Biological
Safety

Daily work routine of the more than 1,300 scientists at the DKFZ for the most part takes place in laboratories with different safety levels. Biological safety levels (at DKFZ: BSL1-BSL3) are based on the risk classification of the biological (or biomedical) work carried out. Each laboratory is designed around the safety level of its research, including the laboratory equipment, the specific working practices, and the typical protective equipment worn. On the one hand these precautions are designed to protect employees, and on the other hand the environment and the general public.

The Biological Safety Unit at DKFZ has advisory, monitoring and administrative functions for the safe handling of natural biological agents and genetically modified organisms in these laboratories and also ensures the implementation of the regulations of the Genetic Engineering Act (GenTG), the Protection against Infection Act (IfSG), the Ordinance on Animal Diseases (TierSeuchErV) and the Ordinance on Biological Agents (BioStoffV).

The Biological Safety Unit at DKFZ is responsible for all DKFZ facilities in Heidelberg. We are also responsible for the management of the central BSL2/BSL3 laboratories of the DKFZ and are controlling and monitoring the internal compliance with legal obligations, official requirements and regulations in the individual decentralized genetic engineering facilities of the DKFZ. Other key tasks include the organizational and administrative management of the genetic engineering facilities and advice on laboratory changes and safety-relevant devices. In addition, the Biosafety Unit acts as the operator's representative to the authorities.

The coordinating contact person for notification, registration and approval procedures as well as for correspondence with the responsible authorities, associations and organizations is Dr. Timo Kehl, representative of the management board. Please address any inquiries to the Biosafety Secretariat, Tel. +49 (0)6221 42 3667, biosafety@dkfz.de.

to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Biologische
Sicherheit

Der Arbeitsalltag für die über 1.300 Wissenschaftler am DKFZ spielt sich größtenteils in Laboren verschiedener Sicherheitsstufen ab. Die entsprechenden Sicherheitsstufen (am DKFZ von S1 bis S3) basieren auf der Risikoeinstufung der durchgeführten biologischen oder biomedizinischen Arbeiten. Sie spiegeln sich im Aufbau der Labore, deren Ausstattung sowie der Einhaltung bestimmter Arbeitspraktiken und der dabei zu tragenden Schutzausrüstung wider. Diese Vorkehrungen dienen zum einen dem Schutz der Beschäftigten und zum anderen dem Schutz der Umwelt und Bevölkerung.

Die Biologische Sicherheit am DKFZ hat beratende, kontrollierende und administrativ steuernde Funktionen zum sicheren Umgang mit natürlichen biologischen Arbeitsstoffen und gentechnisch veränderten Organismen in diesen Laboren und sorgt gleichsam für die Umsetzung der Regelungen des Gentechnikgesetzes (GenTG), Infektionsschutzgesetzes (IfSG), der Tierseuchenerregerverordnung (TierSeuchErV) und der Biostoffverordnung (BioStoffV).

Sie ist für alle Einrichtungen des DKFZ im Neuenheimer Feld, Heidelberg zuständig. Die Biologische Sicherheit ist zudem mit dem Management der zentralen S2-/S3-Labore des DKFZ betraut, kontrolliert und überwacht die innerbetriebliche Erfüllung der gesetzlichen Pflichten, behördlichen Auflagen und Vorschriften in den einzelnen dezentralen gentechnischen Anlagen des DKFZ. Weitere Aufgabenschwerpunkte bestehen im organisatorischen und administrativen Management der gentechnischen Anlagen sowie der Beratungen bei baulichen Veränderungen und zu sicherheitsrelevanten Geräten. Darüber hinaus übernimmt die Biologische Sicherheit die Funktion des Betreibervertreters gegenüber den Behörden.

Der koordinierende Ansprechpartner für Anzeige-, Anmelde- und Genehmigungsverfahren sowie für den Schriftverkehr mit den zuständigen Behörden, Verbänden und Organisationen ist als Vertreter des Stiftungsvorstandes, Dr. Timo Kehl. Anfragen richten Sie bitte an das Sekretariat der Biologischen Sicherheit, Tel. +49 (0)6221 42 3667, biosafety@dkfz.de.

nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS