Safety Division

Safety in Research Work

Staff involved in modern biochemical and medical research have to deal with a broad spectrum of chemical, biological, infectious, and radioactive substances. In the laboratories high technology devices and automation systems are employed. And today the methods of genetic engineering have largely replaced classical laboratory techniques. This demands corresponding safety measures, which must be continually adjusted to new developments in order to protect the workers from exposure.

For the realization of the necessary protective measures, safety engineers and medical officers were hired, as required by the law on safety at work, together with officers responsible for radiation protection and biological safety, in accordance with the respective regulations on radiation protection and genetic engineering. All these persons have well-defined functions in their particular areas. They advise the scientists and the Management Board on questions of safety. The control measures stipulated by the various safety laws provide a means of ensuring that the relevant safety rules are properly observed. One such control measure is the regular performance of safety audits. These are inspections of the work place which, through a combined effort of all parties, allow an effective identification of shortcomings.

Partly as a result of the harmonization of laws within the European Union, the rule book (incorporating laws, ordinances, accident-prevention regulations, guidelines, norms, etc.) is becoming ever longer and more complex. An important response has been the construction of an internal set of guidelines.

These help the laboratory staff to deal with safety questions, and also serve to complete the range of measures relating to protection at work. A large number of implementation instructions - both for dangerous substances and for procedures - is needed, as is evident when one remembers that several thousand different chemicals and reagents may be employed in a typical research institute. The availability of databases providing the staff with rapid access to information about safety parameters is to be recommended.

Depending on the particular field and the scale of the research, it may be necessary to take on additional officers. The law on waste materials specifies that every scientific institute should have an officer responsible for waste management. He or she has both advisory and control functions and, in particular, provides for the department specializing in waste disposal. The internal waste guidelines drawn up at the German Cancer Research Center, which contain a listing of the individual types of waste, have proven to be very valuable. Special officers responsible for the protection of water resources or those stipulated by the federal law on emissions are only necessary when the corresponding plants or installations are present. Effluent and emission control are normally taken care of by the usual safety staff.

In order to avoid putting pregnant women at risk in the research environment, an eraly and comprehensive counseling is necessary, together with an inspector of the working place. The handling of dangerous substances can usually be reduced to an acceptable level by transfering the woman concerned to a less hazardous work place.

The honorary safety officers of the departments play a joint advisory role as members of the committee for safety at work. This committee meets several times a year. Any safety problems that have arisen are discussed here and measures are adopted for solving them. According to its size, an institution may be well advised to maintain its own volunteer fire-fighting service. This is the case at the German Cancer Research Center. This ancillary force is called upon in the case of accidents and emergencies which the laboratory personnel cannot deal with alone, for example, incidents requiring breathing apparatus. These fire-fighters should stay in close contact with the professional fire-brigade.

An essential activity facilitating information exchange and mutual aid is participation on external boards and committees, for example, those of the Association of National Research Centers (AGF), the insurance associations, the Association of German Safety Engineers (VDSI), and international organizations.

Of course all the safety specialists, medical and other officers interact closely among themselves and with the Staff Council. This is the only way to ensure that staff are protected from danger and exposure. The low numbers of accidents and work-related illnesses at the German Cancer Research Center confirm the effectiveness of the efforts made.

Contact

Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Stabsstelle Sicherheit / Z060
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
D-69120 Heidelberg
Germany

Phone +49 (0)6221 42-2866
Fax +49 (0)6221 42-2882

to top

1. Hauptnavigation
  2. Navigation des Hauptbereiches
  3. Inhalt der Seite

Stabsstelle Sicherheit

Arbeitssicherheit in der Forschung

In der modernen biochemischen und medizinischen Forschung gehen Mitarbeiter mit einer breiten Palette von chemischen, biologischen, infektiösen und radioaktiven Stoffen um. In den Laboratorien kommen hochtechnisierte Geräte und Automaten zum Einsatz. Gentechnische haben klassische Laboroperationen verdrängt. Dies verlangt einen spezifischen Arbeitsschutz, der durch ständige Anpassung an neue Gegebenheiten die Mitarbeiter vor Expositionen bewahrt.

Für die Umsetzung der Arbeitsschutzanforderungen werden gemäß Arbeitssicherheitsgesetz Sicherheitsingenieure und Betriebsärzte, gemäß Strahlenschutzverordnung Strahlenschutzbeauftragte und gemäß Gentechnikgesetz Beauftragte für Biologische Sicherheit bestellt.

Alle haben in ihren Bereichen definierte Funktionen. Sie beraten die Wissenschaftler und den Vorstand in Sicherheitsfragen. Durch die von diversen Arbeitsschutzgesetzen vorgesehenen Kontrollen wird die Einhaltung der festgelegten Sicherheitsmaßnahmen überwacht. Es sollten regelmäßig Sicherheits-Audits durchgeführt werden. Dies sind Arbeitsplatzbegehungen, die im Zusammenwirken aller Kräfte eine effektive Mängelerfassung ermöglichen.

Nicht zuletzt durch die Harmonisierung des Rechts innerhalb der Europäischen Union wird das Vorschriftenwerk (Gesetze, Verordnungen, Unfallverhütungsvorschriften, Richtlinien, Normen und anderes) immer umfangreicher und komplexer. Von Bedeutung ist die Erstellung von internen Richtlinien. Diese helfen den Mitarbeitern im Labor bei auftretenden Sicherheitsfragen und vervollständigen die Arbeitsschutz-Palette. Betriebsanweisungen, gefahrstoff- oder tätigkeitsbezogen, sind in erheblichem Umfang erforderlich, wenn man bedenkt, daß in einer Forschungseinrichtung einige tausend verschiedene Chemikalien und Anzeigen zum Einsatz kommen können. Entsprechende Datenbanken zur schnellen Information der Mitarbeiter über Sicherheitsdaten sollten verfügbar sein.

Je nach Forschungsrichtung und -umfang sind weitere Beauftragte zu bestellen. Ein Abfallbeauftragter gemäß Abfallgesetz ist in jeder naturwissenschaftlich orientierten Einrichtung erforderlich. Er hat ebenfalls Beratungs- und Kontrollfunktion. Insbesondere unterstützt er die für die Entsorgung zuständige Fachabteilung. Die Erstellung "interner Abfallrichtlinien" im Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum, in denen alle Informationen zu den einzelnen Abfallarten aufgeführt sind, hat sich bewährt. Gewässerschutzbeauftragte und Beauftragte gemäß Bundes- Immissionsschutzgesetz müssen nur bei Vorhandensein entsprechender Anlagen oder Einrichtungen bestellt werden. Die Abwasser- und Abluftkontrollen können normalerweise von den vorhandenen Sicherheitskräften mitübernommen werden.

Um eine Gefährdung schwangerer Mitarbeiterinnen im Forschungsbereich zu begegnen, ist eine frühzeitige und umfassende Beratung mit Besichtigung des Arbeitsplatzes erforderlich. Der Umgang mit unzuträglichen Gefahrstoffen kann meistens durch eine Umsetzung auf weniger exponierte Arbeitsplätze auf ein vertretbares Maß reduziert werden.

Die ehrenamtlichen Sicherheitsbeauftragten sind im Arbeitsausschuß beratend zusammengefaßt. Dieser tagt mehrmals im Jahr. Hier werden die anstehenden Sicherheitsprobleme diskutiert und Vorschläge zu deren Beseitigung beschlossen.

Je nach Größe der Einrichtung kann es sinnvoll sein, eine eigene, ehrenamtliche Betriebsfeuerwehr zu unterhalten. Dies ist im Krebsforschungszentrum der Fall. Die Betriebsfeuerwehr kommt bei Notfällen und Havarien zum Einsatz, die nicht vom Laborpersonal allein mit den erforderlichen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen, zum Beispiel Atemschutz, bewältigt werden können. Sie muß enge Kontakte mit der Berufsfeuerwehr pflegen.

Die Mitarbeit in externen Ausschüssen und Gremien, zum Beispiel der Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Großforschungseinrichtungen, der Berufsgenossenschaft, des Vereins Deutscher Sicherheitsingenieuere und internationaler Organisationen, ist zum Informationsaustausch und zur gegenseitigen Hilfe unerläßlich.

Das Zusammenwirken aller Sicherheitsfachkräfte, Arbeitsmediziner und Beauftragten, auch unter Einbeziehung des Personalrats, ist selbstverständlich. Nur so können die Mitarbeiter vor Gefährdungen und Expositionen geschützt werden. Niedrige Zahlen an Unfällen und Berufserkrankungen im Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum zeigen, wie effektiv diese Bemühungen sind.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 05.09.2011 Seitenanfang