Molecular Oncology of Gastrointestinal Tumors

Division of Molecular Oncology of Gastrointestinal Tumors

Prof. Dr. Rienk Offringa

With respect to the development of therapeutic strategies against pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma, the most common type of pancreatic cancer, it is important to realize that most (>50%) of the tumor volume consists of stroma. This is rich in activated fibroblasts and, depending on the individual tumor, can also be infiltrated by CD3+ lymphocytes (CD3 IHC). Image: : E. Ryschich, University of Heidelberg

The Division Molecular Oncology of Gastrointestinal Tumors was founded in 2011 with support from the K.H. Bauer Foundation. The decision to direct research efforts to pancreatic cancer was based on the urgent unmet medical need this disease represents, with incidence and mortality rates still being almost equal, and the fact that Heidelberg University hosts the European Pancreas Center, one of the world’s leading clinics for the treatment of pancreatic cancer.

Our research aims at the implementation of immunotherapy in conjunction with surgery, chemotherapy and/or small molecule inhibitors. The choice for immunotherapy was inspired by recent successes with this approach in the clinic for other cancers, as well as emerging pre-clinical evidence that redirection of immune pathways is one of the most promising avenues towards more effective non-surgical treatment of pancreatic cancer.

Our therapeutic strategy primarily involves two approaches:

  • Stimulation of the endogenous immune potential, in particular in the tumor stroma, by means of agonist immunostimulatory monoclonal antibodies
  • Exploitation of the most powerful mode of immunotherapy: infusion of ex vivo engineered autologous T-lymphocytes.

Patient-based research is supported by the excellent availability of patient biopsies, including the tissue that represents the interface between tumor and immune system: tumor-draining lymph nodes. Our research in mice focuses on genetically engineered, autochthonous tumor models.

It is essential that our research does not stop at the threshold between lab and clinic. This is why we, together with our partners in the university clinic and at the National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT), are setting up a pipeline for rationally designed clinical trials in pancreatic cancer. Biomarker research constitutes a pivotal aspect of this rational design, both with respect to patient stratification and evaluation of therapy efficacy.

Initial studies will be staged in patients with non-resectable pancreatic cancer, for which median survival time is ~6 months. Since this leaves insufficient time to boost endogenous T-cell immunity, our approach focuses on boosting endogenous innate immunity or, alternatively, replenishing the patient’s immune system with ex vivo engineered autologous T-cells. Since the median survival time of patients diagnosed with resectable disease is ~1.5 years, modulation of endogenous T-cell immunity will be considered in this patient group.

Although phase I safety studies generally involve end stage patients, it is important that further studies aimed at harnessing the endogenous immune response are implemented in the context of first-line treatment, before the patient’s immune system has deteriorated due to progressive disease and cytotoxic anti-cancer regimens. In practical terms, this currently means combination with standard of care chemotherapy (gemcitabine) for non-resectable disease, and (neo)adjuvant treatment for resectable disease.


Prof. Dr. Rienk Offringa
Molecular Oncology of Gastrointestinal Tumors (G180)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221-423140

Selected Publications

  • Oliveira CC, van Veelen PA, Querido B, de Ru A, Sluijter M, Laban S, Drijfhout JW, van der Burg SH, van Hall *, Offringa R* (2010). The nonpolymorphic MHC Qa-1b mediates CD8+ T cell surveillance of antigen-processing defects. J Exp Med, 207, 207-21
  • Offringa R. (2009). Antigen choice in adoptive T-cell therapy of cancer. Curr Opin Immunol, 21, 190-9
  • Bos R, van Duikeren S, Morreau H, Franken K, Schumacher TN, Haanen JB, van der Burg SH, Melief CJ, Offringa R. (2008). Balancing between antitumor efficacy and autoimmune pathology in T-cell-mediated targeting of carcinoembryonic antigen. Cancer Res, 68, 8446-55
  • van Hall T, Wolpert EZ, van Veelen P, Laban S, van der Veer M, Roseboom M, Bres S, Grufman P, de Ru A, Meiring H, de Jong A, Franken K, Teixeira A, Valentijn R, Drijfhout JW, Koning F, Camps M, Ossendorp F, Karre K, Ljunggren HG, Melief CJ, Offringa R. (2006). Selective cytotoxic T-lymphocyte targeting of tumor immune escape variants. Nat Med, 12, 417-24
to top

Molekulare Grundlagen Gastrointestinaler Tumoren

Abteilung Molekulare Grundlagen Gastrointestinaler Tumoren

Prof. Dr. Rienk Offringa

Im Hinblick auf die Entwicklung neuer therapeutischer Strategien zur Behandlung des duktalen Adenokarzinoms des Pankreas, der häufigsten Form von Bauchspeicheldrüsenkrebs, ist es wichtig zu wissen, dass der größte Teil (> 50%) des Tumors aus Stroma besteht. Das Stroma ist reich an aktivierten Fibroblasten und kann, abhängig vom individuellen Tumor, auch durch CD3+ Lymphozyten infiltriert werden (CD3 IHC). Bild: : E. Ryschich, Universität Heidelberg
© dkfz.de

Die Abteilung Molekulare Grundlagen Gastrointestinaler Tumoren wurde im Jahr 2011 mit Unterstützung der K.H. Bauer-Stiftung gegründet. Sie ist mit dem Europäischen Pankreas Zentrum der Universität Heidelberg, das zu den führenden Pankreaskliniken der Welt gehört, assoziiert. Unsere Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung neuer Therapien gegen Pankreaskarzinom, für das noch immer keine befriedigenden Therapiemöglichkeiten existieren.

Insbesondere bemühen wir uns um die klinische Anwendung der Immuntherapie, in Kombination mit Chirurgie, Chemotherapie und/oder niedermolekularen Inhibitoren. Jüngste klinische Erfolge dieser Ansätze bei anderen Krebsarten sowie neue Ergebnisse aus der präklinischen Forschung sprechen dafür, dass die Immuntherapie einen der vielversprechendsten Wege zu einer effizienteren nicht-chirurgischen Behandlung von Pankreaskarzinom darstellt.

Wir wollen zwei therapeutische Strategien untersuchen:

  • Stimulation des endogenen Immunpotenzials, insbesondere des Tumor-Stromas, durch agonistische immunstimulatorische monoklonale Antikörper.
  • Nutzung der stärksten Form der Immuntherapie: die Infusion von ex vivo manipulierten autologen T-Lymphozyten.


Eine hohe Verfügbarkeit von durch Patientenbiopsien gewonnenem Gewebe, darunter Tumor-drainierende Lymphknoten (dieses Gewebe stellt die Schnittstelle zwischen Tumor und Immunsystem dar), kommt der auf den Patienten gerichteten Forschung zugute. Für Untersuchungen in Mäusen verwenden wir genetische Tumormodelle.

Es ist wichtig, dass unsere Forschung nicht an der Schwelle zwischen Labor und Klinik aufhört. Deshalb arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit den klinischen Partnern und dem Nationalen Centrum für Tumorerkrankungen (NCT) am raschen Transfer von grundlagenwissenschaftlichen Konzepten in die Klinik. Dies wird durch klinische Studien erreicht. Die Biomarkerforschung ist hierbei ein Schlüsselaspekt, sowohl in Bezug auf die Einteilung der Patienten in risikoangepasste Behandlungsgruppen (Stratifizierung), als auch bei der Bewertung der Wirksamkeit von Therapien.

Anfangs werden klinische Studien mit Patienten mit nicht resektablem Pankreaskarzinom, die ein medianes Überleben von ca. sechs Monaten haben, durchgeführt. Da diese Zeit zu kurz ist, um die endogene T-Zell-Immunität zu erhöhen, konzentriert sich unser Ansatz auf die Förderung der angeborenen Immunität und die Infusion von ex vivo manipulierten T-Zellen. In Patienten mit resektablem Karzinom (medianes Überleben ca. 24 Monate) führen wir auch eine Anpassung der endogenen T-Zell-Immunität durch.

Obwohl Phase-I-Studien zur Anwendbarkeit eines Medikamentes in der Regel in Palliativsituationen durchgeführt werden, ist es wichtig zu erkennen, ob Strategien zur Steigerung der endogenen Immunität im Rahmen der First-Line-Behandlung sinnvoll sind. Es sollte vermieden werden, dass das Immunsystem des Patienten zum Zeitpunkt der immunmodulatorischen Therapie aufgrund einer fortgeschrittenen Krankheit und/oder zytotoxischen Anti-Krebs-Therapie zu geschwächt ist.

Die weiterführenden Seiten sind nur auf Englisch verfügbar.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Rienk Offringa
Molekulare Grundlagen Gastrointestinaler Tumoren (G180)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221-423140

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Oliveira CC, van Veelen PA, Querido B, de Ru A, Sluijter M, Laban S, Drijfhout JW, van der Burg SH, van Hall *, Offringa R* (2010). The nonpolymorphic MHC Qa-1b mediates CD8+ T cell surveillance of antigen-processing defects. J Exp Med, 207, 207-21
  • Offringa R. (2009). Antigen choice in adoptive T-cell therapy of cancer. Curr Opin Immunol, 21, 190-9
  • Bos R, van Duikeren S, Morreau H, Franken K, Schumacher TN, Haanen JB, van der Burg SH, Melief CJ, Offringa R. (2008). Balancing between antitumor efficacy and autoimmune pathology in T-cell-mediated targeting of carcinoembryonic antigen. Cancer Res, 68, 8446-55
  • van Hall T, Wolpert EZ, van Veelen P, Laban S, van der Veer M, Roseboom M, Bres S, Grufman P, de Ru A, Meiring H, de Jong A, Franken K, Teixeira A, Valentijn R, Drijfhout JW, Koning F, Camps M, Ossendorp F, Karre K, Ljunggren HG, Melief CJ, Offringa R. (2006). Selective cytotoxic T-lymphocyte targeting of tumor immune escape variants. Nat Med, 12, 417-24
nach oben