Junior Research Group Interactive Machine Learning

Dr. Paul Jäger

Human-Machine-Interaction and related topics covered by the research group.
© dkfz.de

Considering human interaction when designing machine learning (ML) systems bears great potential: On the one hand, decision-making in ML systems remains imperfect in practice, thus requiring human interaction for safety-critical applications such as clinical diagnostics. On the other hand, the burden of manual training data annotation can be alleviated by means of human-in-the-loop scenarios.
Taking this human-centered perspective, the Junior Group Interactive Machine Learning (IML) headed by Paul Jäger strives to pioneer ML research directed at real-life applications. Specifically, our research involves probabilistic modeling, explainable AI, user modeling, active learning, and interactive systems with a special focus on image analysis tasks such as object detection or segmentation. A further interest lies in the appropriate and application-oriented evaluation of ML systems.
IML is part of the Helmholtz Imaging Platform, an initiative towards leveraging image processing synergies across all Helmholtz research centers. Thus, next to medical applications driven by the DKFZ environment, the group collaborates with experts across all of Helmholtz to develop human-centered ML systems on diverse and unique imaging tasks.

Contact

Dr. Paul Jäger
Interactive Machine Learning (E290)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 223
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 3015

Selected Publications

  • Jäger PF, Kohl SAA, Bickelhaupt S, et al. Retina U-Net: Embarrassingly Simple Exploitation of Segmentation Supervision for Medical Object Detection. In: Machine Learning for Health Workshop at Neurips. PMLR; 2020:171-183.
  • Isensee F*, Jäger PF*, Kohl SAA, Petersen J, Maier-Hein KH. nnU-Net: a self-configuring method for deep learning-based biomedical image segmentation. Nature Methods. 2021;18(2):203-211.
  • Bickelhaupt S*, Jäger PF*, Laun FB, et al. Radiomics Based on Adapted Diffusion Kurtosis Imaging Helps to Clarify Most Mammographic Findings Suspicious for Cancer. Radiology. 2018;287(3):761-770.
  • Petersen J, Jäger PF, Isensee F, et al. Deep Probabilistic Modeling of Glioma Growth. In: Shen D, Liu T, Peters TM, et al., eds. Medical Image Computing and Computer Assisted Intervention. 2019:806-814
to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Nachwuchsgruppe Interaktives Maschinelles Lernen

Dr. Paul Jäger

Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion und verwandte Themen, die von der Forschungsgruppe bearbeitet werden.
© dkfz.de

Die Berücksichtigung menschlicher Interaktion bei der Entwicklung von maschinellen Lernsystemen (ML) birgt großes Potenzial: Einerseits bleibt die Entscheidungsfindung in ML-Systemen in der Praxis unvollkommen, so dass für sicherheitskritische Anwendungen wie die klinische Diagnostik menschliche Interaktion erforderlich ist. Andererseits kann das Problem, dass Trainingsdaten mit manuellen Anmerkungen versehen werden müssen, durch Human-in-the-Loop-Szenarien umgangen werden.
Die Nachwuchsgruppe Interaktives Maschinelles Lernen (IML) unter Leitung von Paul Jäger strebt aus dieser benutzerzentrierten Sicht eine Vorreiterrolle in der ML-Forschung an, die auf reale Anwendungen ausgerichtet ist. Konkret bearbeiten wir Forschungsthemen wie probabilistische Modellierung, erklärbare künstliche Intelligenz (KI), Benutzermodellierung, aktives Lernen und interaktive Systeme - mit einem besonderen Fokus auf Bildanalyseproblemen wie Objekterkennung oder Segmentierung. Ein weiteres Forschungsgebiet ist die angemessene und anwendungsorientierte Evaluierung von ML-Systemen.
IML ist Teil der Helmholtz Imaging Platform, einer Initiative zur Nutzung von Synergien in der Bildverarbeitung über alle Helmholtz-Forschungszentren hinweg. So arbeitet die Gruppe nicht nur mit medizinischen Anwendungen, die aus der DKFZ-Umgebung stammen, sondern kooperiert auch mit Experten aus der gesamten Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, um benutzerzentrierte ML-Systeme für vielfältige und einzigartige Fragestellungen der Bildverarbeitung zu entwickeln.

Kontakt

Dr. Paul Jäger
Interaktives Maschinelles Lernen (E290)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 223
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 3015

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Jäger PF, Kohl SAA, Bickelhaupt S, et al. Retina U-Net: Embarrassingly Simple Exploitation of Segmentation Supervision for Medical Object Detection. In: Machine Learning for Health Workshop at Neurips. PMLR; 2020:171-183.
  • Isensee F*, Jäger PF*, Kohl SAA, Petersen J, Maier-Hein KH. nnU-Net: a self-configuring method for deep learning-based biomedical image segmentation. Nature Methods. 2021;18(2):203-211.
  • Bickelhaupt S*, Jäger PF*, Laun FB, et al. Radiomics Based on Adapted Diffusion Kurtosis Imaging Helps to Clarify Most Mammographic Findings Suspicious for Cancer. Radiology. 2018;287(3):761-770.
  • Petersen J, Jäger PF, Isensee F, et al. Deep Probabilistic Modeling of Glioma Growth. In: Shen D, Liu T, Peters TM, et al., eds. Medical Image Computing and Computer Assisted Intervention. 2019:806-814
nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS