International Cooperations

International Cooperations

Contact

Dr. Claudia Mayer
International Cooperations

Tel: +49 6221 42 2653
c.mayer (at) dkfz.de

The German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) is Germany's largest biomedical research institute, with world- class research in all fields of cancer research, state-of-the-art facilities for high-through-put genome sequencing and other "-omics" technologies.
DKFZ has strong partnerships with other universities, research institutes, and industry partners, both in Europe and worldwide, which is essential to maintain the level of world-class excellence in research and education of young research talents.

The main international cooperation partners are:

MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, USA

The DKFZ has collaborated with the MD Anderson Cancer Center (MDACC) in Houston since 2008, and the relationship was made official with an agreement to join forces as sister institutes. Collaborations between the two centers have included numerous joint projects in basic and translational research, as well as short-term research visits for junior scientists.

https://www.mdanderson.org

Princess Margaret Cancer Center, Toronto, Canada

The DKFZ and Princess Margaret Cancer Centre in Toronto have the joint mission to accelerate the discovery process that leads to improved patient treatment and care. The centers signed a joint memorandum of understanding in September 2017 that underlined their commitment to work together towards this goal by establishing internationally highly competitive research and training programs. A particular focus will be on the development of an initiative for training clinician scientists and medical scientists.

http://www.uhn.ca/PrincessMargaret

National Cancer Institute NCI, Bethesda, USA

Existing interactions between the DKFZ and the NCI have intensified since 2017 with a series of joint thematic workshops. These workshops were the first step in the establishment of a series of collaborative programs in topics ranging from Radiooncology to Cancer Systems Biology. 

https://www.cancer.gov

DKFZ-MOST Program in Cancer Research, Israel

The aim of the DKFZ-MOST (Ministry of Science and Technology) Program in Cancer Research is to enhance collaborations between DKFZ scientists and researchers at all scientific institutions in Israel. Funding of yearly 18 joint projects with a duration of three years is at the core of this program, which was founded in 1976). Regular scientific workshops as well as schools for junior researchers complement the program, and have led not only to numerous significant scientific advances but also fostered faith and friendship between Israeli and DKFZ scientists.

https://www.dkfz.de/en/israel/index.html

Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel

The German-Israeli Helmholtz Research School in Cancer Biology was established in 2012 on the basis of a long-term scientific cooperation between the DKFZ and the Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovot. The graduate school offers the unique opportunity to carry out doctoral research in an international environment, as well as to spend a few months studying at the partner institute. Since 2018, the graduate school has been expanded to include bridging positions that support students before and after their graduate studies (Cancer-Trax program).

https://www.dkfz.de/en/phd-program/GIHRS.html

Inserm (Institute national de la santé et de la recherche médicale), France

The French Institute national de la santé et de la recherche médicale (Inserm) has hosted the DKFZ-Inserm Unit “Microbiology and Infectious Diseases” since 2012. The Unit is led by H-J Delecluse, whose research focuses on cancers associated with Epstein-Barr virus.

https://www.dkfz.de/en/f100/research.html

LOVIT

The Laboratory of Oncolytic-Virus-Immuno-Therapeutics (LOVIT) is a joint research Unit between the Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH) and the DKFZ, established in May 2017. LOVIT researchers are working on oncolytic virus immunotherapy, a procedure that combines the advantages of tumor-targeting viruses with gene therapy, and which could provide more effective treatments in particular for malignant brain tumors.

National Hellenic Research Foundation / Athens Comprehensive Cancer Center, Greece

The DKFZ is working together with colleagues in Greece to establish the Athens Comprehensive Cancer Center. The cooperation is focused on collaborative international research activities and exchange visits for scientists. It is supported by the Helmholtz Association’s Initiative and Networking Fund, in the scope of the European Partnering Program. 

Cancer Core Europe

In the Cancer Core Europe consortium, the DKFZ and NCT have joined together with six other leading European Comprehensive Cancer Centers, the Cambridge Cancer Center, Gustave Roussy in Villjuif near Paris, the Netherlands Cancer Institute in Amsterdam, the Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm, the Vall d’Hebron Institute of Oncology in Barcelona, and the Istituto Nazionale die Tumori in Milan. These centers form a united infrastructure for carrying out innovative projects and clinical studies in the areas of personalized cancer medicine. The goal is to accelerate the transfer of research results into clinical application for the benefit of patients in Europe.

https://www.cancercoreeurope.eu

Cancer Prevention Europe

The DKFZ is involved in the European initiative Cancer Prevention Europe, coordinated by the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Cancer Prevention Europe is a newly established alliance that will bring together coordination, research and training in the area of cancer prevention at the European level. It will address areas including, for example, cancer registries, cancer etiology, and the evaluation of interventional measures for cancer prevention. 

to top

Internationale Kooperationen

Internationale Kooperationspartner

Kontakt

Dr. Claudia Mayer
Internationale Kooperationen

Tel: +49 6221 42 2653
c.mayer (at) dkfz.de

Das Deutsche Krebsforschungszentrum ist die größte biomedizinische Forschungseinrichtung in Deutschland. Hier findet Forschung auf höchstem internationalen Niveau mit modernster technischer Ausstattung auf sämtlichen Gebieten der Krebsforschung statt.
Das DKFZ unterhält sehr enge Partnerschaften und Netzwerke mit Universitäten, Forschungsinstituten und Industriepartnern in Europa aber auch weltweit. Diese Partnerschaften und der damit verbundene enge Austausch sind essenziell, um exzellente Forschung zu betreiben und junge Talente auszubilden und zu fördern. Unsere wichtigsten internationalen Kooperationspartner sind:

MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, USA

Das DKFZ und das MD Anderson Cancer Center (MDACC) in Houston verbindet seit 2008 eine erfolgreiche Partnerschaft, die durch eine Sister Institution Vereinbarung formalisiert wurde. Im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit wurden bisher zahlreiche gemeinsam finanzierte Kooperationsprojekte aus dem Bereich der Grundlagenforschung sowie der translationalen Forschung realisiert sowie Kurzeitaufenthalte von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern gefördert. 

https://www.mdanderson.org

Princess Margaret Cancer Center, Toronto, Kanada

DKFZ und Princess Margaret Cancer Centre in Toronto verfolgen gemeinsam das Ziel, schneller Ergebnisse zu erzielen, die zu einer verbesserten Patientenversorgung und Therapie beitragen. Wie im September 2017 in Form einer Absichtserklärung vereinbart, werden hierzu Forschungs- und Ausbildungsprogramme auf international höchstem Niveau gemeinsam etabliert. Im Fokus steht dabei eine Initiative zur Ausbildung von Clinical und Medical Scientists. 

http://www.uhn.ca/PrincessMargaret

 

National Cancer Institute NCI, Bethesda, USA

Bestehende Kontakte zwischen dem DKFZ und dem NCI werden durch eine Serie von gemeinsamen thematischen Workshops seit 2017 intensiviert. Ziel ist der Aufbau eines Kooperationsprogramms u.a. in den Gebieten Radioonkologie und Krebs-Systembiologie. 

https://www.cancer.gov

DKFZ-MOST Programm in der Krebsforschung, Israel

Das DKFZ-MOST (Ministry of Science and Technology) Kooperationsprogramm in der Krebsforschung hat das Ziel, die wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen DKFZ-Wissenschaftlern und israelischen Forschern aller akademischen Einrichtungen in Israel zu fördern. Wesentlicher Bestandteil des seit 1976 laufenden Programms ist die Förderung von jährlich 18 Gemeinschaftsprojekten mit einer Dauer von jeweils drei Jahren. Regelmäßige wissenschaftliche Workshops sowie Schools für Nachwuchs-wissenschaftler ergänzen das Programm und haben neben einer Vielzahl von bemerkenswerten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen auch intensive Kontakte und Freundschaften hervorgebracht.

https://www.dkfz.de/de/israel/index.html

Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel

Basierend auf langjährigen wissenschaftlichen Kontakten zwischen dem DKFZ und dem Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovot wurde die German-Israeli Helmholtz Research School in Cancer Biology im Jahr 2012 etabliert. Das Graduiertenkolleg bietet neben der einzigartigen Möglichkeit der Promotion in internationalem Umfeld auch mehrmonatige Forschungsaufenthalte an der jeweiligen Partnerinstitution an. Das Kolleg wird seit 2018 durch ein Förderprogramm für Brückenphasen vor und nach der Promotion ergänzt (Cancer-TRAX Program).

https://www.dkfz.de/en/phd-program/GIHRS.html

Inserm (Institute national de la santé et de la recherche médicale) Frankreich.

Das Französische Institute national de la santé et de la recherche médicale Inserm fördert seit 2012 die DKFZ-Inserm Unit „Microbiology and Infectious Diseases“ unter der Leitung von H.-J. Delecluse, die sich schwerpunktmäßig mit Epstein-Barr-Virus-assoziierten Tumorerkrankungen befasst.

https://www.dkfz.de/en/f100/research.html

LOVIT

Im Mai 2017 wurde die binationale Forschungseinheit zur Krebs-Virustherapie in Luxemburg zwischen dem DKFZ und dem Luxembourg Institute of Health eingeweiht. Die beteiligten Forscher erarbeiten ein Verfahren, das die Vorteile tumorabtötender Viren mit denen der Gentherapie kombiniert. So sollen unter anderem bösartige Hirntumoren wirksamer behandelt werden.

National Hellenic Research Foundation / Athens Comprehensive Cancer Center, Griechenland

Das DKFZ unterstützt griechische Kollegen beim Aufbau eines Athens Comprehensive Cancer Centers in Athen. Kernpunkt der Zusammenarbeit sind gemeinsame internationale Forschungsaktivitäten und der Austausch von Wissenschaftlern. Die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft fördert die Kooperation im Rahmen ihres European Partnering Programms mit Mitteln aus dem Impuls- und Vernetzungsfonds.

Cancer Core Europe

Im Cancer Core Europe Konsortium haben sich DKFZ und NCT mit sechs weiteren führenden europäischen Comprehensive Cancer Centers in einem strategischen Verbund zusammengeschlossen. Das Cambridge Cancer Center, Gustave Roussy in Villjuif bei Paris, das Netherlands Cancer Institute in Amsterdam, das Karolinska Institut in Stockholm, das Vall d’Hebron Institute of Oncology in Barcelona sowie das Istituto Nazionale die Tumori in Mailand bauen eine  gemeinsamen Infrastruktur zur Durchführung innovativer Projekte und Studien im Bereich Personalisierter Krebsmedizin auf. Ziel ist der schnellere Transfer von Forschungsergebnissen in die klinische Anwendung zum Wohle der Patienten in Europa.

https://www.cancercoreeurope.eu

Cancer Prevention Europe

Das DKFZ beteiligt sich an der von der „International Agency for Research on Cancer“ (IARC) koordinierten europäischen Initiative ausgewählter Krebszentren „Cancer Prevention Europe“ zum Thema Krebsprävention. Die sich im Aufbau befindliche Allianz soll Koordination, Forschung und Ausbildungsaspekte im Bereich Krebsprävention auf europäischer Ebene bündeln und wird sich z.B. mit Themen wie Krebsregister, Ätiologie von Krebserkrankungen oder der Evaluation von präventiven Interventionsmaßnahmen befassen.

nach oben