Neuroimmunology and Brain Tumor Immunology

Clinical Cooperation Unit Neuroimmunology and Brain Tumor Immunology

Prof. Dr. med. Michael Platten

© dkfz.de

The central nervous system (CNS) is considered an immune privileged organ, where immune responses are tightly controlled through an intensive cross-talk with the peripheral immune system despite the blood-brain barrier. Imbalance of such immune control is a hallmark of CNS autoimmunity, while on the other hand, active immunosuppression in the tumor microenvironment of CNS tumors like gliomas hampers effective antitumor immune responses. Our group aims at developing and improving immune therapeutic approaches to target brain tumors by understanding molecular mechanisms of immunosuppression and exploiting novel immunotherapeutic treatment modalities. With expertise in comprehensive cellular and imaging-based analysis of tumor microenvironments, transcriptomics, and immunoreceptor profiling and utilization, and using clinical samples and mouse models, we strongly focus on clinical translation.

In the past years we have identified immunosuppressive functions and mechanisms of key metabolites that are produced by brain tumors. The discovery that TDO-derived tryptophan metabolites (kynurenines) drive growth of brain tumors and immunosuppression via the activation of the aryl hydrocarbon receptor (AHR) opened the way to novel therapeutic targets and implied further questions which we currently address using tumor models. A central goal is the identification of drugs interfering with tryptophan catabolism as potential therapeutics for malignant glioma. Our findings that IDH-mutant glioma cell-derived 2HG actively and directly inhibits adaptive cellular and innate immune responses by affecting immune cell function in the tumor microenvironment pave the way towards novel concepts of immunotherapeutic combination treatments which we are currently investigating in preclinical animal glioma models and chaperoning on their clinical translation.

A second line of investigations addresses the discovery of novel target antigens and T cell receptors for targeted immunotherapy of gliomas. Using an MHC-humanized syngeneic mouse tumor model we have shown therapeutic efficacy of an IDH1 mutation-specific vaccine, providing the first evidence that mutation-specific T helper cell responses are capable to control solid tumors. On that basis we have successfully completed a phase I clinical trial to test immunogenicity and tolerability of this vaccine in brain tumor patients, showing strong immunogenicity, enhanced pseudoprogression as a surrogate marker for immune cell infiltration and successful anti-tumor immune response, and IDH1 mutation-specific T cells infiltrating into this post-vaccine lesion. Ongoing projects now focus on identification of further mutational antigens for specific immunotherapy and on specific TCR discovery for use in transgenic T cell therapy for glioma patients. Here, our main focus lays on long-neglected CD4+ T helper cells. In this regard, a workflow for the development of a patient-specific targeted immunotherapy for patients with gliomas based on mutanome analyses and T cell receptor identification as well as an MHC-humanized mouse glioma model for preclinical testing have been developed. Bioinformatics-based approaches for tumor-infiltrating reactive T cell selection for such TCR discovery based on high throughput state-of-the-art single cell RNA, single cell VDJ, as well as TCRbeta deep sequencing, are boosting these processes and progress.

Contact

Prof. Dr. med. Michael Platten
Neuroimmunology and Brain Tumor Immunology (D170)
Tel: +49 621 3832885
Fax: +49 621 3833807


Ärztlicher Direktor
Neurologische Klinik
Translationale Neurowissenschaften
Universitätsmedizin Mannheim
Universität Heidelberg
Theodor-Kutzer-Ufer 1-3
68167 Mannheim

Selected Publications

  • Platten M, Bunse L, Wick A, Bunse T, Cornet LL, Harting I, Sahm F, Sanghvi K, Tan CL, Poschke I, Green E, Justesen S, Behrens GA, Breckwoldt MO, Freitag A, Rother LM, Schmitt A, Schnell O, Hense J, Misch M, Krex D, Stevanovic S, Tabatabai G, Steinbach JP, Bendszus M, von Deimling A, Schmitt M, Wick W. A vaccine targeting mutant IDH1 in newly diagnosed glioma. Nature 2021. DOI: 10.1038/s41586-021-03363-z.
  • Aslan K, Turco V, Blobner J, Sonner JK, Liuzzi AR, Núñez NG, De Feo D, Kickingereder P, Fischer M, Green E, Sadik A, Friedrich M, Sanghvi K, Kilian M, Cichon F, Wolf L, Jähne K, von Landenberg A, Bunse L, Sahm F, Schrimpf D, Meyer J, Alexander A, Brugnara G, Röth R, Pfleiderer K, Niesler B, von Deimling A, Opitz C, Breckwoldt MO, Heiland S, Bendszus M, Wick W, Becher B, Platten M. Heterogeneity of response to immune checkpoint blockade in hypermutated experimental gliomas. Nat Commun. 2020 Feb 18;11(1):931. doi: 10.1038/s41467-020-14642-0.PMID: 32071302 Free PMC article.
  • Bunse L, Pusch S, Bunse T, Sahm F, Sanghvi K, Friedrich M, Alansary D, Sonner JK, Green E, Deumelandt K, Kilian M, Neftel C, Uhlig S0, Kessler T, von Landenberg A, Berghoff AS, Marsh K, Steadman M, Zhu D, Nicolay B, Wiestler B, Breckwoldt MO, Al-Ali R, Karcher-Bausch S, Bozza M, Oezen I, Kramer M, Meyer J, Habel A, Eisel J, Poschet G, Weller M, Preusser M, Nadji-Ohl M, Thon N, Burger MC, Harter PN, Ratliff M, Harbottle R, Benner A, Schrimpf D, Okun J, Herold-Mende C, Turcan S, Kaulfuss S, Hess-Stumpp H, Bieback K, Cahill DP, Plate KH, Hänggi D, Dorsch M, Suvà ML, Niemeyer BA, von Deimling A, Wick W, Platten M. Suppression of antitumor T cell immunity by the oncometabolite (R)-2-hydroxyglutarate. Nat Med. 2018 Aug;24(8):1192-1203. doi: 10.1038/s41591-018-0095-6. Epub 2018 Jul 9.
  • Schumacher T, Bunse L, Pusch S, Sahm F, Wiestler B, Quandt J, Menn O, Osswald M, Oezen I, Ott M, Keil M, Balß J, Rauschenbach K, Grabowska AG, Vogler I, Diekmann J, Trautwein N, Eichmüller SB, Okun J, Stevanovic S, Riemer AB, Sahin U, Friese MA, Beckhove P, von Deimling A, Wick W, Platten M. A vaccine targeting mutant IDH1 induces antitumor immunity. Nature. 2014 Aug 21;512(7514):324-7. doi: 10.1038/nature13387.
to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Neuroimmunologie und Hirntumorimmunologie

Klinische Kooperationseinheit Neuroimmunologie und Hirntumorimmunologie

Prof. Dr. med. Michael Platten

© dkfz.de

Das Zentralnervensystem (ZNS) wird als ein immunprivilegiertes Organ betrachtet, in dem Immunantworten trotz der Blut-Hirn-Schranke über einen intensiven Austausch mit dem peripheren Immunsystem streng kontrolliert werden. Durch ein Ungleichgewicht dieser Immunregulation kann es zu Autoimmunität im ZNS kommen, während demgegenüber eine aktive Immunsuppression im Mikromilieu von ZNS Tumoren wie Gliomen effektive Immunantworten zur Tumorbekämpfung unterdrückt. Unsere Gruppe entwickelt und verbessert immuntherapeutische Ansätze zur Bekämpfung von Hirntumoren mithilfe der Analyse molekularer Mechanismen der Immunsuppression und indem wir neuartige immuntherapeutische Behandlungsmodalitäten nutzen. Unsere Expertise liegt in umfassender zellulärer und auf Bildgebung basierender Analyse der Tumormikromilieus, Transcriptomics, sowie Profiling und Nutzung von Immunrezeptoren, sowohl in Mausmodellen und anhand von klinischen Proben. Unser zentraler Fokus ist die klinische Translation.

In den letzten Jahren haben wir immunsuppressive Funktionen und Mechanismen zweier von Hirntumoren produzierter Schlüssel-Metabolite identifiziert. Unsere Entdeckung, dass Tryptophanmetabolite (Kynurenine) Tumorwachstum und Immunsuppression durch die Aktivierung des Arylhydrocarbonrezeptors (AhR) vermitteln, ermöglichte die Nutzung neuer therapeutischer Zielstrukturen. Nachfolgende Analysen in Tumormodellen laufen, in denen wir das zentrale Ziel verfolgen, Pharmazeutika zu identifizieren, die in den Tryptophankatabolismus eingreifen, um so potentielle Therapeutika für maligne Gliome zu entwickeln. Weiterhin haben wir gezeigt, dass 2-Hydroxyglutarat, das durch IDH-Mutationen von Gliomzellen produziert wird, direkt adaptive zelluläre Immunantworten, aber auch das inerte Immunsystem im Mikromilieu des Hirntumors inhibiert. Diese Erkenntnisse ebnen den Weg zu neuartigen Konzepten der immuntherapeutischen Kombinationstherapie, die wir momentan in präklinischen Gliommodellen untersuchen und in ihre klinische Translation begleiten.

Zentrales weiteres Ziel unserer Untersuchungen ist es, neuartige Zielstrukturen und T-Zellrezeptoren für die gezielte Immuntherapie von Gliomen zu entdecken. In einem MHC humanisierten Maustumormodell haben wir therapeutische Effizienz einer mutationsspezifischen Vakzine gegen die mutierte IDH1 gezeigt und somit den ersten Beweis geliefert, dass mutationsspezifische T-Helferzell-Antworten in der Lage sind, solide Tumoren zu kontrollieren. Auf dieser Basis haben wir eine klinische Phase I Studie erfolgreich durchgeführt, um Sicherheit, Immunogenität und Verträglichkeit dieser Vakzine in Hirntumorpatienten zu testen. In dieser Studie konnten wir starke Immunogenität, eine erhöhte Rate an Pseudoprogression, einen Surrogatmarker für Immunzellinfiltration und erfolgreiche gegen den Tumor gerichtete Immunantworten sowie für die IDH1 Mutation spezifische T-Zellen, die in diese post-Vakzin Läsion infiltrieren, nachweisen. Laufende Projekte sind nun auf die Identifikation weiterer mutierter Antigene für die spezifische Immuntherapie und auf die Entdeckung spezifischer T-Zellrezeptoren (TZR) für die transgene T-Zelltherapie für Gliompatienten fokussiert. Unser Fokus liegt hierbei weiterhin bei CD4+ T-Helferzellen, die lange Zeit bezüglich ihrer Rolle bei der Immuntherapie vernachlässigt wurden. Hierfür haben wir einen Arbeitsablauf zur Entwicklung einer patientenspezifischen zielgerichteten Immuntherapie für Patienten mit Gliomen auf der Basis von Mutanomanalysen und der Identifikation von TZR, sowie ein MHC-humanisiertes murines Gliommodell zur präklinischen Evaluation entwickelt. Bioinformatische Selektion reaktiver, in den Tumor infiltrierender T-Zellen zur TZR-Identifikation, basierend auf moderner Hochdurchsatz-Einzelzell-RNA-Sequenzierung, Einzelzell-VDJ-Sequenzierung sowie TZR-beta deep Sequenzierung, treiben diese Prozesse an und fördern ihre Entwicklung.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. med. Michael Platten
Neuroimmunologie und Hirntumorimmunologie (D170)
Tel: +49 621 3832885
Fax: +49 621 3833807


Ärztlicher Direktor
Neurologische Klinik
Translationale Neurowissenschaften
Universitätsmedizin Mannheim
Universität Heidelberg
Theodor-Kutzer-Ufer 1-3
68167 Mannheim

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Platten M, Bunse L, Wick A, Bunse T, Cornet LL, Harting I, Sahm F, Sanghvi K, Tan CL, Poschke I, Green E, Justesen S, Behrens GA, Breckwoldt MO, Freitag A, Rother LM, Schmitt A, Schnell O, Hense J, Misch M, Krex D, Stevanovic S, Tabatabai G, Steinbach JP, Bendszus M, von Deimling A, Schmitt M, Wick W. A vaccine targeting mutant IDH1 in newly diagnosed glioma. Nature 2021. DOI: 10.1038/s41586-021-03363-z.
  • Aslan K, Turco V, Blobner J, Sonner JK, Liuzzi AR, Núñez NG, De Feo D, Kickingereder P, Fischer M, Green E, Sadik A, Friedrich M, Sanghvi K, Kilian M, Cichon F, Wolf L, Jähne K, von Landenberg A, Bunse L, Sahm F, Schrimpf D, Meyer J, Alexander A, Brugnara G, Röth R, Pfleiderer K, Niesler B, von Deimling A, Opitz C, Breckwoldt MO, Heiland S, Bendszus M, Wick W, Becher B, Platten M. Heterogeneity of response to immune checkpoint blockade in hypermutated experimental gliomas. Nat Commun. 2020 Feb 18;11(1):931. doi: 10.1038/s41467-020-14642-0.PMID: 32071302 Free PMC article.
  • Bunse L, Pusch S, Bunse T, Sahm F, Sanghvi K, Friedrich M, Alansary D, Sonner JK, Green E, Deumelandt K, Kilian M, Neftel C, Uhlig S0, Kessler T, von Landenberg A, Berghoff AS, Marsh K, Steadman M, Zhu D, Nicolay B, Wiestler B, Breckwoldt MO, Al-Ali R, Karcher-Bausch S, Bozza M, Oezen I, Kramer M, Meyer J, Habel A, Eisel J, Poschet G, Weller M, Preusser M, Nadji-Ohl M, Thon N, Burger MC, Harter PN, Ratliff M, Harbottle R, Benner A, Schrimpf D, Okun J, Herold-Mende C, Turcan S, Kaulfuss S, Hess-Stumpp H, Bieback K, Cahill DP, Plate KH, Hänggi D, Dorsch M, Suvà ML, Niemeyer BA, von Deimling A, Wick W, Platten M. Suppression of antitumor T cell immunity by the oncometabolite (R)-2-hydroxyglutarate. Nat Med. 2018 Aug;24(8):1192-1203. doi: 10.1038/s41591-018-0095-6. Epub 2018 Jul 9.
  • Schumacher T, Bunse L, Pusch S, Sahm F, Wiestler B, Quandt J, Menn O, Osswald M, Oezen I, Ott M, Keil M, Balß J, Rauschenbach K, Grabowska AG, Vogler I, Diekmann J, Trautwein N, Eichmüller SB, Okun J, Stevanovic S, Riemer AB, Sahin U, Friese MA, Beckhove P, von Deimling A, Wick W, Platten M. A vaccine targeting mutant IDH1 induces antitumor immunity. Nature. 2014 Aug 21;512(7514):324-7. doi: 10.1038/nature13387.
nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS