Cookie Settings

We use cookies to optimize our website. These include cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as those that are only used for anonymous statistic. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Further information can be found in our data privacy protection .

Essential

These cookies are necessary to run the core functionalities of this website and cannot be disabled.

Name Webedition CMS
Purpose This cookie is required by the CMS (Content Management System) Webedition for the system to function correctly. Typically, this cookie is deleted when the browser is closed.
Name econda
Purpose Session cookie emos_jcsid for the web analysis software econda. This runs in the “anonymized measurement” mode. There is no personal reference. As soon as the user leaves the site, tracking is ended and all data in the browser are automatically deleted.
Statistics

These cookies help us understand how visitors interact with our website by collecting and analyzing information anonymously. Depending on the tool, one or more cookies are set by the provider.

Name econda
Purpose Statistics
External media

Content from external video platforms is blocked by default. If cookies from external media are accepted, access to this content no longer requires manual consent.

Name Youtube
Purpose External media
Sustainability

Sustainability

Sustainability Mission Statement

The German Cancer Research Center is committed to conducting groundbreaking cancer research at the highest international level. Our work aims to saves lives and improve wellbeing of those affected by cancer. We strive to provide our employees with an environmentally sound and socially just workplace while practicing outstanding research in a responsible, sustainable and climate friendly manner.

Contact

Hollyn Hartlep
Sustainability Coordinator
sustainability@dkfz.de 
+49 6221 42-2549

The DKFZ recognizes the importance of sustainability and the urgency of climate action in today's world. As the largest biomedical research institute in Germany and a member of the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centers, the DKFZ is committed to excellence in research and to conducting research in a sustainable manner. We believe that groundbreaking research in cancer that saves lives and improves wellbeing, should not at the same time contribute to societal harm and environmental degradation. To conduct research in an environmentally and socially responsible manner, the DKFZ is developing a sustainability strategy in line with science-based targets for greenhouse gas emissions reductions, including goals in the areas of organizational development, research, human resources, construction and infrastructure, procurement and mobility management. The strategy is based on the guide Sustainability Management in Non-University Research Organizations (German only).

Cancer and Climate Change

The links between cancer and climate change are clear. Air pollution, ultraviolet radiation, disruptions in food and water supply, exposure to industrial toxicants and possibly infectious causes will affect cancer research and control (Hiatt & Beyeler, 2020).

At the DKFZ, we see climate action as our moral responsibility and aligned with our mission for a life without cancer. Therefore, we strive to take actions to mitigate climate change in the execution of our research. The co-benefits that climate action offers are necessary to achieve a world without cancer.

Climate Neutrality

The German government has set the goal to reach climate neutrality by 2045. Considering the special responsibility and exemplary role of science institutions, the Alliance of Science Organisations in Germany, to which the Helmholtz Association, and thus, the DKFZ belongs, has set the goal to achieve climate neutrality in its working methods and research processes by 2035 at the latest.

Sustainability Group at DKFZ

The DKFZ Sustainability Group is an employee initiative founded in July 2020 to promote sustainability at the German Cancer Research Center. In various working groups, the members address areas such as energy, waste and nutrition in which they organise awareness campaigns and information events.

to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Cookie Hinweis

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen ein optimales Webseiten-Erlebnis zu bieten. Dazu zählen Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Seite notwendig sind, sowie solche, die lediglich zu anonymen Statistikzwecken, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte genutzt werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass auf Basis Ihrer Einstellungen womöglich nicht mehr alle Funktionalitäten der Seite zur Verfügung stehen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzhinweisen .

Essentiell

Diese Cookies sind für die Funktionalität unserer Website erforderlich und können nicht deaktiviert werden.

Name Webedition CMS
Zweck Dieses Cookie wird vom CMS (Content Management System) Webedition für die unverwechselbare Identifizierung eines Anwenders gesetzt. Es bietet dem Anwender bessere Bedienerführung, z.B. Speicherung von Sucheinstellungen oder Formulardaten. Typischerweise wird dieses Cookie beim Schließen des Browsers gelöscht.
Name econda
Zweck Session-Cookie für die Webanalyse Software econda. Diese läuft im Modus „Anonymisiertes Messen“.
Statistik

Diese Cookies helfen uns zu verstehen, wie Besucher mit unserer Webseite interagieren, indem Informationen anonym gesammelt und analysiert werden. Je nach Tool werden ein oder mehrere Cookies des Anbieters gesetzt.

Name econda
Zweck Measure with Visitor Cookie emos_jcvid
Externe Medien

Inhalte von Videoplattformen werden standardmäßig blockiert. Wenn Cookies von externen Medien akzeptiert werden, bedarf der Zugriff auf diese Inhalte keiner manuellen Zustimmung mehr.

Name Youtube
Zweck Externe Medien
Nachhaltigkeit

Nachhaltigkeit

Leitbild Nachhaltigkeit

Das DKFZ betreibt wegweisende Krebsforschung auf international höchstem Niveau. Unsere Arbeit soll dazu beitragen, Leben zu retten und die Lebensqualität von Betroffenen zu verbessern. Wir legen großen Wert auf nachhaltiges und klimabewusstes Arbeiten, Wirtschaften und Bauen und möchten ein umweltfreundliches und sozial gerechtes Arbeitsumfeld schaffen, das Spitzenleistungen in der Forschung unterstützt.

Nachhaltigkeit im Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ)

Kontakt

Hollyn Hartlep
Koordinatorin für Nachhaltigkeit
sustainability@dkfz.de 
+49 6221 42-2549

Das DKFZ ist sich der Bedeutung der Nachhaltigkeit und der Dringlichkeit von Klimaschutzmaßnahmen in der heutigen Zeit bewusst. Als größtes biomedizinisches Forschungsinstitut in Deutschland und Mitglied der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft Deutscher Forschungszentren hat sich das DKFZ zum Ziel gesetzt, exzellente Forschung auf umwelt- und sozialverträglichen Weise zu betreiben. Hierfür entwickelt das DKFZ eine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie, die sich an wissenschaftlich begründeten Zielen zur Reduzierung von Treibhausgasemissionen orientiert und Maßnahmen in den Bereichen Organisationsführung, Forschung, Personal, Gebäude und Infrastrukturen, Beschaffung und Mobilitätsmanagement umfasst. Grundlage der Strategie ist der Leitfaden Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement in außeruniversitären Forschungsorganisationen.

Krebs und Klimawandel

Die Zusammenhänge zwischen Krebs und Klimawandel sind eindeutig. Luftverschmutzung, ultraviolette Strahlung, Störungen in der Lebensmittel- und Wasserversorgung, Exposition gegenüber industriellen Giftstoffen und möglicherweise infektiöse Ursachen werden die Krebsforschung und -bekämpfung in der Zukunft beeinflussen (Hiatt & Beyeler, 2020).

Im DKFZ verstehen wir Klimaschutz als unsere moralische Verantwortung und als Teil unserer Mission für ein Leben ohne Krebs. Die durch den Klimaschutz erreichten Verbesserungen tragen dazu bei, eine Welt ohne Krebs zu erreichen. Daher sind wir bestrebt, unsere Forschungsaktivitäten und die Arbeit in unseren Laboren unter Berücksichtigung aktueller Erkenntnisse zum Klimaschutz durchzuführen.

Klimaneutralität

Die Bundesregierung hat sich das Ziel gesetzt, bis zum Jahr 2045 Klimaneutralität zu erreichen. In Anbetracht ihrer besonderen Verantwortung und Vorbildfunktion verfolgt die Allianz der Wissenschaftsorganisationen in Deutschland, zu deren Mitgliedern die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft und damit auch das DKFZ zählen, das ambitionierte Ziel, bereits bis 2035 in ihren Arbeitsweisen und Forschungsprozessen klimaneutral zu sein.

Weitere Initiativen

Die im Juli 2020 gegründete DKFZ-Nachhaltigkeitsgruppe ist eine Initiative von Mitarbeitenden, die sich für Nachhaltigkeit im Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum einsetzt. In verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen befassen sich die Mitglieder mit Themen wie Energie, Abfall und Ernährung und organisieren Kampagnen und Informationsveranstaltungen.

nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS