from external media platforms is blocked by default. If cookies from external media are accepted, access to this content no longer requires manual consent.

Name YouTube
Purpose Show YouTube content
Name Twitter
Purpose activate Twitter Feeds
Developmental Origins of Pediatric Cancer

DKFZ Junior Group Developmental Origins of Pediatric Cancer

Dr. Lena Kutscher

Neuronal progenitors migrate out of the early rhombic lip.
© dkfz.de

Cancer is a disease caused by abnormal, uncontrolled cell division. In adults, external factors, such as lifestyle choices, environmental exposures, or occupational hazards commonly contribute to tumorigenesis. In children, however, these external factors play a smaller role. Instead, pediatric cancer is thought to arise from a block of developmental maturation. Therefore, effectively treating pediatric cancer will require a thorough knowledge of normal development, including the cellular function of the genes involved. For example, in medulloblastoma, a highly aggressive embryonal brain tumor, a differentiation block in distinct progenitor cell types gives rise to four tumor subgroups. Each subgroup has its own clinical features, prognosis, and treatment options. Although 70% of diagnosed children survive over five years, current treatments severely compromise quality of life. Learning more about medulloblastoma disease modalities in relation to their developmental origins will guide patient-specific treatment, increasing remission rates and reducing long-term toxicity.

Researchers have identified probable genetic causes using -omic analyses of patient samples. However, rigorous functional validation of putative disease-causing genes and the corresponding cell states is still required. By studying basic neural development, we may better understand pediatric tumor initiation and progression. Our group’s long-term goal is to understand normal cerebellum development and elucidate the progression to malignancy. Ultimately, we want to develop mechanism-of-action-based treatments with reduced toxicity for children with brain tumors.

Contact

Dr. Lena Kutscher
Developmental Origins of Pediatric Cancer (B430)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 580
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 4622

Selected Publications

  • Kutscher LM, Okonechnikov K, Batora NV et al. (2020) Functional loss of a noncanonical BCOR–PRC1.1 complex accelerates SHH-driven medulloblastoma formation. Genes Dev. 34.
  • Okonechnikov, K, Pfister, SM, Kutscher, LM. (2019) Probing medulloblastoma initiation at the single-cell level. Trends Cancer 5:12, 759-761
  • Kutscher LM, Keil W, Shaham S. (2018) RAB-35 and ARF-6 GTPases Mediate Engulfment and Clearance Following Linker Cell-Type Death. Dev. Cell 47: 222–238.e6
to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Cookie Hinweis

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen ein optimales Webseiten-Erlebnis zu bieten. Dazu zählen Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Seite notwendig sind, sowie solche, die lediglich zu anonymen Statistikzwecken, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte genutzt werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass auf Basis Ihrer Einstellungen womöglich nicht mehr alle Funktionalitäten der Seite zur Verfügung stehen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzhinweisen .

Essentiell

Diese Cookies sind für die Funktionalität unserer Website erforderlich und können nicht deaktiviert werden.

Name Webedition CMS
Zweck Dieses Cookie wird vom CMS (Content Management System) Webedition für die unverwechselbare Identifizierung eines Anwenders gesetzt. Es bietet dem Anwender bessere Bedienerführung, z.B. Speicherung von Sucheinstellungen oder Formulardaten. Typischerweise wird dieses Cookie beim Schließen des Browsers gelöscht.
Name econda
Zweck Session-Cookie für die Webanalyse Software econda. Diese läuft im Modus „Anonymisiertes Messen“.
Statistik

Diese Cookies helfen uns zu verstehen, wie Besucher mit unserer Webseite interagieren, indem Informationen anonym gesammelt und analysiert werden. Je nach Tool werden ein oder mehrere Cookies des Anbieters gesetzt.

Name econda
Zweck Measure with Visitor Cookie emos_jcvid
Externe Medien

Inhalte von Videoplattformen werden standardmäßig blockiert. Wenn Cookies von externen Medien akzeptiert werden, bedarf der Zugriff auf diese Inhalte keiner manuellen Zustimmung mehr.

Name Youtube
Zweck Externe Medien
Entwicklungsbiologische Ursprünge pädiatrischer Krebserkrankungen

DKFZ-Juniorgruppe Entwicklungsbiologische Ursprünge pädiatrischer Krebserkrankungen

Dr. Lena Kutscher

Neuronale Vorläuferzellen wandern aus dem frühen Kleinhirn aus.
© dkfz.de

Krebs ist eine Krankheit, die durch eine abnormale, unkontrollierte Zellteilung verursacht wird. Bei Erwachsenen tragen externe Faktoren wie Lebensgewohnheiten, Umweltbelastungen oder Berufsrisiken häufig zur Tumorentstehung bei. Für die Entstehung von kindlichen Tumoren spielen diese externen Faktoren jedoch eine geringere Rolle. Stattdessen wird angenommen, dass Krebs im Kindesalter durch eine Blockierung der Zelldifferenzierung während der Entwicklung entsteht. Daher setzt die Entwicklung effektiver Behandlungsstrategien pädiatrischer Tumoren eine umfassende Kenntnis der normalen zellulären Entwicklung voraus, einschließlich der Funktion der beteiligten Gene. So führt beispielsweise beim Medulloblastom, einem hochaggressiven embryonalen Hirntumor, ein Differenzierungsblock in bestimmten Vorläuferzelltypen zu vier verschiedenen Tumorsubgruppen. Jede Untergruppe hat ihre eigenen klinischen Merkmale, Prognosen und Behandlungsmöglichkeiten. Obwohl 70 Prozent der diagnostizierten Kinder ein progressionsfreies Überleben von mindestens fünf Jahren aufweisen, beeinträchtigen aktuelle Behandlungen ihre Lebensqualität erheblich. Weiterführende Kenntnisse über die Modalitäten der Medulloblastom-Erkrankung in Bezug auf ihren Entwicklungsursprung werden dazu beitragen, die patientenspezifische Behandlung zu leiten, die Remissionsraten zu erhöhen und die Langzeittoxizität zu verringern.

Mögliche genetische Ursachen konnten durch Sequenzierung von Patientenproben bereits identifiziert werden. Eine gründliche, funktionelle Validierung der mutmaßlichen krankheitsverursachenden Gene und der entsprechenden Zellzustände ist jedoch weiterhin erforderlich. Die Untersuchung der grundlegenden neuronalen Entwicklung wird dazu beitragen, die Initiation und Progression von pädiatrischen Tumoren besser zu verstehen. Aus diesen Gründen hat unsere Gruppe das langfristige Ziel, die normale Entwicklung des Kleinhirns besser zu verstehen und den Verlauf der malignen Transformation aufzuklären. Die gewonnen Kenntnisse wollen wir dazu nutzen, zielgerichtete Behandlungen mit verringerter Toxizität für Kinder mit Hirntumoren zu entwickeln.

Kontakt

Dr. Lena Kutscher
Entwicklungsbiologische Ursprünge pädiatrischer Krebserkrankungen (B430)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 580
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 4622

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Kutscher LM, Okonechnikov K, Batora NV et al. (2020) Functional loss of a noncanonical BCOR–PRC1.1 complex accelerates SHH-driven medulloblastoma formation. Genes Dev. 34.
  • Okonechnikov, K, Pfister, SM, Kutscher, LM. (2019) Probing medulloblastoma initiation at the single-cell level. Trends Cancer 5:12, 759-761
  • Kutscher LM, Keil W, Shaham S. (2018) RAB-35 and ARF-6 GTPases Mediate Engulfment and Clearance Following Linker Cell-Type Death. Dev. Cell 47: 222–238.e6
nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS