Cookie Settings

We use cookies to optimize our website. These include cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as those that are only used for anonymous statistic. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Further information can be found in our data privacy protection .

Essential

These cookies are necessary to run the core functionalities of this website and cannot be disabled.

Name Webedition CMS
Purpose This cookie is required by the CMS (Content Management System) Webedition for the system to function correctly. Typically, this cookie is deleted when the browser is closed.
Name econda
Purpose Session cookie emos_jcsid for the web analysis software econda. This runs in the “anonymized measurement” mode. There is no personal reference. As soon as the user leaves the site, tracking is ended and all data in the browser are automatically deleted.
Statistics

These cookies help us understand how visitors interact with our website by collecting and analyzing information anonymously. Depending on the tool, one or more cookies are set by the provider.

Name econda
Purpose Statistics
External media

Content from external media platforms is blocked by default. If cookies from external media are accepted, access to this content no longer requires manual consent.

Name YouTube
Purpose Show YouTube content
Name Twitter
Purpose activate Twitter Feeds

Emmy Noether Junior Research Group Precision Sarcoma Research

Dr. Priya Chudasama

Click to enlarge
© dkfz.de

Sarcomas are mesenchymal malignancies of the connective tissues, which include fat, blood vessels, nerves, bone, muscles, deep skin tissues and cartilage. Sarcomas are mainly divided into two types, bone sarcoma and soft-tissue sarcoma. Sarcomas display remarkable genetic and histologic diversity, as reflected by more than 70 subtypes according to the World Health Organization Classification, which in turn poses significant diagnostic and therapeutic difficulties. Numerous clinical trials have shown that in advanced-stage sarcoma, conventional chemotherapy may provide symptom palliation and delay disease progression but does not prolong survival, which typically ranges from 11 to 15 months after the development of distant metastases. Despite these clinical challenges, sarcomas remain grossly underresearched. In particular, “actionable” lesions that allow prediction of response to conventional or targeted anti-cancer drugs and/or represent direct targets for therapeutic intervention are lacking in the majority of cases due to incomplete understanding of the events that drive sarcoma development.

The Precision Sarcoma Research group funded by the Emmy Noether Program of the German Research Foundation (DFG) has been established with the aim to better understand the molecular alterations underlying tumor development and to identify novel targets for precision cancer therapy. This is achieved by systematic investigation of the genomic, epigenomic, transcriptomic and immunologic landscapes of a large cohort of prospectively collected and clinically annotated primary human sarcoma specimens employing state-of-the-art technologies, followed by functional and mechanistic investigations of selected aberrations using suitable model systems and genome-editing methods (RNA interference, CRISPR/Cas9). Within the NCT Molecular Diagnostics Program, in particular the NCT/German Cancer Consortium (DKTK) MASTER (Molecularly Aided Stratification for Tumor Eradication) registry trial, more than 700 patient tumors encompassing about 55 sarcoma sub-entities contributed by multiple DKTK centers have been processed by next-generation sequencing technologies, allowing for pan-sarcoma and subtype-specific analyses, representing a unique resource in terms of number of tumors and diversity of subtypes to perform multi-level characterization of these tumors. Preclinical investigation of genetic lesions of interest is also enabled by a panel of sarcoma cell lines and organoids representing 11 sub-entities, a resource that is continuously expanded using freshly acquired tumor material.

Our previous work identified several distinctive features of sarcomas (see publications). We are currently pursuing the following objectives:

  • Investigation of perturbed telomere maintenance mechanisms in sarcomas
  • Integrative analysis of deregulated epigenetic mechanisms in sarcomas
  • Targeting sarcoma drivers using drug-induced protein degradation
  • Inquiry of the immune landscape of sarcomas to identify entry points for individualized immunotherapeutic approaches
These studies will improve the understanding of sarcomagenesis and identify targets for biological stratification and molecular mechanism-guided therapeutic intervention.

Contact

Dr. Priya Chudasama
Precision Sarcoma Research (B390)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 581
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42-1600

Selected Publications

  • Chudasama, P., Mughal, S.S et.al (2018). Integrative genomic and transcriptomic analysis of leiomyosarcoma, Nature Communications, 9(1):144.
  • Chudasama, P., Renner, M et.al (2017). Targeting fibroblast growth factor receptor 1 for treatment of soft-tissue sarcoma, Clinical Cancer Research, 23(4):962-973.
to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Emmy Noether-Nachwuchsgruppe Präzisions-Sarkomforschung

Dr. Priya Chudasama

Prospektiv gesammelte und klinisch annotierte primäre menschliche Sarkomproben werden durch den Einsatz modernster Technologien charakterisiert, gefolgt von einer Untersuchung der funktionalen und mechanistischen Konsequenzen ausgewählter Veränderungen. Potenziell "umsetzbare" Ziele werden für von Forschern initiierte klinische Studien mit biologisch geführten Sarkom-Behandlungen herangezogen.
© dkfz.de

Sarkome sind maligne, mesenchymale Tumoren des Bindegewebes, wie beispielsweise Fettgewebe, Blutgefäße, Nerven, Knochen, Muskeln, tiefes Hautgewebe und Knorpel, und werden in Knochensarkome und Weichteilsarkome eingeteilt. Sarkome weisen eine bemerkenswerte genetische und histologische Vielfalt auf, was sich in der Klassifikation der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) in mehr als 70 Subtypen widerspiegelt. Dies wiederum bringt erhebliche diagnostische und therapeutische Schwierigkeiten mit sich. Zahlreiche klinische Studien haben gezeigt, dass die konventionelle Chemotherapie beim fortgeschrittenen Sarkom Symptomlinderung bewirkt und das Fortschreiten der Erkrankung verzögern kann, das Überleben der Patienten jedoch nicht verlängert wird, welches in der Regel zwischen 11 und 15 Monaten nach der Entwicklung von Fernmetastasen liegt. Trotz dieser klinischen Relevanz sind Sarkome nach wie vor unzureichend erforscht. Insbesondere fehlen in der Mehrzahl der Fälle aufgrund des unvollständigen Verständnisses der Entwicklung von Sarkomen zelluläre Marker, die ein Ansprechen auf konventionelle oder gezielte Krebsmedikamente vorhersagen und / oder selbst therapeutische Angriffspunkte darstellen.

Die vom Emmy Noether-Programm der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) finanzierte Präzisions-Sarkom-Forschungsgruppe wurde mit dem Ziel gegründet, die molekularen Veränderungen, die der Sarkomentwicklung zugrunde liegen, besser zu verstehen und neue Ziele für die Präzisionskrebstherapie zu identifizieren. Dies wird durch eine systematische Untersuchung der genomischen, epigenomischen, transkriptomischen und immunologischen Landschaft vieler prospektiv gesammelter und klinisch annotierter Sarkomproben unter Verwendung modernster Technologien erreicht. Ergänzend führen wir funktionale und mechanistische Untersuchungen ausgewählter Aberrationen mittels geeigneter Modellsysteme und Genom-Editing-Methoden (RNA-Interferenz, CRISPR / Cas9) durch. Im Rahmen des NCT „Molecular Diagnostics“-Programms, insbesondere der Registrierungsstudie NCT / German Cancer Consortium (DKTK) MASTER (Molecularly Aided Stratification for Tumor Eradication), wurden die Genome von ca. 55 Sarkom-Subtypen von mehr als 700 Patienten, die in mehreren DKTK-Zentren behandelt wurden, durch modernste Next-Generation Sequenzierungstechnologien analysiert. Die genetischen Daten ermöglichen Pan-Sarkom- und Subtyp-spezifische Analysen und sind eine einzigartige Ressource in Bezug auf die Anzahl der Tumoren und die Vielfalt der Subtypen, um diese Tumoren im Detail zu charakterisieren. Die präklinische Untersuchung von krankheitsrelevanten genetischen Veränderungen wird auch durch eine große Sammlung von Sarkomzelllinien und -organoiden ermöglicht, die kontinuierlich aus frisch gewonnenem Tumormaterial erweitert wird.

In früheren Untersuchungen haben wir mehrere charakteristische Merkmale von Sarkomen identifiziert (siehe Publikationen). Wir verfolgen derzeit folgende Ziele:

  • Untersuchung von gestörten Mechanismen zur Aufrechterhaltung von Telomeren bei Sarkomen
  • Integrative Analyse deregulierter epigenetischer Mechanismen bei Sarkomen
  • Zielgerichteter Abbau von essentiellen Proteinen beim Sarkom durch Medikamente
  • Untersuchung der Immunlandschaft von Sarkomen zur Identifizierung von Angriffspunkten für individualisierte immuntherapeutische Ansätze
Diese Studien tragen dazu bei, die Sarkomentstehung besser zu verstehen, Marker für die biologische Patienten-Stratifizierung zu ermitteln, und Ziele für einen therapeutischen Eingriff basierend auf molekularen Mechanismen zu identifizieren.

Kontakt

Dr. Priya Chudasama
Präzisions-Sarkomforschung (B390)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 581
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42-1600

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Chudasama, P., Mughal, S.S et.al (2018). Integrative genomic and transcriptomic analysis of leiomyosarcoma, Nature Communications, 9(1):144.
  • Chudasama, P., Renner, M et.al (2017). Targeting fibroblast growth factor receptor 1 for treatment of soft-tissue sarcoma, Clinical Cancer Research, 23(4):962-973.
nach oben