Division of Virus-associated Carcinogenesis

Prof. Dr. Ralf Bartenschlager

Chronic infections with Hepatitis B virus (HBV) and Hepatitis C virus (HCV) lead to chronic inflammation of the liver, which is driven by innate and adaptive immune responses. In addition, these viruses alter the metabolism of infected cells and vice versa, the metabolic status of the cell/host profoundly impacts the outcome of infection and ultimately, cancer development.
© dkfz.de

Our division –established in March 2014– aims at deciphering the basic principles underlying tumor formation in the context of chronic viral infection. Our research centers on liver cancer, which is one of the most frequent causes of cancer-related deaths. Around 75% of all liver cancer cases are linked to infection with hepatitis B virus (HBV) or hepatitis C virus (HCV). Thus, liver cancer is a paradigm for infection-associated tumors. The medical relevance is very high as reflected by the high numbers of persistently infected individuals: 230 million in case of HBV and 130 million in case of HCV. These people have a high risk to develop serious liver damage, most notably liver cirrhosis and hepatocellular carcinoma. Important comorbidity factors are metabolic syndrome, alcohol consumption and chronic inflammation as induced and sustained by persistent virus infection. Since therapy of liver tumors still is very inefficient, there is an urgent need for preventive and therapeutic regimens as well as more sensitive diagnostics.

Together with our sister department “Molecular Virology” at University Hospital Heidelberg we already laid the ground to study the basic principles of the replication cycles of HBV, HCV and related viruses such as Dengue virus. Building on this expertise, within the division “Virus-Associated Carcinogenesis” at the German Cancer Research Center we focus on the molecular and cellular mechanisms leading to persistent infection and how chronic viral hepatitis contributes to liver cancer. Three main topics are studied:

  • The mechanisms how persistent hepatitis virus infections are established and how chronic infection contributes to the development of liver cancer
  • The basic principles how virus infections are sensed and how viruses overcome these antiviral strategies
  • The role of iron-regulatory networks in infection and inflammation-induced liver tumor Formation
More detailed information can be found on the pages of the individual research groups of our division:

Research Group Ralf Bartenschlager
Research Group Marco Binder
Research Group Bruno Galy

Prof. Dr. Bartenschlager receives Lasker~DeBakey Award 2016

Contact

Prof. Dr. Ralf Bartenschlager
Virus-associated Carcinogenesis (F170)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 424970

Selected Publications

  • Lempp FA. et al. (2015). Evidence that hepatitis B virus replication in mouse cells is limited by the lack of a host cell dependency factor. J Hepatol. 2016 Mar;64(3):556-64. doi: 10.1016/j.jhep.2015.10.030.
  • Bender S. et al. (2015). Activation of Type I and III Interferon Response by Mitochondrial and Peroxisomal MAVS and Inhibition by Hepatitis C Virus. PLoS Pathog. 2015 Nov 20;11(11):e1005264. doi: 10.1371/journal.ppat.1005264.
  • Willemsen, J., Wicht, O., Wolanski, J.C., Baur, N., Bastian, S., Haas, D.A., Matula, P., Knapp, B., Meyniel-Schicklin, L., Wang, C., Bartenschlager, R., Lohmann, V., Rohr, K., Erfle, H., Kaderali, L., Marcotrigiano, J., Pichlmair, A. and Binder, M. (2017) Phosphorylation-Dependent Feedback Inhibition of RIG-I by DAPK1 Identified by Kinome-wide siRNA Screening. Molecular Cell 65 (3):403–415
  • Nairz M., D. Ferring-Appel D, D. Casarrubea, T. Sonnweber, L. Viatte, A. Schroll, D. Haschka, F.C. Fang, M.W. Hentze, G. Weiss, and B. Galy. (2015) Iron Regulatory Proteins mediate host resistance to Salmonella infection. Cell Host Microbe, 18,1-8.
to top

Abteilung Virus-assoziierte Karzinogenese

Prof. Dr. Ralf Bartenschlager

Chronische Infektionen mit dem Hepatitis-B-Virus (HBV) und dem Hepatitis-C-Virus (HCV) verursachen eine durch die Immunantwort bedingte chronische Leberentzündung. Darüber hinaus verursachen Infektionen mit diesen Viren Stoffwechselstörungen der Leber und umgekehrt beeinflusst die Stoffwechselleistung der Leber die Vermehrung dieser Viren. Diese drei voneinander abhängigen Faktoren Virusinfektion, Stoffwechselleistung der Leber und chronische Entzündung bestimmen letztlich, ob und wie schnell sich schwere Leberschäden, insbesondere Leberzirrhose und Leberkrebs, entwickeln.
© dkfz.de

Unsere Abteilung wurde im März 2014 gegründet, um die Mechanismen der Tumorbildung bei viralen Infektionen zu untersuchen. Dabei liegt der Schwerpunkt auf Leberkrebs, welcher weltweit eine der häufigsten Ursachen für krebsbedingte Todesfälle ist. Etwa 75% aller an Leberkrebs erkrankten Patienten sind mit dem Hepatitis-B-Virus (HBV) oder dem Hepatitis-C-Virus (HCV) infiziert. Dementsprechend ist der Leberkrebs ein Beispiel für eine Tumorart, die in hohem Maße mit Virusinfektionen assoziiert ist. Sie ist medizinisch hoch relevant, da weltweit ca. 230 Millionen Menschen mit HBV und ca. 130 Millionen mit HCV infiziert sind. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass sich bei diesen Personen ein Lebertumor entwickelt, wird durch vielfältige Faktoren begünstigt, wobei Stoffwechselstörungen, Alkoholmissbrauch oder chronische Entzündungen eine wesentliche Rolle spielen. Da die Behandlung von Lebertumoren derzeit nur begrenzt möglich ist, besteht ein dringender Bedarf an verbesserten Therapieansätzen sowie sensitiven diagnostischen Verfahren.

Mit unserer etablierten Schwester-Abteilung „Molekulare Virologie“ an der Universitätsklinik Heidelberg wurde bereits der Grundstein zur Erforschung von HBV, HCV und Dengue Viren gelegt und ein führendes Zentrum im Bereich der viralen Grundlagenforschung geschaffen. Auf dieser Expertise aufbauend wird unsere neue Abteilung „Virus-assoziierte Karzinogenese“ am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum den wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkt auf die molekularen und zellulären Mechanismen legen, die für die Chronifizierung der HBV- und HCV-Infektion sowie die damit verbundene Entstehung des HBV- und HCV-assoziierten Leberkrebses relevant sind. Dementsprechend erforschen wir drei Themengebiete:

  • Die Mechanismen der Chronifizierung von Virusinfektionen mit Schwerpunkt auf HBV und HCV und wie die chronische Infektion die Entstehung von Leberzellkrebs begünstigt
  • Die grundsätzlichen Mechanismen der Erkennung und Abwehr von Virusinfektionen einer Körperzelle und wie Viren diese Mechanismen überwinden
  • Die wechselseitigen Interaktionen zwischen Entzündung/Infektion und Stoffwechsel und deren Rolle bei der Tumorentstehung
Detailliertere Informationen zur derzeitigen Forschung innerhalb dieser Abteilung finden sich auf den Seiten der individuellen Arbeitsgruppen:

Arbeitsgruppe Ralf Bartenschlager
Arbeitsgruppe Marco Binder
Arbeitsgruppe Bruno Galy

Prof. Dr. Bartenschlager erhält Lasker~DeBakey Award 2016

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Ralf Bartenschlager
Virus-assoziierte Karzinogenese (F170)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 424970

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Lempp FA. et al. (2015). Evidence that hepatitis B virus replication in mouse cells is limited by the lack of a host cell dependency factor. J Hepatol. 2016 Mar;64(3):556-64. doi: 10.1016/j.jhep.2015.10.030.
  • Bender S. et al. (2015). Activation of Type I and III Interferon Response by Mitochondrial and Peroxisomal MAVS and Inhibition by Hepatitis C Virus. PLoS Pathog. 2015 Nov 20;11(11):e1005264. doi: 10.1371/journal.ppat.1005264.
  • Willemsen, J., Wicht, O., Wolanski, J.C., Baur, N., Bastian, S., Haas, D.A., Matula, P., Knapp, B., Meyniel-Schicklin, L., Wang, C., Bartenschlager, R., Lohmann, V., Rohr, K., Erfle, H., Kaderali, L., Marcotrigiano, J., Pichlmair, A. and Binder, M. (2017) Phosphorylation-Dependent Feedback Inhibition of RIG-I by DAPK1 Identified by Kinome-wide siRNA Screening. Molecular Cell 65 (3):403–415
  • Nairz M., D. Ferring-Appel D, D. Casarrubea, T. Sonnweber, L. Viatte, A. Schroll, D. Haschka, F.C. Fang, M.W. Hentze, G. Weiss, and B. Galy. (2015) Iron Regulatory Proteins mediate host resistance to Salmonella infection. Cell Host Microbe, 18,1-8.
nach oben