Immunotherapy and -prevention
Immunotherapy and -prevention

Junior Research Group Immunotherapy and -prevention

PD Dr. Dr. Angelika Riemer

At least 20% of human malignancies are caused by consequences of persistent infections. Cancers caused by infectious agents (e.g. human papillomavirus – HPV) are attractive targets for cancer vaccination approaches, as they provide the opportunity to target antigens that are immunological non-self.

Vaccination can be prophylactic, inducing antibodies that prevent infection, or therapeutic, stimulating the cellular immune system into eradicating established disease. Prophylactic immunization against HPV has become the paradigm for cancer immunoprevention. Unfortunately, current HPV vaccines have no therapeutic effect on existing infections.
The aim of therapeutic vaccination is to stimulate the immune system into recognizing and destroying malignant cells. Cytotoxic T cells (CTL) kill infected cells after recognizing bits of viral proteins, so-called epitopes, which are presented on human leukocyte antigen (HLA) molecules on the cell surface. There are thousands of different HLA types, all presenting different epitopes. As every human being has a different set of HLA molecules, epitopes for all major HLA groups need to be defined.
The overall aim of this group is to generate a therapeutic cancer vaccine against HPV-induced malignancies that is applicable to everyone regardless of a person’s HLA type. We are currently working on the precise identification which HPV epitopes are present on tumor cells by a mass spectrometry (MS) approach, and on assessing their immunogenicity by functional immunological assays.

Contact

PD Dr. Dr. Angelika Riemer
Immunotherapy and -prevention (F130)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 3820

Selected Publications

  • Grabowska, A.K., Kaufmann, A.M., Riemer, A.B. (2015). Identification of promiscuous HPV16-derived T helper cell epitopes for therapeutic HPV vaccine design. Int. J. Cancer, 136(1), 212-24. doi: 10.1002/ijc.28968. Epub 2014 May 27.
  • Schumacher, T., Bunse, L., Sahm, F., Pusch, S., Quandt, J., Wiestler, B., Oezen, I., Menn, O., Osswald, M., Grabowska, A.K., Eichmueller, S., Riemer, A.B., Friese, M., Beckhove, P., von Deimling, A., Wick, W., Ott, M., Keil, M., Balss, J., Rauschenbach, K., Vogler, I., Diekmann, J., Sahin, U., Stevanovic, S., Trautwein, N., Okun, J. & Platten, M. (2014). A vaccine targeting mutant IDH1 induces antitumor immunity. Nature, 512(7514):324-7. doi:10.1038/nature13387.
  • Zhang, G.L., Riemer, A.B., Keskin, D.B., Chitkushev, L., Reinherz, E.L. & Brusic, V. (2014). HPVdb: a data mining system for knowledge discovery in human papillomavirus with applications in T cell immunology and vaccinology. Database, article ID bau031; doi:10.1093/database/bau031
  • Riemer, A.B., Keskin D.B., Zhang G., Handley M., Anderson K.S., Brusic V., Reinhold B. & Reinherz E.L. (2010). A conserved E7-derived CTL epitope expressed on human papillomavirus-16 transformed HLA-A2+ human epithelial cancers. J. Biol. Chem., 285(38), 29608-22
to top

1. Hauptnavigation
  2. Navigation des Hauptbereiches
  3. Inhalt der Seite

Nachwuchsgruppe Immuntherapie und -prävention

PD Dr. Dr. Angelika Riemer

Mindestens 20% aller menschlichen Krebsfälle resultieren aus chronischen Infektionen. Viral induzierte Krebsformen, wie z.B. die Tumoren, die durch humane Papillomviren (HPV) ausgelöst werden, sind für immuntherapeutische Ansätze besonders interessant, weil hier die Immunantwort auf körperfremde Strukturen konzentriert werden kann.
Während bei prophylaktischen Impfungen Antikörper induziert werden, die eine Infektion mit dem Erreger verhindern, soll ein therapeutischer Impfstoff die zelluläre Abwehr des Körpers aktivieren. Die prophylaktische Impfung gegen HPV ist das Paradebeispiel einer Krebs-Schutzimpfung. Leider haben die derzeit gegen HPV verfügbaren Impfstoffe keinen therapeutischen Effekt.
Das Ziel von therapeutischen Krebs-Impfungen ist, das Immunsystem so zu stimulieren, dass es Krebszellen erkennt und abtötet. Zytotoxische T-Zellen töten infizierte Zellen nachdem sie kleine Stücke der viralen Proteine (sogenannte Epitope) erkannt haben, die auf der Oberfläche der befallenen Zelle von HLA-Molekülen (Human Leukocyte Antigen) präsentiert werden. Es gibt Tausende verschiedene HLA-Moleküle, die alle verschiedene Epitope präsentieren. Da jeder Mensch andere HLA-Moleküle besitzt, müssen Epitope für alle wichtigen HLA-Gruppen bestimmt werden.
Das Ziel unserer Arbeit ist es, einen unabhängig vom HLA-Typ einsetzbaren therapeutischen HPV-Impfstoff zu entwickeln. Wir ermitteln derzeit mittels Massenspektrometrie und funktionellen immunologischen Experimenten, welche HPV-Epitope auf Tumorzellen vorhanden sind und vom Immunsystem erkannt werden.

Ausgewählte Publikationen

Grabowska, A.K., Kaufmann, A.M., Riemer, A.B. (2015). Identification of promiscuous HPV16-derived T helper cell epitopes for therapeutic HPV vaccine design. Int. J. Cancer, 136(1), 212-24. doi: 10.1002/ijc.28968. Epub 2014 May 27.

Schumacher, T., Bunse, L., Sahm, F., Pusch, S., Quandt, J., Wiestler, B., Oezen, I., Menn, O., Osswald, M., Grabowska, A.K., Eichmueller, S., Riemer, A.B., Friese, M., Beckhove, P., von Deimling, A., Wick, W., Ott, M., Keil, M., Balss, J., Rauschenbach, K., Vogler, I., Diekmann, J., Sahin, U., Stevanovic, S., Trautwein, N., Okun, J. & Platten, M. (2014). A vaccine targeting mutant IDH1 induces antitumor immunity. Nature, 512(7514):324-7. doi:10.1038/nature13387.

Zhang, G.L., Riemer, A.B., Keskin, D.B., Chitkushev, L., Reinherz, E.L. & Brusic, V. (2014). HPVdb: a data mining system for knowledge discovery in human papillomavirus with applications in T cell immunology and vaccinology. Database 2014, article ID bau031; doi:10.1093/database/bau031

Riemer, A.B., Keskin D.B., Zhang G., Handley M., Anderson K.S., Brusic V., Reinhold B. & Reinherz E.L. (2010). A conserved E7-derived CTL epitope expressed on human papillomavirus-16 transformed HLA-A2+ human epithelial cancers. J. Biol. Chem., 285(38), 29608-22

Letzte Aktualisierung: 17.11.2014 Seitenanfang