DKFZ-Hector Cancer Institute

DKFZ-Hector Cancer Institute at the University of Mannheim

Cancer is the second most frequent disease-related cause of death and is one of the most strongly feared diseases in Germany. In addition to better prevention and new diagnostic methods, a systematic development of patient-oriented research into personalized precision oncology is required to address cancer in a targeted and successful way. Comprehensive cancer centers (CCC) around the world, which bring together outstanding research with excellent multidisciplinary oncological care, are driving forward patient-oriented cancer research. To establish the "DKFZ-Hector Cancer Institute at the University Medical Center Mannheim" DKFZ, University Medical Center Mannheim and Medical Faculty Mannheim at the University Heidelberg have entered a partnership to perform patient-oriented translational cancer research on an internationally competitive level. This long-term partnership will be funded by the Hector Foundation II for the next ten years, with generous support of € 2.5 million a year.

The "DKFZ-Hector Cancer Institute at the University Medical Center Mannheim" is supported by the DKFZ, which offers the necessary scientific environment to perform translational-clinical research on an international top-level. The University Medical Center Mannheim and Medical Faculty Mannheim offers quality-assured multidisciplinary patient care, research, and teaching at the highest level.

The "DKFZ-Hector Cancer Institute at the University Medical Center Mannheim" will focus on the translation of research findings at DKFZ and Medical Faculty Mannheim into innovative clinical trials. The aim is to establish a translational continuum via optimal cooperation between cancer researchers and physicians. Herewith, transfer of results from cutting-edge research into patient care and the reverse translation of findings from clinical practice will be accelerated to foster advances for cancer patients.

For this purpose, the three partners are contributing their expertise in the field of cancer research and cancer medicine to the cooperation in order to establish a national model institution in Mannheim with international appeal.

The core of the "DKFZ-Hector Cancer Institute at the University Medical Center Mannheim" will be a patient-oriented translational outpatient clinic, which will be established to translate basic and preclinical research findings into clinical trials (from bench to bedside). At the same time clinical data and biomaterials will be made available for preclinical and basic research in a systematic approach (reverse translation).

to top

DKFZ-Hector Krebsinstitut

DKFZ-Hector Krebsinstitut an der Universitätsmedizin Mannheim

Krebserkrankungen stellen in Deutschland die zweithäufigste Todesursache und die am meisten gefürchtete Krankheit dar. Neben einer Verbesserung von Prävention und Früherkennung ist insbesondere ein systematischer Ausbau der personalisierten Präzisionsonkologie notwendig, um Krebs gezielt und erfolgreich zu behandeln. Translational ausgerichtete, forschungsstarke Comprehensive Cancer Center (CCC) in denen die kritische Masse an herausragender Forschung mit exzellenter multidisziplinärer, onkologischer Krankenversorgung zusammenkommt, sind die Treiber für Innovationen in der patientenorientierten Krebsforschung. Um translational-klinische Forschung auf internationalem Spitzenniveau durchzuführen, wird das „DKFZ-Hector Krebsinstitut an der Universitätsmedizin Mannheim" im Rahmen einer Partnerschaft zwischen DKFZ, Universitätsklinikum Mannheim und Medizinischen Fakultät Mannheim der Universität Heidelberg aufgebaut. Diese langjährig angelegte Partnerschaft wird durch die Hector-Stiftung II für die kommenden zehn Jahre mit der großzügigen Unterstützung von 2,5 Millionen Euro pro Jahr finanziert.

Träger des „DKFZ-Hector Krebsinstituts an der Universitätsmedizin Mannheim" ist das DKFZ, dass das notwendige wissenschaftliche Umfeld bietet, um translational-klinische Forschung auf internationalem Spitzenniveau durchzuführen. Als universitätsmedizinischer Standort bietet die Universitätsmedizin Mannheim multidisziplinäre, onkologische Krankenversorgung, Forschung und Lehre in höchster Qualität.

Schwerpunktmäßig sollen am „DKFZ-Hector Krebsinstitut an der Universitätsmedizin Mannheim" Erkenntnisse aus der Forschung am DKFZ und der Medizinischen Fakultät Mannheim der Universität Heidelberg aufgegriffen und in wissenschaftlich-orientierte, innovative klinische Studien überführt werden. Das Ziel ist es, die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Krebsforschern und Krebsmedizinern zu fördern, um den Transfer von Ergebnissen aus der Spitzenforschung in die Patientenversorgung zu beschleunigen sowie Erkenntnisse aus dem klinischen Alltag für die Krebsforschung nutzbar zu machen. Zu diesem Zweck bringen die drei Partner ihre Kompetenzen im Bereich Krebsforschung und Krebsmedizin in die Kooperation ein, um in Mannheim eine für Deutschland modellhafte Einrichtung mit internationaler Strahlkraft aufzubauen.

Kern des „DKFZ-Hector Krebsinstituts an der Universitätsmedizin Mannheim" wird eine neu einzurichtende translationale Studienambulanz sein, die gezielt die Erkenntnisse aus der Grundlagen- und präklinischen Forschung aufgreift und in klinische Studien überführt (from bench to bedside). Gleichzeitig sollen im Sinne der reversen Translation pseudonymisierte klinische Daten und Biomaterialien systematisch für präklinische und Grundlagenforschung zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

nach oben