Cookie Settings

We use cookies to optimize our website. These include cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as those that are only used for anonymous statistic. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Further information can be found in our data privacy protection .

Essential

These cookies are necessary to run the core functionalities of this website and cannot be disabled.

Name Webedition CMS
Purpose This cookie is required by the CMS (Content Management System) Webedition for the system to function correctly. Typically, this cookie is deleted when the browser is closed.
Name econda
Purpose Session cookie emos_jcsid for the web analysis software econda. This runs in the “anonymized measurement” mode. There is no personal reference. As soon as the user leaves the site, tracking is ended and all data in the browser are automatically deleted.
Statistics

These cookies help us understand how visitors interact with our website by collecting and analyzing information anonymously. Depending on the tool, one or more cookies are set by the provider.

Name econda
Purpose Statistics
External media

Content from external video platforms is blocked by default. If cookies from external media are accepted, access to this content no longer requires manual consent.

Name Youtube
Purpose External media
Cell Biology and Tumor Biology

Research Program

Cell Biology and Tumor Biology

Research Program

Cell Biology and Tumor Biology

Coordinator Prof. Dr. Andreas Trumpp

The Research Program (FSP-A) concentrates the basic cell and tumor biology-focused research groups at the Center. The FSP-A groups focus on either the molecular, cellular and functional analysis of the mechanisms leading to tumor initiation, tumor promotion and tumor progression including metastasis or tackle fundamental discipline-independent biological questions. The scientists of the Research Program “Cell and Tumor Biology” pursue towards this end the following specific aims:

  • They investigate how genome stability is ensured, as inherited or acquired alterations in the genome are causative for tumor initiation and progression. The experimental program also focuses on epigenetic mechanisms and RNA biology.
  • They study cell surveillance and damage control mechanisms, which allow cells to monitor molecular processes and respond to pathologic damage. This includes the control of protein stability and turnover.
  • They unravel critical signaling pathways and networks that enable cells to perceive and correctly respond to information and to govern cellular processes. Scientists in this research program investigate how dysregulation of these mechanisms is linked to malignancies.
  • They analyze cell differentiation pathways and the biology of stem and progenitor cells, taking into consideration that perturbed cell differentiation and dysregulated stem cell programs are at the heart of many oncological and non-oncological diseases.
  • They exploit the complexity of tumor cell interactions with their microenvironment to analyze a tumor not just as a clump of tumor cells leading to local disease, but rather as a complex pathologic organ causing systemic disease. Metabolic changes are studied as risk factors and consequences of tumorigenesis and tumor progression.
To tackle these issues, the scientists employ a broad array of highly specialized molecular, cellular and organismic tools and techniques. With scientific excellence being the primary recruitment criterion, outstanding groups are affiliated with the FSP-A. Thus, their cutting- edge basic cell and tumor biology research establishes the knowledge-based foundation for rational translation and exploitation into medical application for some of the most devastating human diseases. For a conceptually broader basic science appreciation beyond its primary tumor biology focus, DKFZ’s Cell and Tumor Biology Research Program is part of the DKFZ-ZMBH Alliance, a strategic partnership between the FSP-A and the Center for Molecular Biology of Heidelberg University (ZMBH), which was established in 2007 in order to overcome the classical boundaries between the two strong university and non-university institutions on the Heidelberg campus. Details about research projects of the individual FSP-A research groups can be found on the following pages.

Divisions

Topic Locator

Find research groups by research areas or browse through all research groups and PI names.

DKFZ-ZMBH-Alliance

The DKFZ-ZMBH-Alliance is a strategic alliance between the Research Program Cell and Tumor Biology and the Center for Molecular Biology of Heidelberg University.

Research Results

Here you can find our latest press releases.

Junior Research Groups

At German Cancer Research Center the following Junior Research Groups have been established.

to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Cookie Hinweis

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen ein optimales Webseiten-Erlebnis zu bieten. Dazu zählen Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Seite notwendig sind, sowie solche, die lediglich zu anonymen Statistikzwecken, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte genutzt werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass auf Basis Ihrer Einstellungen womöglich nicht mehr alle Funktionalitäten der Seite zur Verfügung stehen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzhinweisen .

Essentiell

Diese Cookies sind für die Funktionalität unserer Website erforderlich und können nicht deaktiviert werden.

Name Webedition CMS
Zweck Dieses Cookie wird vom CMS (Content Management System) Webedition für die unverwechselbare Identifizierung eines Anwenders gesetzt. Es bietet dem Anwender bessere Bedienerführung, z.B. Speicherung von Sucheinstellungen oder Formulardaten. Typischerweise wird dieses Cookie beim Schließen des Browsers gelöscht.
Name econda
Zweck Session-Cookie für die Webanalyse Software econda. Diese läuft im Modus „Anonymisiertes Messen“.
Statistik

Diese Cookies helfen uns zu verstehen, wie Besucher mit unserer Webseite interagieren, indem Informationen anonym gesammelt und analysiert werden. Je nach Tool werden ein oder mehrere Cookies des Anbieters gesetzt.

Name econda
Zweck Measure with Visitor Cookie emos_jcvid
Externe Medien

Inhalte von Videoplattformen werden standardmäßig blockiert. Wenn Cookies von externen Medien akzeptiert werden, bedarf der Zugriff auf diese Inhalte keiner manuellen Zustimmung mehr.

Name Youtube
Zweck Externe Medien
Zell- und Tumorbiologie

Forschungsschwerpunkt

Zell- und Tumorbiologie

Forschungsschwerpunkt

Zell- und Tumorbiologie

Sprecher Prof. Dr. Andreas Trumpp

Jede Krebserkrankung nimmt ihren Anfang in einer einzelnen Zelle. Die Abteilungen und Arbeitsgruppen des Forschungsschwerpunkts A erforschen die grundlegenden Vorgänge, die dazu führen, dass eine Zelle zur Krebszelle entartet. Sie untersuchen die Mechanismen der Tumorentstehung, der Tumorprogression sowie der Metastasierung auf molekularer, genomischer, zellulärer und funktionaler Ebene. Darüber hinaus klären sie auch grundlegende zellbiologische Prinzipien auf. Die Wissenschaftler arbeiten im Einzelnen an folgenden Themen:

  • Sie analysieren Stammzellen und Vorläuferzellen, da sowohl eine gestörte Zelldifferenzierung als auch fehlregulierte Stammzellprogramme Ursache für viele Krebserkrankungen, aber auch nicht-onkologische Krankheiten sind.
  • Sie untersuchen die Kontrollmechanismen, die zur Stabilität des Genoms beitragen, da angeborene oder erworbene Veränderungen im Genom ursächlich an der Entstehung und am Fortschritt von Tumoren beteiligt sind. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die RNA-Biologie sowie die Analyse epigenetischer Mechanismen zur Kontrolle der Genexpression.
  • Sie untersuchen die zellulären Mechanismen, die die Integrität der Zelle überwachen, Schäden schnell erkennen und bei Bedarf reparieren bzw. den Zelltod auslösen. Dies beinhaltet auch die Kontrolle der Proteinstabilität und des Proteinmetabolismus.
  • Sie erforschen die Netzwerke aus Signalwegen und Transkriptionsfaktoren, welche die Zelle in die Lage versetzen, Informationen aufzunehmen, zu verarbeiten und die Vorgänge innerhalb der Zelle zu steuern. Sie untersuchen, wie die Fehlregulation dieser Mechanismen zur bösartigen Entartung führen kann.
  • Sie versuchen, die Komplexität der Interaktionen der Tumorzellen mit ihrer Mikroumgebung zu verstehen. Denn Tumoren sind mehr als bloße Zellansammlungen, die zu lokal-begrenzten Krankheiten führen. Vielmehr handelt es sich um komplexe pathologische Organ-ähnliche Strukturen, gebildet durch viele verschiedene Zelltypen (neben Tumorzellen, Immunzellen, Stromazellen etc.), die sich ausbreiten und damit den ganzen Körper als Metastasen besiedeln können. Weiterhin werden metabolische Veränderungen und ihr Einfluss zum Beispiel auf das Epigenom bei der Tumorgenese und Tumorprogression untersucht.
Ein breites Spektrum an hoch spezialisierten molekularen, zellulären, genomischen und organismischen Methoden und Techniken ermöglicht es den Wissenschaftlern, sich diesen ungelösten Fragen zu stellen. Ihre Grundlagenforschung zur Zell- und Tumorbiologie bildet die Basis für die klinische Translation und medizinische Anwendung. Um die Grundlagenforschung über den Zell- und Tumorbiologie-Schwerpunkt hinaus noch breiter aufzustellen, ist der FSP-A in der DKFZ-ZMBH Allianz mit dem Zentrum für Molekularbiologie der Universität Heidelberg (ZMBH) verbunden. Die strategische Partnerschaft wurde im Jahr 2007 gegründet, um die klassischen Grenzen universitärer und außeruniversitärer Forschung zu überwinden und die molekulare und zellbiologische Forschung am Standort Heidelberg auf höchstes internationales Niveau zu heben. Einige der Stammzellforscher des Schwerpunkts sind im „Heidelberg Institute for Stem Cell Technology and Experimental Medicine“ (HI-STEM) organisiert, einer gemeinnützigen GmbH, die vom DKFZ und der Dietmar Hopp Stiftung getragen wird.

Abteilungen

Themensuche

Finden Sie hier eine Forschungsabteilung durch Suche nach einem Forschungsthema oder nutzen Sie die alphabetische Liste aller Abteilungen und Arbeitsgruppen.

DKFZ-ZMBH-Allianz

Die DKFZ-ZMBH-Allianz ist eine strategische Allianz zwischen dem Forschungsschwerpunkt Zell- und Tumorbiologie und dem Zentrum für Molekulare Biologie der Universität Heidelberg.

Forschungsergebnisse

Hier finden Sie unsere aktuellen Pressemitteilungen.

Wissenschaftliche Nachwuchsförderung

Am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum existieren folgende Nachwuchsgruppen.

nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS