Cookie Settings

We use cookies to optimize our website. These include cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as those that are only used for anonymous statistic. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Further information can be found in our data privacy protection .

Essential

These cookies are necessary to run the core functionalities of this website and cannot be disabled.

Name Webedition CMS
Purpose This cookie is required by the CMS (Content Management System) Webedition for the system to function correctly. Typically, this cookie is deleted when the browser is closed.
Name econda
Purpose Session cookie emos_jcsid for the web analysis software econda. This runs in the “anonymized measurement” mode. There is no personal reference. As soon as the user leaves the site, tracking is ended and all data in the browser are automatically deleted.
Statistics

These cookies help us understand how visitors interact with our website by collecting and analyzing information anonymously. Depending on the tool, one or more cookies are set by the provider.

Name econda
Purpose Statistics
External media

Content from external video platforms is blocked by default. If cookies from external media are accepted, access to this content no longer requires manual consent.

Name Youtube
Purpose External media
Translational Molecular Imaging

Division of Translational Molecular Imaging

Dr. Leif Schröder

While conventional MRI requires large amounts of spin-labelled reporters like water, novel agents use the available magnetization in a highly efficient way. This enables selective cell labelling with hyperpolarized spin ensembles and yields a switchable image contrast at unprecedented sensitivity. Illustration credits: Barth van Rossum, FMP.
© dkfz.de

Research of the Translational Molecular Imaging (TMI) Division focuses on the development and characterization of targeted imaging reporters for translating novel detection techniques into diagnostic applications in oncology. We aim to visualize key molecular changes in cancer onset and progression and capitalize on the strong interdisciplinary magnetic resonance tradition in Heidelberg. To this end, we explore novel approaches based on advanced NMR techniques like spin hyperpolarization and saturation transfer techniques in exchange-coupled spin systems. Our interdisciplinary team comprises members from a diverse background and strives to combine key techniques from physics, biochemical engineering, and molecular biology to develop the next generation of ultra-sensitive imaging reporters. We also investigate biomaterials science aspects of established contrast agents with respect to their biosafety and the understanding of their biochemical fate.

The newly founded division is endorsed by the Dieter Morszeck Foundation and engages also in highly explorative programs with international collaboration partners. The paradigm shifts pursued in our lab aim to combine the advantages of non-invasive imaging with the high sensitivity and specificity of functionalized reporters. This will eventually close the sensitivity gap between modalities of nuclear medicine like PET/SPECT and MRI without using ionizing radiation or making compromises in penetration depth like in optical methods.

Contact

Dr. Leif Schröder
Translational Molecular Imaging (E280)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 – 42 2432

Selected Publications

  • Schnurr M, Volk I, Nikolenko H, Winkler L, Dathe M, Schröder L. (2020). Xenon MRI: Functionalized Lipopeptide Micelles as Highly Efficient NMR Depolarization Seed Points for Targeted Cell Labelling in Xenon MRI Adv Biosys., 4, 2070034
  • Kunth, M.; Lu, G. J.; Witte, C.; Shapiro, M. G.; Schröder, L. (2018). Protein Nanostructures Produce Self-Adjusting Hyperpolarized Magnetic Resonance Imaging Contrast through Physical Gas Partitioning. ACS Nano, 12 (11), 10939–10948
  • Lakshmanan, A.; Lu, G. J.; Farhadi, A.; Nety, S. P.; Kunth, M.; Lee-Gosselin, A.; Maresca, D.; Bourdeau, R. W.; Yin, M.; Yan, J.; Witte, C.; Malounda, D.; Foster, F. S.; Schröder, L.; Shapiro, M. G. (2017). Preparation of Biogenic Gas Vesicle Nanostructures for Use as Contrast Agents for Ultrasound and MRI. Nature Protocols, 12 (10), 2050–2080
  • Schroder, L.; Lowery, T. J.; Hilty, C.; Wemmer, D. E.; Pines, A. (2006). Molecular Imaging Using a Targeted Magnetic Resonance Hyperpolarized Biosensor. Science, 314 (5798), 446–449
to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Cookie Hinweis

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen ein optimales Webseiten-Erlebnis zu bieten. Dazu zählen Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Seite notwendig sind, sowie solche, die lediglich zu anonymen Statistikzwecken, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte genutzt werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass auf Basis Ihrer Einstellungen womöglich nicht mehr alle Funktionalitäten der Seite zur Verfügung stehen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzhinweisen .

Essentiell

Diese Cookies sind für die Funktionalität unserer Website erforderlich und können nicht deaktiviert werden.

Name Webedition CMS
Zweck Dieses Cookie wird vom CMS (Content Management System) Webedition für die unverwechselbare Identifizierung eines Anwenders gesetzt. Es bietet dem Anwender bessere Bedienerführung, z.B. Speicherung von Sucheinstellungen oder Formulardaten. Typischerweise wird dieses Cookie beim Schließen des Browsers gelöscht.
Name econda
Zweck Session-Cookie für die Webanalyse Software econda. Diese läuft im Modus „Anonymisiertes Messen“.
Statistik

Diese Cookies helfen uns zu verstehen, wie Besucher mit unserer Webseite interagieren, indem Informationen anonym gesammelt und analysiert werden. Je nach Tool werden ein oder mehrere Cookies des Anbieters gesetzt.

Name econda
Zweck Measure with Visitor Cookie emos_jcvid
Externe Medien

Inhalte von Videoplattformen werden standardmäßig blockiert. Wenn Cookies von externen Medien akzeptiert werden, bedarf der Zugriff auf diese Inhalte keiner manuellen Zustimmung mehr.

Name Youtube
Zweck Externe Medien

Abteilung Translationale Molekulare Bildgebung

Dr. Leif Schröder

Während die konventionelle MR-Tomographie große Mengen an Spin-markierten Reportern wie Wasser benötigt, nutzen neuartige Kontrastmittel die verfügbare Magnetisierung auf hocheffiziente Weise. Dies ermöglicht eine selektive Zellmarkierung mit hyperpolarisierten Spin-Ensembles und liefert einen schaltbaren Bildkontrast bei bisher unerreichter Empfindlichkeit. Bildnachweis: Barth van Rossum, FMP.
© dkfz.de

Die Forschung der Abteilung Translationale Molekulare Bildgebung konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung und Charakterisierung zielgerichteter Kontrastmittel zur Umsetzung neuartiger Detektionstechniken in diagnostische Anwendungen der Onkologie. Wir wollen wichtige molekulare Veränderungen beim Auftreten und Fortschreiten von Krebs sichtbar machen und profitieren dabei von der starken interdisziplinären Tradition der Magnetresonanztomographie am Standort Heidelberg. Zu diesem Zweck untersuchen wir neuartige Ansätze, die auf fortgeschrittenen NMR-Techniken wie Spin-Hyperpolarisation und Sättigungstransfertechniken in Austausch-gekoppelten Spinsystemen basieren. Unser interdisziplinäres Team besteht aus Mitarbeitern mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund und ist bestrebt, Schlüsseltechniken aus Physik, Bioverfahrenstechnik und Molekularbiologie zu kombinieren, um die nächste Generation hochempfindlicher Bildgebungsreporter zu entwickeln. Wir untersuchen auch biowissenschaftliche Aspekte etablierter Kontrastmittel im Hinblick auf ihre biologische Sicherheit und das Verständnis ihres biochemischen Abbaus.

Die neu gegründete Abteilung wird von der Dieter Morszeck-Stiftung unterstützt und führt auch explorative Studien mit internationalen Kooperationspartnern durch. Der in unserem Labor verfolgte Paradigmenwechsel zielt darauf ab, die Vorteile der nicht-invasiven Bildgebung mit der hohen Empfindlichkeit und Spezifität funktionalisierter Reporter zu kombinieren. Dies wird schließlich die Lücke zwischen nuklearmedizinischen Modalitäten wie PET / SPECT und MRT schließen, ohne ionisierende Strahlung zu verwenden oder Kompromisse bei der Eindringtiefe wie bei optischen Methoden einzugehen.

Kontakt

Dr. Leif Schröder
Translationale Molekulare Bildgebung (E280)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 – 42 2432

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Schnurr M, Volk I, Nikolenko H, Winkler L, Dathe M, Schröder L. (2020). Xenon MRI: Functionalized Lipopeptide Micelles as Highly Efficient NMR Depolarization Seed Points for Targeted Cell Labelling in Xenon MRI Adv Biosys., 4, 2070034
  • Kunth, M.; Lu, G. J.; Witte, C.; Shapiro, M. G.; Schröder, L. (2018). Protein Nanostructures Produce Self-Adjusting Hyperpolarized Magnetic Resonance Imaging Contrast through Physical Gas Partitioning. ACS Nano, 12 (11), 10939–10948
  • Lakshmanan, A.; Lu, G. J.; Farhadi, A.; Nety, S. P.; Kunth, M.; Lee-Gosselin, A.; Maresca, D.; Bourdeau, R. W.; Yin, M.; Yan, J.; Witte, C.; Malounda, D.; Foster, F. S.; Schröder, L.; Shapiro, M. G. (2017). Preparation of Biogenic Gas Vesicle Nanostructures for Use as Contrast Agents for Ultrasound and MRI. Nature Protocols, 12 (10), 2050–2080
  • Schroder, L.; Lowery, T. J.; Hilty, C.; Wemmer, D. E.; Pines, A. (2006). Molecular Imaging Using a Targeted Magnetic Resonance Hyperpolarized Biosensor. Science, 314 (5798), 446–449
nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS