Cookie Settings

We use cookies to optimize our website. These include cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as those that are only used for anonymous statistic. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Further information can be found in our data privacy protection .

Essential

These cookies are necessary to run the core functionalities of this website and cannot be disabled.

Name Webedition CMS
Purpose This cookie is required by the CMS (Content Management System) Webedition for the system to function correctly. Typically, this cookie is deleted when the browser is closed.
Name econda
Purpose Session cookie emos_jcsid for the web analysis software econda. This runs in the “anonymized measurement” mode. There is no personal reference. As soon as the user leaves the site, tracking is ended and all data in the browser are automatically deleted.
Statistics

These cookies help us understand how visitors interact with our website by collecting and analyzing information anonymously. Depending on the tool, one or more cookies are set by the provider.

Name econda
Purpose Statistics
External media

Content from external video platforms is blocked by default. If cookies from external media are accepted, access to this content no longer requires manual consent.

Name Youtube
Purpose External media
Translational Functional Cancer Genomics

Research Group Translational Functional Cancer Genomics

Prof. Dr. Hanno Glimm / Dr. Sebastian Dieter

Our aim is to understand the implications of inter- and intratumoral heterogeneity and to identify novel strategies for personalized treatment approaches.
© dkfz.de

Profound patient specific differences in cancer-causing aberrations as well as functional heterogeneity within individual tumors pose major challenges for the development of mechanism-based strategies in clinical cancer care. To understand the implications of inter- and intratumoral heterogeneity for personalized treatment approaches scientists and physicians from the Translational Functional Cancer Genomics group study the genomic and functional properties of tumor-cell subpopulations. They use their insights gained from multi-dimensional analysis of individual tumor samples and functional testing of patientderived tumor models to identify and approve novel treatment strategies.

Specific cultures are generated from individual tumor samples of patients that receive comprehensive molecular profiling in the MASTER (Molecularly Aided Stratification for Tumor Eradication) program, to functionally characterize their properties. Using our strong background and expertise in the field of stem cell and molecular cancer biology, we investigate the clonality, heterogeneity and functional characteristics of patient specific primary tumors and their respective model systems, also addressing subpopulation dynamics in benign and malignant stem cell fractions. As tumor-initiating cells very often hijack regulatory mechanisms, which are strictly controlled in benign stem cell systems, we specifically implement high-throughput screening approaches together with state-of-the-art single cell analyses and mouse genetics to delineate critical and deregulated factors leading to tumor initiation, metastasis formation and therapy resistance. Identified mechanistic insights are translated into clinical treatment strategies whenever possible.

The group of Translational Functional Cancer Genomics in Heidelberg joins forces with researchers of the Department of Translational Medical Oncology in Dresden to combine complementary strengths of both NCT partner sides in shared translational research programs.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Hanno Glimm / Dr. Sebastian Dieter
Translational Functional Cancer Genomics (B280)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
und Nationales Centrum für Tumorerkrankungen (NCT)
Im Neuenheimer Feld 460
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 351 458-5540


Dr. Sebastian Dieter
E-Mail: sebastian.dieter (at) nct-heidelberg.de

Selected Publications

  • Wünsche P*, Eckert ESP*, Holland-Letz T, Paruzynski A, Hotz-Wagenblatt A, Fronza R, Rath T, Gil-Farina I, Schmidt M, von Kalle C, Klein C, Ball CR, Herbst F§, Glimm H§. (2018). Mapping Active Gene-Regulatory Regions in Human Repopulating Long-Term HSCs. Cell Stem Cell, 23, 132-146
  • Heining C*, Horak P*, Uhrig S*, Codo PL, Klink B, Hutter B, Fröhlich M, Bonekamp D, Richter D, Steiger K, Penzel R, Endris V, Ehrenberg KR, Frank S, Kleinheinz K, Toprak UH, Schlesner M, Mandal R, Schulz L, Lambertz H, Fetscher S, Bitzer M, Malek NP, Horger M, Giese NA, Strobel O, Hackert T, Springfeld C, Feuerbach L, Bergmann F, Schröck E, von Kalle C, Weichert W, Scholl C, Ball CR, Stenzinger A, Brors B, Fröhling S§, Glimm H§. (2018). NRG1 Fusions in KRAS Wild-Type Pancreatic Cancer. Cancer Discov., 8, 1087-1095
  • Giessler KM*, Kleinheinz K*, Huebschmann D, Balasubramanian GP, Dubash TD, Dieter SM, Siegl C, Herbst F, Weber S, Hoffmann CM, Fronza R, Buchhalter I, Paramasivam N, Eils R, Schmidt M, von Kalle C, Schneider M, Ulrich A, Scholl C, Fröhling S, Weichert W, Brors B, Schlesner M, Ball CR, Glimm H. (2017). Genetic subclone architecture of tumor clone-initiating cells in colorectal cancer. J Exp Med., 214, 2073-2088
  • Weischenfeldt J*, Dubash T*, Drainas AP*, Mardin BR, Chen Y, Stütz AM, Waszak SM, Bosco G, Halvorsen AR, Raeder B, Efthymiopoulos T, Erkek S, Siegl C, Brenner H, Brustugun OT, Dieter SM, Northcott PA, Petersen I, Pfister SM, Schneider M, Solberg SK, Thunissen E, Weichert W, Zichner T, Thomas R, Peifer M, Helland A, Ball CR, Jechlinger M, Sotillo R, Glimm H§, Korbel JO§. (2017). Pan-cancer analysis of somatic copy-number alterations implicates IRS4 and IGF2 in enhancer hijacking. Nat Genet., 49, 65-74
to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Cookie Hinweis

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen ein optimales Webseiten-Erlebnis zu bieten. Dazu zählen Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Seite notwendig sind, sowie solche, die lediglich zu anonymen Statistikzwecken, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte genutzt werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass auf Basis Ihrer Einstellungen womöglich nicht mehr alle Funktionalitäten der Seite zur Verfügung stehen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzhinweisen .

Essentiell

Diese Cookies sind für die Funktionalität unserer Website erforderlich und können nicht deaktiviert werden.

Name Webedition CMS
Zweck Dieses Cookie wird vom CMS (Content Management System) Webedition für die unverwechselbare Identifizierung eines Anwenders gesetzt. Es bietet dem Anwender bessere Bedienerführung, z.B. Speicherung von Sucheinstellungen oder Formulardaten. Typischerweise wird dieses Cookie beim Schließen des Browsers gelöscht.
Name econda
Zweck Session-Cookie für die Webanalyse Software econda. Diese läuft im Modus „Anonymisiertes Messen“.
Statistik

Diese Cookies helfen uns zu verstehen, wie Besucher mit unserer Webseite interagieren, indem Informationen anonym gesammelt und analysiert werden. Je nach Tool werden ein oder mehrere Cookies des Anbieters gesetzt.

Name econda
Zweck Measure with Visitor Cookie emos_jcvid
Externe Medien

Inhalte von Videoplattformen werden standardmäßig blockiert. Wenn Cookies von externen Medien akzeptiert werden, bedarf der Zugriff auf diese Inhalte keiner manuellen Zustimmung mehr.

Name Youtube
Zweck Externe Medien

Arbeitsgruppe Translationale funktionelle Krebsgenomik

Prof. Dr. Hanno Glimm / Dr. Sebastian Dieter

Um die Auswirkungen inter- und intratumoraler Heterogenität für personalisierte Behandlungsansätze zu verstehen und neuartige Behandlungsstrategien zu identifizieren, verwenden Wissenschaftler und Ärzte der Gruppe Translationale funktionelle Krebsgenomik ihre Erkenntnisse aus der mehrdimensionalen Analyse einzelner Tumorproben und aus funktionalen Untersuchungen von Patienten-abgeleiteten Tumormodellen.
© dkfz.de

Tiefgreifende patientenspezifische Unterschiede in Bezug auf krebsverursachende Veränderungen sowie funktionelle Heterogenität innerhalb einzelner Tumore stellen die Entwicklung mechanismusbasierter Strategien in der klinischen Krebsbehandlung vor große Herausforderungen. Um die Auswirkungen inter- und intratumoraler Heterogenität auf personalisierte Behandlungsansätze zu verstehen und anzuwenden, untersuchen Wissenschaftler und Ärzte der Gruppe Translationale funktionelle Krebsgenomik die genomischen und funktionellen Eigenschaften von Tumorzell-Subpopulationen. Sie nutzen ihre Erkenntnisse aus der mehrdimensionalen Analyse einzelner Tumorproben und Funktionstests von Patienten-abgeleiteten Tumormodellen, um neuartige Behandlungsstrategien zu identifizieren und zu validieren.

Aus Tumorproben von Patienten, welche im Rahmen des MASTER-Programms (Moleculary Aided Stratification for Tumor Eradication Research) ein umfassendes molekulares Profiling erhalten, werden individuelle Kulturen erzeugt, um funktionelle Eigenschaften zu untersuchen und Behandlungsstrategien zu testen. Mit unserem tiefgreifenden Fachwissen auf dem Gebiet der Stammzell- und molekularen Krebsbiologie untersuchen wir die Klonalität, Heterogenität sowie funktionellen Merkmale patientenspezifischer Primärtumore und der jeweiligen Modellsysteme. Dabei befassen wir uns besonders mit der klonalen Dynamik von einzelnen Subpopulationen in benignen und malignen Stammzellfraktionen. Tumorinitiierende Zellen benutzen sehr oft molekulare Mechanismen, die gutartige Stammzellsysteme regulieren, daher setzen wir gezielte Hochdurchsatz-Screening-Verfahren zusammen mit neuen Ansätzen aus der Einzelzellanalyse und Mausgenetik ein, um kritische und deregulierte Faktoren zu identifizieren, welche zu Tumorinitiierung, Metastasenbildung und Therapieresistenz führen. Verifizierte mechanistische Erkenntnisse werden wann immer möglich in klinische Behandlungsstrategien umgesetzt.

Die Gruppe Translationale funktionelle Krebsgenomik in Heidelberg arbeitet mit Wissenschaftlern der Abteilung Translationale Medizinische Onkologie in Dresden zusammen. So können beide NCT-Standorte ihre komplementären Stärken bei gemeinsamen translationalen Forschungsprogrammen erfolgreich einbringen.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Hanno Glimm / Dr. Sebastian Dieter
Translationale funktionelle Krebsgenomik (B280)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
und Nationales Centrum für Tumorerkrankungen (NCT)
Im Neuenheimer Feld 460
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 351 458-5540


Dr. Sebastian Dieter
E-Mail: sebastian.dieter (at) nct-heidelberg.de

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Wünsche P*, Eckert ESP*, Holland-Letz T, Paruzynski A, Hotz-Wagenblatt A, Fronza R, Rath T, Gil-Farina I, Schmidt M, von Kalle C, Klein C, Ball CR, Herbst F§, Glimm H§. (2018). Mapping Active Gene-Regulatory Regions in Human Repopulating Long-Term HSCs. Cell Stem Cell, 23, 132-146
  • Heining C*, Horak P*, Uhrig S*, Codo PL, Klink B, Hutter B, Fröhlich M, Bonekamp D, Richter D, Steiger K, Penzel R, Endris V, Ehrenberg KR, Frank S, Kleinheinz K, Toprak UH, Schlesner M, Mandal R, Schulz L, Lambertz H, Fetscher S, Bitzer M, Malek NP, Horger M, Giese NA, Strobel O, Hackert T, Springfeld C, Feuerbach L, Bergmann F, Schröck E, von Kalle C, Weichert W, Scholl C, Ball CR, Stenzinger A, Brors B, Fröhling S§, Glimm H§. (2018). NRG1 Fusions in KRAS Wild-Type Pancreatic Cancer. Cancer Discov., 8, 1087-1095
  • Giessler KM*, Kleinheinz K*, Huebschmann D, Balasubramanian GP, Dubash TD, Dieter SM, Siegl C, Herbst F, Weber S, Hoffmann CM, Fronza R, Buchhalter I, Paramasivam N, Eils R, Schmidt M, von Kalle C, Schneider M, Ulrich A, Scholl C, Fröhling S, Weichert W, Brors B, Schlesner M, Ball CR, Glimm H. (2017). Genetic subclone architecture of tumor clone-initiating cells in colorectal cancer. J Exp Med., 214, 2073-2088
  • Weischenfeldt J*, Dubash T*, Drainas AP*, Mardin BR, Chen Y, Stütz AM, Waszak SM, Bosco G, Halvorsen AR, Raeder B, Efthymiopoulos T, Erkek S, Siegl C, Brenner H, Brustugun OT, Dieter SM, Northcott PA, Petersen I, Pfister SM, Schneider M, Solberg SK, Thunissen E, Weichert W, Zichner T, Thomas R, Peifer M, Helland A, Ball CR, Jechlinger M, Sotillo R, Glimm H§, Korbel JO§. (2017). Pan-cancer analysis of somatic copy-number alterations implicates IRS4 and IGF2 in enhancer hijacking. Nat Genet., 49, 65-74
nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS