Clinical Cooperation Unit Virotherapy

Prof. Dr. Dr. Guy Ungerechts

Oncolytic viruses are engineered to address therapeutic needs to achieve expression of therapeutic genes („arming“), tumor-specific targeting, protection from premature clearance („stealthing“) and tumor-targeted immunomodulation. The most effective oncolytic agents are brought into clinical trials with accompanying translational research programs.
© dkfz.de

Virotherapy - Developing a unique type of cancer immunotherapy
Clinical observations of cancer remissions after viral infections laid the foundation for the field of virotherapy. Certain viruses are being explored or genetically engineered for selective replication in cancer cells, leading to tumor cell lysis. In recent years, it has become increasingly appreciated that these so-called oncolytic viruses act as a cancer immuno- (viro-) therapy via tumor vaccination effects in particular. In 2015, a first oncolytic virus was approved for the treatment of advanced melanoma in the US and Europe. Several other oncolytic viruses are currently being developed.

The CCU Virotherapy research agenda
We explore new strategies for engineering effective oncolytic viruses and combination therapies, establish processes for manufacturing oncolytic virus formulations, perform early and late phase clinical virotherapy studies and decipher mechanisms of oncolytic immunotherapy in preclinical models and patients (see here for an overview).

Engineering oncolytic agents for maximum anti-tumor efficacy and safety
Our preclinical research program focuses on a measles vaccine virus platform with more recent projects exploring oncolytic adenoviruses and parvoviruses. Using molecular cloning, we engineer oncolytic viruses and explore combination regimens for specific medicinal purposes (see “discovery projects”). For instance, we have designed viruses to

  • direct viral infection to tumors by selective tumor cell entry or post-entry replication control (“targeting”)
  • express therapeutic proteins to implement increased potency (“arming”). Payloads include cytokines, immune checkpoint inhibitors and bispecific antibodies for alerting the patient’s immune system to the tumor (“immuno-virotherapy”)
  • establish effective combination treatments (e.g. “radio-therapy”)
Deciphering mechanisms of immuno-virotherapy
We develop and apply preclinical and patient-derived tumor models and systems immunodiagnostic tools to decipher factors both within tumor cells and the tumor microenvironment that determine oncolytic potency and anti-tumor immune activation. Our research aims at rational strategies for improving oncolytic viruses and identifying potential biomarkers of immuno-virotherapy for clinical translation (see “discovery projects”) and “dissect projects”).

Advancing oncolytic viruses into clinical application
With our research, we constantly aim to identify the most effective immuno-virotherapies for clinical application. Based on our preclinical findings, we are preparing a phase I/II clinical trial with an oncolytic measles virus for immuno-virotherapy of advanced gastrointestinal cancers. To this end, we currently establish GMP-compliant virus manufacturing processes (see “develop projects”). Further completed, ongoing and upcoming trials (phases I - III) explored or explore, e.g. oncolytic parvoviruses, herpes and vaccinia viruses (see “treat projects”). Importantly, the trials we initiate are accompanied by translational research programs to pinpoint mechanisms of action and identify predictive biomarker signatures of successful immuno-virotherapy (see “dissect projects”).

Contact

Prof. Dr. Dr. Guy Ungerechts
Virotherapy (F230)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
und Nationales Centrum für Tumorerkrankungen (NCT)
Im Neuenheimer Feld 460
69120 Heidelberg

Selected Publications

  • Speck T, Heidbuechel JPW, Veinalde R, Jaeger D, von Kalle C, Ball CR, Ungerechts G, Engeland CE. Targeted BiTE expression by an oncolytic vector augments therapeutic efficacy against solid tumors. Clinical Cancer Research, 2018.
  • Veinalde R, Grossardt C, Hartmann L, Bourgeois-Daigneault MC, Bell JC, Jäger D, von Kalle C, Ungerechts G, Engeland CE. Oncolytic measles virus encoding interleukin-12 mediates potent antitumor effects through T cell activation. OncoImmunology, 2017.
  • Hajda J, Lehmann M, Krebs O, Kieser M, Geletneky K, Jäger D, Dahm M, Huber B, Schöning T, Sedlaczek O, Stenzinger A, Halama N, Daniel V, Leuchs B, Angelova A, Rommelaere J, Engeland CE, Springfeld C, Ungerechts G. A non-controlled, single arm, open label, phase II study of intravenous and intratumoral administration of ParvOryx in patients with metastatic, inoperable pancreatic cancer: ParvOryx02 protocol. BMC Cancer, 2017.
  • Engeland CE, Grossardt C, Veinalde R, Bossow S, Lutz D, Kaufmann JK, Shevchenko I, Umansky V, Nettelbeck DM, Weichert W, Jäger D, von Kalle C, Ungerechts G. CTLA-4 and PD-L1 checkpoint blockade enhances oncolytic measles virus therapy. Mol Ther, 2014.
to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Klinische Kooperationseinheit Virotherapie

Prof. Dr. Dr. Guy Ungerechts

Die KKE Virotherapie entwickelt onkolytische Viren, die therapeutische Gene tragen („Arming), gezielt Tumorzellen infizieren („Targeting“), gegen vorzeitigen Abbau geschützt sind („Stealthing“) und eine gezielte Immunmodulation im Tumor bewirken. Die wirksamsten Therapieansätze mit onkolytischen Viren werden in die klinische Anwendung übertragen.
© dkfz.de

Virotherapie - Eine einzigartige Immuntherapie gegen Krebs
Klinische Fallberichte über komplette Tumor-Remissionen nach Virusinfektionen begründeten das Feld der onkolytischen Virotherapie. Bestimmte Viren werden als sogenannte onkolytische Viren entwickelt, die sich bevorzugt in Krebszellen vermehren und zu einer Tumor-Lyse führen. In den letzten Jahren wurde deutlich, dass die Behandlung mit onkolytischen Viren v.a. durch Tumorvakzinierungseffekte als (onkolytische) Immuntherapie gegen Krebs wirkt. Im Jahr 2015 wurde ein erstes onkolytisches Virus in den USA und Europa zur Therapie des fortgeschrittenen malignen Melanoms zugelassen. Verschiedene andere onkolytische Viren werden derzeit in klinischen Studien untersucht.

Das Forschungsprogramm der KKE Virotherapie
Wir erforschen neue Strategien zur Entwicklung effektiver onkolytischer Viren und Kombinationstherapien mit onkolytischen Viren, insbesondere auch durch gentechnische Modifikation der Virusgenome. Die KKE etabliert Herstellungsprozesse für Virotherapeutika, führt klinische Virotherapiestudien mit verschiedenen onkolytischen Viren durch und analysiert Mechanismen der onkolytischen Immuntherapie in präklinischen Modellen und in Patienten (ein Überblick ist hier).

Entwicklung sicherer onkolytischer Viren mit maximaler Wirksamkeit
Die KKE Virotherapie fokussiert ihre präklinischen Forschungsaktivitäten auf eine Masernimpfstamm-Virusplattform. Weitere Projekte erforschen onkolytische Adeno- und Parvoviren. Wir entwickeln onkolytische Viren durch molekulare Modifikation der Virusgenome und untersuchen Kombinationstherapien für spezifische therapeutische Zwecke (s. auch „discovery projects”). Beispiele sind onkolytische Viren, die

  • selektiv Tumorzellen infizieren, indem sie an Tumor-spezifische Oberflächenmoleküle binden („entry targeting“) oder molekulare Mechanismen aufweisen, die nach dem Zelleintritt wirken („post-entry targeting“)
  • zusätzliche Gene tragen, die für therapeutische Proteine kodieren („Arming“). Hierzu untersuchen wir insbesondere Proteine, die das Immunsystem des Patienten auf den Tumor aufmerksam machen („onkolytische Immuntherapie“), wie Zytokine, Immun-Checkpoint-Inhibitoren oder bispezifische Antikörper
  • effektive Kombinationstherapien ermöglichen (z.B. „Radio-Virotherapie”)
Entschlüsseln der Wirkungsweise der onkolytischen Immuntherapie
Wir entwickeln und nutzen präklinische Tumormodelle und klinischen Proben sowie Immundiagnostik-Verfahren um Faktoren zu identifizieren, die in Tumorzellen und in der Tumor-Mikroumgebung die Wirksamkeit der onkolytischen Immuntherapie beeinflussen. Unser Ziel ist es, sowohl Strategien zur Verbesserung der Effektivität onkolytischer Viren als auch Biomarker für die klinische Translation der onkolytischen Immuntherapie zu entwickeln (siehe auch „discovery projects” und „dissect projects” ).

Onkolytische Viren in die klinische Anwendung bringen
Die KKE Virotherapie hat zum Ziel, die wirksamsten onkolytischen Immuntherapien in die klinische Anwendung zu bringen. Basierend auf unserer präklinischen Forschung ist derzeit eine klinische Phase I/II-Studie in Vorbereitung, die onkolytische Masernviren zur Immunvirotherapie von fortgeschrittenen gastrointestinalen Tumoren untersucht. Hierfür etablieren wir GMP-konforme Herstellungsprozesse für klinisch anwendbare Päparationen onkolytischer Viren (s. auch „develop projects”). In weiteren abgeschlossenen, laufenden und zukünftigen (Phase I-III) Studien werden unter anderem onkolytische Herpesviren, Parvoviren und Vakziniaviren geprüft (s. auch „treat projects”). Von uns initiierte Studien werden systematisch von translationalen Begleitforschungsprogrammen flankiert, um Wirkmechanismen und Biomarkersignaturen erfolgreicher onkolytischer Immuntherapien zu bestimmen (s. auch „dissect projects”).

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Dr. Guy Ungerechts
Virotherapie (F230)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
und Nationales Centrum für Tumorerkrankungen (NCT)
Im Neuenheimer Feld 460
69120 Heidelberg

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Speck T, Heidbuechel JPW, Veinalde R, Jaeger D, von Kalle C, Ball CR, Ungerechts G, Engeland CE. Targeted BiTE expression by an oncolytic vector augments therapeutic efficacy against solid tumors. Clinical Cancer Research, 2018.
  • Veinalde R, Grossardt C, Hartmann L, Bourgeois-Daigneault MC, Bell JC, Jäger D, von Kalle C, Ungerechts G, Engeland CE. Oncolytic measles virus encoding interleukin-12 mediates potent antitumor effects through T cell activation. OncoImmunology, 2017.
  • Hajda J, Lehmann M, Krebs O, Kieser M, Geletneky K, Jäger D, Dahm M, Huber B, Schöning T, Sedlaczek O, Stenzinger A, Halama N, Daniel V, Leuchs B, Angelova A, Rommelaere J, Engeland CE, Springfeld C, Ungerechts G. A non-controlled, single arm, open label, phase II study of intravenous and intratumoral administration of ParvOryx in patients with metastatic, inoperable pancreatic cancer: ParvOryx02 protocol. BMC Cancer, 2017.
  • Engeland CE, Grossardt C, Veinalde R, Bossow S, Lutz D, Kaufmann JK, Shevchenko I, Umansky V, Nettelbeck DM, Weichert W, Jäger D, von Kalle C, Ungerechts G. CTLA-4 and PD-L1 checkpoint blockade enhances oncolytic measles virus therapy. Mol Ther, 2014.
nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS