Management Board

Chairman and Scientific Director

Prof. Dr. Michael Baumann

Prof. Dr. Michael Baumann
© dkfz.de

After completing his medical studies at the University of Hamburg, Professor Michael Baumann obtained his Doctorate in Medicine in 1988. He then worked as a postdoctoral fellow at Massachusetts General Hospital at the Harvard Medical School in Boston. After his training as a specialist for radiotherapy he habilitated in 1994 in Hamburg. In 1995, he changed to the Faculty of Medicine Carl Gustav Carus in Dresden as Head of Experimental Radiooncology. In 2001 the Dresden University of Technology appointed Michael Baumann as Professor for Radiooncology. During his time as Chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at the University Hospital Carl Gustav Carus, director at the Institute for Radiooncology at the Helmholtz Center Dresden-Rossendorf, as well as director of the OncoRay Center, he significantly contributed to the radiooncological research in Dresden. Furthermore, he was the founding director of the University Cancer Center Dresden and spokesperson of the DKTK and NCT partner site Dresden. His research focuses on translational-orientated experimental radiotherapy and radiobiology, as well as the treatment of lung and head and neck cancer.

Michael Baumann has been honored with numerous scientific awards including the Michael Fry Research Award of the Radiation Research Society, the Breur Gold Medal and Regaud Medal Award of the European Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology. In 2004, he was appointed as a member of the National Academy of Science (Leopoldina) and has been President of the European Society for Radiotherapy and Oncology (ESTRO), the European CanCer Organisation (ECCO) and the German Society for Radiation Oncology (DEGRO).

Assistants to the Scientific Director:

Katharina Schuh
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-1670
Contact Form

Dr. Carina Thomé
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-1671
Contact Form
 
Secretariat:

Yasemin Döger
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-2841
Contact Form

Dagmar Kafka
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-2851
Contact Form

Administrative Director

Ursula Weyrich

Ursula Weyrich
© Jutta Jung/DKFZ

Ursula Weyrich studied law in Mainz and Clermont-Ferrand, completing her legal training in 1998 with the bar examination. She initially worked as a lawyer, specializing in labor, corporate, and tax law, before moving to the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) as policy officer, where she was responsible, among other things, for the merger of the GMD Research Center Information Technology with the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. After a period spent working as the personal assistant to the permanent secretary at BMBF, she became head of division at BMBF in 2006. In that capacity, she was responsible for the Helmholtz centers in Jülich and Karlsruhe, the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (IPP), and for setting up the W7-X fusion experiment in Greifswald. Her responsibilities also included assisting with the merger of the University of Karlsruhe and the Research Center Karlsruhe to form the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

At the end of 2008, as an administrative founding board member, Ursula Weyrich assumed responsibility for setting up the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases. She was Administrative Managing Director of the GSI Helmholtz Centre for Heavy Ion Research and the Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research in Europe (FAIR) GmbH in Darmstadt since November 2014 and has been Administrative Director of DKFZ since January 1st 2020.



Assistants to the Administrative Director:
Dr. Katharina Gudd
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-2621
Contact Form 

Dr. Beatrix Fuchs
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-2605
Contact Form

Leonie Backeberg
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-2668
Contact Form

Secretariat:
Tina Berdel
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-2861
Contact Form
 
Verena Klotz
Tel. +49(0)6221 42-2869
Contact Form

to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Vorstand des Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrums

Vorstandsvorsitzender und Wissenschaftlicher Vorstand

Prof. Dr. Michael Baumann

Prof. Dr. Michael Baumann
© DKFZ / Uwe Anspach

Nach dem Medizinstudium an der Universität Hamburg promovierte Professor Michael Baumann 1988 zum Doktor der Medizin. Danach war er als Postdoc im Massachusetts General Hospital an der Harvard Medical School in Boston tätig. Nach seiner Ausbildung zum Facharzt für Strahlentherapie habilitierte er sich 1994 an der Universität Hamburg. 1995 wechselte er zunächst als Leiter der experimentellen Radioonkologie an die Medizinische Fakultät Carl Gustav Carus in Dresden. Seit 2001 ist Michael Baumann Professor für Radioonkologie an der Technischen Universität Dresden. Während seiner Zeit als Direktor der Klinik für Strahlentherapie und Radioonkologie am Universitätsklinikum Carl Gustav Carus sowie als Direktor am Institut für Radioonkologie des Helmholtz-Zentrums Dresden-Rossendorf und des OncoRay-Zentrums baute er die radioonkologische Forschung am Standort Dresden maßgeblich mit auf. Zudem war er Gründungsdirektor des Universitäts KrebsCentrum Dresden sowie Sprecher des DKTK und NCT Partnerstandorts Dresden. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in der translationalen Radioonkologie und Strahlenbiologie sowie in der Behandlung von intrathorakalen- und Kopf-Hals-Tumoren.

Michael Baumann erhielt eine Vielzahl akademischer Auszeichnungen, u.a. den Michael Fry Award der amerikanischen Strahlenforschungsgesellschaft, die Breur Goldmedaille und die Regaud Goldmedaille der europäischen Radioonkologen. Er wurde 2004 zum Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina gewählt und war Präsident der europäischen Gesellschaft für Radioonkologie (ESTRO), der Europäischen Krebsgesellschaft (ECCO) und der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Radioonkologie (DEGRO).

Wissenschaftliche Vorstandsreferentinnen und -referent: 

Julia Neuhaus
Tel. +49(0)6221 42-1671
Kontaktformular

Katharina Schuh
Tel. +49(0)6221 42-1670
Kontaktformular

Phil-Alan Gärtig
Tel. +49(0)6221 42-1687
Kontaktformular

Sekretariat:

Yasemin Döger
Tel. +49(0)6221 42-2841
Kontaktformular

Dagmar Kafka
Tel. +49(0)6221 42-2851
Kontaktformular

Kaufmännischer Vorstand

Ursula Weyrich

Ursula Weyrich
© Jutta Jung/DKFZ

Ursula Weyrich studierte Jura in Mainz und Clermont-Ferrand und beendete ihre juristische Ausbildung 1998 mit dem zweiten juristischen Staatsexamen. Sie arbeitete zunächst als Rechtsanwältin mit den Schwerpunkten Arbeits-, Gesellschafts- und Steuerrecht, bevor sie als Referentin ins Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) wechselte. Dort betreute sie unter anderem die Fusion des GMD-Forschungszentrums Informationstechnik mit der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Nach einer Zeit als Persönliche Referentin des Staatssekretärs im BMBF wurde sie 2006 BMBF-Referatsleiterin und damit zuständig für die Helmholtz-Zentren in Jülich und Karlsruhe, das Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik (IPP) und den Aufbau des Fusionsexperimentes W7-X in Greifswald. In ihre Zuständigkeit fiel die Begleitung des Zusammenschlusses der Universität Karlsruhe mit dem Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe zum Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

Ende 2008 übernahm Ursula Weyrich als Administrativer Gründungsvorstand den Aufbau des Deutschen Zentrums für Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen. Ursula Weyrich war seit November 2014 Administrative Geschäftsführerin der GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH und der Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research in Europe GmbH (FAIR GmbH) und ist seit 01.01.2020 Kaufmännischer Vorstand des DKFZ.

 

Referentinnen:


Dr. Beatrix Fuchs
Tel. +49(0)6221 42-2605
Kontaktformular

Leonie Backeberg
Tel. +49(0)6221 42-2668
Kontaktformular

Sekretariat:
Tina Berdel
Tel. +49(0)6221 42-2861
Kontaktformular
 
Verena Klotz
Tel. +49(0)6221 42-2869
Kontaktformular

nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS