1. Hauptnavigation
  2. Navigation des Hauptbereiches
  3. Inhalt der Seite

Cooperational Division of Clinical Neurobiology

Prof. Dr. Hannah Monyer

The common theme of the lab projects regards mechanisms underlying brain plasticity. One effort is related to the differential contribution of distinct glutamate receptor subtypes to short- and long-term synaptic plasticity and the modulation of glutamate receptors by auxiliary proteins.Furthermore we investigate the functional role of GABAergic interneurons to learning and memory. GABAergic interneurons are the principal source of inhibition in the adult brain and synchronize the activity of neuronal networks with millisecond precision, a prerequisite for most higher brain functions. Projects focusing on GABAergic interneuron function are tightly interlinked and include studies at the molecular-cellular, network and behavioral level. We identified molecular targets that are ideal to manipulate GABAergic interneuron activity in order to probe cell and network function. Thus, we take recourse to genetically modified mice with reduced GABAergic interneuron recruitment or altered connectivity and study the effect for spatial coding and memory. We focus on the hippocampal-entorhinal formation, a brain structure that is required for spatial navigation in rodents and episodic memory in humans.Finally, we study plasticity resulting from the integration of newborn neurons into established postnatal networks. Neurogenesis projects focus on genes involved in cell generation, migration and differentiation.

We will extend our ongoing investigations in the following directions:
1) We will seek to unravel mechanisms by which newly identified auxiliary proteins modulate receptor signaling. We will determine interacting domains between auxiliary proteins and receptors. Furthermore we will establish whether the expression of auxiliary proteins can be modulated by activity.
2) Projects revolving around GABAergic interneuron function will entail more local genetic manipulation. So far, the genetic manipulation affected GABAergic interneurons in the whole forebrain but it would be ideal to manipulate interneurons selectively in the hippocampal-entorhinal cortex formation. Furthermore, virus-mediated gene expression of light-activated channels (e.g. Channelrhodopsin) allows the reliable on-line identification of GABAergic interneurons in freely moving mice and subsequent interference with the cellular activity during behavioral performance. This approach opens up possibilities to establish causal relationships between GABAergic interneuron activity, spatial coding and memory. Finally, we discovered novel bidirectional GABAergic pathways between hippocampus and medial entorhinal cortex whose function for neuronal synchronization between these two major brain areas remains to be established.
3) Projects regarding neurogenesis will focus on modification of neurogenesis by environmental factors and establish the functional significance of neurogenesis for hippocampal and olfactory learning.

Selected Publications

von Engelhardt, J., Mack, V., Sprengel, R., Kavenstock, N., Li, K.W., Stern-Bach, Y., Smit, A.B., Seeburg, P.H., Monyer, H. (2010). CKAMP44: A brain-specific protein attenuating short-term synaptic plasticity in the dentate gyrus. Science, 327, 1518-1522

Korotkova, T., Fuchs, E.C., Ponomarenko, A., von Engelhardt, J., Monyer, H. (2010). NMDA receptor ablation on parvalbumin-positive interneurons impairs hippocampal synchrony, spatial representations, and working memory. Neuron, 68, 557-569

Allen, K., Fuchs, E.C., Jaschonek, H., Bannerman, D.M., Monyer, H. (2011). Gap junctions between interneurons are required for normal spatial coding in the hippocampus and short-term spatial memory. J. Neurosci., 31, 6542-6552

Inta, D.I., Alfonso, J., von Engelhardt, J., Kreuzberg, MM., Meyer, A.H., van Hooft, J.A., Monyer, H. (2008). Neurogenesis and widespread forebrain migration of distinct GABAergic neurons from the postnatal subventricular zone. Proc. Natl.Acad. Sci. U.S.A., 105, 20994-20999

last update: 11/11/2011 back to top

Kooperationsabteilung Klinische Neurobiologie

Prof. Dr. Hannah Monyer

Hauptfokus unserer Forschung betrifft die Mechanismen, die der Plastizität des Gehirns unterliegen. Zum Einen untersuchen wir die Beiträge bestimmter Glutamatrezeptor-Subtypen zur synaptischen Plastizität und die Modulation von Glutamatrezeptoren durch Hilfsproteine. Des Weiteren untersuchen wir die funktionelle Rolle von GABAergen Interneuronen für Lernen und Gedächtnis. GABAerge Zellen sind inhibitorische Neurone, denen die Synchronisierung neuronaler Netzwerke unterliegt, Voraussetzung für die meisten höheren Gehirnfunktionen. Wir identifizierten molekulare Determinanten, die ideal sind, um die Aktivität GABAerger Interneurone zu manipulieren, und dadurch ihre Zell- und Netzwerkfunktion zu erforschen. So benutzen wir genetisch modifizierte Mäuse mit reduzierter Rekrutierung GABAerger Interneurone oder veränderter Konnektivität zur Untersuchung des Effekts auf die räumliche Kodierung und das Gedächtnis. Wir konzentrieren uns auf die hippocampale-entorhinale Formation, eine Gehirnstruktur, die bei Nagetieren für die räumliche Orientierung und beim Menschen für das episodische Gedächtnis notwendig ist. Schließlich untersuchen wir Plastizität, die aus der Integration neu geborener Neurone in bestehende postnatale Netzwerke herrührt. Neurogenese-Projekte befassen sich mit den Genen, die an Zellgeburt, -migration und -differenzierung beteiligt sind.

Wir werden unsere laufenden Untersuchungen wie folgt ausdehnen:
1) Wir werden Mechanismen entschlüsseln, durch die neu identifizierte Hilfsproteine die Signalgebung der Rezeptoren modulieren. Außerdem werden wir feststellen, ob die Expression von Hilfsproteinen durch Aktivität moduliert werden kann.
2) Wir zielen in Zukunft auf eine lokale genetische Manipulation GABAerger Interneurone ab. Bisher manipulierten wir GABAerge Interneurone global im ganzen Gehirn. Ideal wäre jedoch, GABAerge Interneurone nur in der hippocampal-entorhinalen Region zu manipulieren. Des Weiteren werden wir virusvermittelte Genexpression von lichtaktivierten Kanälen (z.B. Channelrhodopsin) einsetzen, was sowohl eine verlässliche online Identifizierung von GABAergen Interneuronen sowie deren Manipulation während der Verhaltensexperimente zulässt. Dieser Ansatz eröffnet Möglichkeiten, kausale Zusammenhänge zwischen der Aktivität GABAerger Interneurone, räumlicher Kodierung und Gedächtnis herzustellen. Schließlich werden wir die funktionelle Bedeutung bislang unbekannter GABAerger Neurone, die den Hippocampus und medialem entorhinalen Kortex verbinden, untersuchen.
3) Unsere Neurogenese-Projekte werden sich auf die Modifikation der Neurogenese durch Umweltfaktoren konzentrieren und die funktionelle Signifikanz der Neurogenese für hippocampales und olfaktorisches Lernen nachweisen.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Hannah Monyer
Klinische Neurobiologie (A230)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 3100

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Buetfering C. et al. (2014). Parvalbumin interneurons provide grid cell-driven recurrent inhibition in the medial entorhinal cortex. Nat. Neurosci, 17(5), 710-718.
  • Alfonso J. et al. (2012). Diazepam binding inhibitor promotes progenitor proliferation in the postnatal SVZ by reducing GABA signaling. Cell Stem Cell, 10(1), 76-87.
  • Melzer S. et al. (2012). Long-range-projecting GABAergic neurons modulate inhibition in hippocampus and entorhinal cortex. Science, 335(6075), 1506–1510.
  • Allen K. et al. (2011). Gap junctions between interneurons are required for normal spatial coding in the hippocampus and short-term spatial memory. J. Neurosci, 31(17), 6542–6552.
nach oben