Cookie Settings

We use cookies to optimize our website. These include cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as those that are only used for anonymous statistic. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Further information can be found in our data privacy protection .

Essential

These cookies are necessary to run the core functionalities of this website and cannot be disabled.

Name Webedition CMS
Purpose This cookie is required by the CMS (Content Management System) Webedition for the system to function correctly. Typically, this cookie is deleted when the browser is closed.
Name econda
Purpose Session cookie emos_jcsid for the web analysis software econda. This runs in the “anonymized measurement” mode. There is no personal reference. As soon as the user leaves the site, tracking is ended and all data in the browser are automatically deleted.
Statistics

These cookies help us understand how visitors interact with our website by collecting and analyzing information anonymously. Depending on the tool, one or more cookies are set by the provider.

Name econda
Purpose Statistics
External media

Content from external video platforms is blocked by default. If cookies from external media are accepted, access to this content no longer requires manual consent.

Name Youtube
Purpose External media
Functional and Structural Genomics

Research Program

Functional and Structural Genomics

Research Program

Functional and Structural Genomics

Coordinator Prof. Dr. Michael Boutros

Cancer arises when genes in a cell are changed in such a way that they cause the cell to divide uncontrolled. For this to happen, however, a multitude of specific changes have to coincide. It is the task of this Research Program to analyze the genome, i.e., the complete set of genes, in order to lay the foundation for developing new diagnostic and treatment methods. This involves mapping the genome, localizing genes within the genetic material, and investigating the functions of cancer-relevant genomic areas. The vast amounts of data accumulated in the process are being captured and evaluated using bioinformatic methods. By combining approaches from mathematics, statistics, physics, and computer sciences with computer-assisted simulation techniques, the theoretical groups of the Research Program are bridging the gap to experimental research. The methods developed within the Research Program are being directly utilized in many areas within collaborations with numerous divisions of the Center: in molecular and genomic investigations of the structure of the genetic material, cancer documentation, medical imaging, and biostatistical evaluations of experimental and clinical data.

SARS-CoV-2 infection identification platform (SPRINT)

Divisions

Topic Locator

Find research groups by research areas or browse through all research groups and PI names.

DKFZ-ZMBH-Alliance

The DKFZ-ZMBH-Alliance is a strategic alliance between the Research Program Cell and Tumor Biology and the Center for Molecular Biology of Heidelberg University.

Research Results

Here you can find our latest press releases.

Junior Research Groups

At German Cancer Research Center the following Junior Research Groups have been established.

to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Cookie Hinweis

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen ein optimales Webseiten-Erlebnis zu bieten. Dazu zählen Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Seite notwendig sind, sowie solche, die lediglich zu anonymen Statistikzwecken, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte genutzt werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass auf Basis Ihrer Einstellungen womöglich nicht mehr alle Funktionalitäten der Seite zur Verfügung stehen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzhinweisen .

Essentiell

Diese Cookies sind für die Funktionalität unserer Website erforderlich und können nicht deaktiviert werden.

Name Webedition CMS
Zweck Dieses Cookie wird vom CMS (Content Management System) Webedition für die unverwechselbare Identifizierung eines Anwenders gesetzt. Es bietet dem Anwender bessere Bedienerführung, z.B. Speicherung von Sucheinstellungen oder Formulardaten. Typischerweise wird dieses Cookie beim Schließen des Browsers gelöscht.
Name econda
Zweck Session-Cookie für die Webanalyse Software econda. Diese läuft im Modus „Anonymisiertes Messen“.
Statistik

Diese Cookies helfen uns zu verstehen, wie Besucher mit unserer Webseite interagieren, indem Informationen anonym gesammelt und analysiert werden. Je nach Tool werden ein oder mehrere Cookies des Anbieters gesetzt.

Name econda
Zweck Measure with Visitor Cookie emos_jcvid
Externe Medien

Inhalte von Videoplattformen werden standardmäßig blockiert. Wenn Cookies von externen Medien akzeptiert werden, bedarf der Zugriff auf diese Inhalte keiner manuellen Zustimmung mehr.

Name Youtube
Zweck Externe Medien
Funktionelle und Strukturelle Genomforschung

Forschungsschwerpunkt

Funktionelle und Strukturelle Genomforschung

Forschungsschwerpunkt

Funktionelle und Strukturelle Genomforschung

Sprecher Prof. Dr. Michael Boutros

Krebs entsteht, wenn Gene einer Zelle so verändert sind, dass sie die Zelle dazu bringen, sich unkontrolliert zu teilen. Damit es aber so weit kommt, muss eine Vielzahl ganz bestimmter Veränderungen zusammentreffen. Der Forschungsschwerpunkt hat die Aufgabe, das Genom, also die Gesamtheit der Gene, zu analysieren, um die Grundlage zur Entwicklung neuer Diagnose- und Therapiemethoden zu schaffen. Dazu gehört es, das Genom kartografisch zu erfassen, Gene im Erbmaterial zu lokalisieren und krebsrelevante Genombereiche auf ihre Funktionen hin zu untersuchen. Die dabei anfallenden enormen Datenmengen werden mit bioinformatischen Methoden erfasst und ausgewertet. Die theoretisch arbeitenden Gruppen des Forschungsschwerpunkts verbinden ihre Ansätze aus der Mathematik, Statistik, Physik, und Informatik mit computergestützten Simulationsverfahren und schlagen dadurch eine Brücke zu ihren experimentell arbeitenden Kollegen. In Kooperationen mit zahlreichen Abteilungen im Krebsforschungszentrum kommen die methodischen Entwicklungen des Schwerpunkts in vielen Bereichen direkt zum Einsatz: bei der molekularen und genomischen Erforschung der Struktur des Erbmaterials, in der Krebsdokumentation, bei der medizinischen Bildverarbeitung und in der biostatistischen Auswertung experimenteller und klinischer Daten.

Abteilungen

Themensuche

Finden Sie hier eine Forschungsabteilung durch Suche nach einem Forschungsthema oder nutzen Sie die alphabetische Liste aller Abteilungen und Arbeitsgruppen.

DKFZ-ZMBH-Allianz

Die DKFZ-ZMBH-Allianz ist eine strategische Allianz zwischen dem Forschungsschwerpunkt Zell- und Tumorbiologie und dem Zentrum für Molekulare Biologie der Universität Heidelberg.

Forschungsergebnisse

Hier finden Sie unsere aktuellen Pressemitteilungen.

Wissenschaftliche Nachwuchsförderung

Am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum existieren folgende Nachwuchsgruppen.

nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS