Tumor Models

PD. Dr. Karin Müller-Decker

In vivo tumor models are indispensable tools in cancer research

In vivo tumor models are indispensable tools in cancer research
© dkfz.de

Malignant tumors are complex tissues which arise from normal cells in a protracted multi-step process. Driving forces of tumor development are the progressive accumulation of genetic and epigenetic DNA alterations. As a consequence, such changes disturb cellular signaling pathways and regulatory circuits in affected cells conferring growth advantages, landscaping the micro-environment of the tumor cells, and supporting escape from immunosurveillance. Concomitantly, new blood vessels are formed, inflammatory cells are recruited, and fibroblasts are activated in the surrounding tumor stroma. The complex interactions between tumor cells and vessel, immune, or stroma cells are not yet traceable in an authentic manner in cell cultures in vitro. Therefore, in vivo mouse models of cancer including genetically engineered mouse lines and hetero-grafted mice are indispensable tools for the exploration of the molecular and cellular fundamentals of tumor growth as well as translational applications in cancer research.

The Core Facility Tumor Models offers expertise, specific technical equipment, and resources to efficiently and successfully organize the design, realization, and data interpretation of animal experiments in approved in vivo cancer-related models, thereby using state-of-the-art-protocols that comply with legal requirements.

Our current offer of service comprises:
1. Inflammation tests
2. Multi-stage carcinogenesis tests in mouse skin
3. Heterograft tumor models
4. COX-2 tumor models
5. MITO database for models in Translational Oncology

The tasks will be met either in a full or in an assisted service. This implies a training of participating experimenter, particularly in the application of carcinogens and irritating agents. The range of tumor models will be adjusted to changing scientific needs.

Contact

PD Dr. rer. nat. K. Müller-Decker

Tumor Models

German Cancer Research Center Heidelberg

Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Germany

Tel: +49-6221- 424 531
Fax: +49-6221-424 406

E-mail: k.mueller-decker@dkfz.de

to top

1. Hauptnavigation
  2. Navigation des Hauptbereiches
  3. Inhalt der Seite

Tumormodelle

PD Dr. rer. nat. Karin Müller-Decker

In vivo Tumormodelle als unverzichtbare Instrumente der Tumorforschung
In vivo Tumormodelle als unverzichtbare Instrumente der Tumorforschung | © dkfz.de

Bösartige Tumoren sind Gewebe mit komplexem Phänotyp, die in einem langwierigen Prozess aus einer normalen Zelle schrittweise entstehen. Treibende Kräfte der Tumorentwicklung sind die progressive Anhäufung von genetischen und epigenetischen DNA-Veränderungen. Dadurch bedingte Beeinträchtigungen zellulärer Signalwege und Schaltkreise verschaffen der jeweils betroffenen Zelle Wachstumsvorteile in ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung und gegenüber dem Immunsystem. Damit einhergehend werden neue Gefäße gebildet und Entzündungsreaktionen im umgebenden Stützgewebe ausgelöst Komplexe Interaktionen zwischen Tumor- und Gefäß-, Immun- oder Stromazellen sind bisher in Zellkultur-Systemen nicht authentisch nachvollziehbar. In vivo Tumormodelle, seien es genetisch manipulierte Mauslinien oder Heterograftmäuse, sind daher als Instrumente für die Erforschung der molekularen und zellulären Grundlagen der Tumorentwicklung als auch für translationale Applikationen für die Krebsforschung unverzichtbar.

Die Core Facility "Tumormodelle" bietet Expertise sowie spezifische Einrichtungen und Ressourcen an, um die Planung, Durchführung und Auswertung von Tierversuchen in anerkannten in vivo Entzündungs- und Tumormodellen nach State-of-the-Art-Protokollen und geltendem Recht effizient und erfolgreich mit Ihnen zu gestalten.

Die Aufgaben werden teils im Vollservice und teils im unterstützten Service erfüllt. Letzteres impliziert ein Training von beteiligten Experimentatoren insbesondere bei der geplanten Verabreichung von Karzinogenen und reizenden Substanzen. Das Angebot an Modellen wird sich ändernden Forschungsbedürfnissen anpassen.

Das derzeitige Angebot umfasst:

1. Entzündungstests
2. DMBA/TPA Mehrstufenkarzinogenese in der Maushaut
3. Heterograft-Tumormodelle
4. COX-2-Tumormaus
5. Tumorerfassung
6. Biopsien
7. Informationsbörse/Datenbank "In vivo Tumormodelle am DKFZ"

Letzte Aktualisierung: 13.07.2012 Seitenanfang