15 + 15 = 35

15 projects at the 15th DKFZ-MOST Partnership Workshop35 years of German-Israeli cooperation in cancer research

Some 35 researchers and doctoral students traveled from Israel to participate in the annual DKFZ-MOST Partnership workshop. Together with their DKFZ colleagues, they discussed the current status of their collaboration and reported the progress in their joint projects in cancer-relevant basic research. They utilized their time in Heidelberg from March 10 – 13 to deepen the German-Israeli partnership and friendships.

The highpoint this year was the symposium in the Alte Aula of Heidelberg University to mark the 35th year of the cooperation and to take leave from Prof. Dr. Wolfhard Semmler as the national coordinator of the DKFZ-MOST Program. His contributions to the formation and continued development of the program was acknowledged by Prof. Otmar Wiestler in his welcoming speech, as well as by the Israeli Minister for Research Prof. Daniel Herschkowitz in his and the program member Prof. Varda Rotter from the Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot in her tribute. This was also echoed by the current coordinators Prof. Peter Angel and Dr. Ahmi Ben-Yehuda in their speeches. They are looking forward to continuing the successful work in the future.

The breadth of the cooperation program was revealed by Prof. Peter Krammer during an overview of the projects at his lab and in the keynote lecture given by Prof. Fabian Kießling entitled “Molecular imaging and theranostics at present:the fruits of a pioneer´s work”.

To further enhance scientific exchange between both countries, an annual German-Israeli Cancer Research School takes place. This affords ten post-docs and ten doctoral students from both countries the opportunity to discuss current topics in cancer research with internationally recognized experts in the field. The 6th German-Israeli Cancer Research School is planned for November 2013 in Israel. The central theme will be “Novel preclinical mouse models of human cancer”.

to top

15 + 15 = 35

15 Projekte beim 15. Workshop des DKFZ-MOST Kooperationsprogramms35-Jahre Deutsch-Israelische Zusammenarbeit in der Krebsforschung

Rund 30 Wissenschaftler und Doktoranden aus Israel waren angereist, um beim jährlichen Workshop des DKFZ-MOST Kooperationsprogramms zusammen mit ihren DKFZ-Partnern über den Stand der Zusammenarbeit und den Fortschritt ihrer 15 laufenden Projekte im Bereich der krebsrelevanten Grundlagenforschung zu berichten. Sie nutzten die Zeit vom 10. bis 13. März 2013 in Heidelberg, um die deutsch-israelische Zusammenarbeit zu intensivieren und Freundschaften zu vertiefen.

Höhepunkte des diesjährigen Workshops bildeten das Symposium in der Alten Aula der Universität Heidelberg zum 35-jährigen Bestehen des Kooperationsprogramms und die Verabschiedung von Prof. Dr. Wolfhard Semmler als nationalen Koordinator des DKFZ-MOST Programms. Seine Verdienste für die Gestaltung und Weiterentwicklung des DKFZ-MOST Programms würdigten sowohl Prof. Otmar Wiestler bei seiner Begrüßung sowie der israelische Forschungsminister Prof. Daniel Herschkowitz in seiner Grußbotschaft als auch Programmkomiteemitglied Prof. Varda Rotter vom Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, in ihrer Laudatio. Dies unterstrichen die beiden aktuellen Koordinatoren Prof. Peter Angel und Dr. Ahmi Ben-Yehuda in ihren Beiträgen. Sie freuen sich, die erfolgreiche Arbeit künftig fortschreiben zu können.

Wie vielseitig das Kooperationsprogramm ist, zeigten Prof. Peter Krammer mit einem Überblick über die verschiedenen Förderprojekte in seinem Labor, und die Keynote Lecture von Prof. Fabian Kießling zum Thema „Molecular imaging and theranostics at present: the fruits of pioneer’s work“.

Um den Wissenschaftsaustausch zwischen beiden Ländern zu intensivieren, finden zudem jährliche German-Israeli Cancer Research Schools statt. Diese bieten jeweils 10 Doktoranden und jungen Postdocs aus beiden Ländern Gelegenheit, mit international ausgewiesen Experten über aktuelle Themen der Krebsforschung zu diskutieren. Die 6. German-Israeli Cancer Research School ist für November 2013 in Israel geplant. Sie stellt das Thema “Novel preclinical mouse models of human cancer” in den Mittelpunkt.

nach oben