DKFZ Site Dresden

DKFZ Site Dresden

In summer of 2019, the DKFZ founded Germany's first DKFZ external site in Dresden. In Dresden, the DKFZ, together with the Excellence University of Dresden and its University Medicine Department, also maintains sites of the National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT) and the German Consortium for Translational Cancer Research (DKTK). The DKFZ site Dresden is to be established to develop innovative technology-based approaches for tumor diagnostics and therapy as well as a contact point for prevention. With its high-tech profile, Dresden offers an excellent environment for this.

What is the goal of the DKFZ site Dresden?

The DKFZ site Dresden has a focus on innovative technologies in the field of OncoTechnologies in the fight against cancer. With smart sensors and artificial intelligence, approaches for tumor diagnosis and therapy of cancer diseases are to be improved. Research at the DKFZ site in Dresden thus makes use of the local strengths and at the same time seamlessly connects to the clinical-translational research fields of the NCT and DKTK in Dresden.

This step is co-financed by tax funds based on the budget approved by the Parliament of the State of Saxony. With the support of the State of Saxony, this will significantly strengthen cancer research in Dresden.

What makes Dresden special as a location?

With its cancer research campus, Dresden offers excellent conditions for the planned research. The establishment of a basic research-oriented DKFZ site in Dresden will complement the structures of clinical-translational research that have been successfully established in recent years, such as the NCT, DKTK and OncoRay - National Center for Radiation Research in Oncology. In Dresden, both a leading University Hospital and an excellent Technical University provide a special opportunity to significantly expand the DKFZ's technology-oriented cancer research portfolio, e.g. in the fields of information sciences, medical technology, microsensors and robotics.

Where is the DKFZ site Dresden?

For the time being, the DKFZ site Dresden is located in transitional premises on the campus of the University Medical Center Dresden. In the future, an own building for the DKFZ site Dresden will be built in order to optimally integrate the scientists into the local research landscape and to be able to make use of the synergies.

to top
powered by webEdition CMS

DKFZ Standort Dresden

DKFZ Standort Dresden

Im Sommer 2019 wurde mit dem DKFZ Standort Dresden die erste deutschlandweite DKFZ Außenstelle gegründet. In Dresden unterhält das DKFZ zusammen mit der Exzellenzuniversität TU Dresden und seiner Hochschulmedizin auch Standorte des Nationalen Centrums für Tumorerkrankungen (NCT) und des Deutschen Konsortiums für Translationale Krebsforschung (DKTK). Der DKFZ Standort Dresden soll zur Entwicklung innovativer technologiebasierter Ansätze für die Tumordiagnostik und -therapie sowie einem Anlaufpunkt für die Prävention aufgebaut werden. Dresden bietet hierzu mit seinem High-Tech-Profil ein hervorragendes Umfeld.

Was ist das Ziel des DKFZ Standorts Dresden?

Der DKFZ Standort Dresden konzentriert sich auf Zukunftstechnologien im Bereich OncoTechnologies im Kampf gegen Krebs: Mit Smarten Sensoren und Künstlicher Intelligenz sollen Ansätze für die Tumordiagnostik und -therapie von Krebserkrankungen verbessert werden. Die Forschung des DKFZ Standorts Dresden nutzt somit die besonderen örtlichen Stärken und schließt sich gleichzeitig lückenlos an die klinisch-translationalen Forschungsfelder des NCT und DKTK in Dresden an.

Diese Maßnahme wird mitfinanziert durch Steuermittel auf der Grundlage des vom Sächsischen Landtag beschlossenen Haushaltes. Mit Unterstützung des Freistaates Sachsen soll dadurch die Krebsforschung am Standort Dresden erheblich verstärken werden.

Was macht Dresden als Standort besonders?

Dresden bietet mit seinem Krebsforschungs-Campus hervorragende Voraussetzung für die geplante Forschung. Durch die Einrichtung eines grundlagenwissenschaftlich ausgerichteten DKFZ Standorts in Dresden werden die in den letzten Jahren erfolgreich etablierten Strukturen der klinisch-translationalen Forschung vor Ort, wie das NCT, DKTK sowie OncoRay – Nationales Zentrum für Strahlenforschung in der Onkologie, passgenau ergänzt. In Dresden besteht sowohl durch ein führendes Universitätsklinikum als auch eine exzellente Technische Universität die besondere Möglichkeit, das technologieorientierte Krebsforschungsportfolio des DKFZ, z.B. im Bereich von Informationswissenschaften, Medizintechnologie, Mikrosensorik und Robotik, erheblich zu erweitern.

Wo befindet sich der DKFZ Standort Dresden?

Der DKFZ Standort Dresden ist vorerst in Interimsräumlichkeiten auf dem Campus der Hochschulmedizin Dresden untergebracht. Hier wird zukünftig ein eigenes Gebäude für den DKFZ Standort Dresden entstehen, um die Wissenschaftler optimal in die dortige Forschungslandschaft einzubetten und Synergien nutzen zu können.

nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS