Omics IT and Data Management Core Facility

Omics IT and Data Management Core Facility (ODCF)

© dkfz.de

Recent advances have led to an explosion in the use of high-throughput, large-scale experiments in life sciences, including increasing use of omics technologies (genomics, proteomics, epigenomics). These generate huge quantities of data that needs to be stored, shared and analysed effectively.

The Omics IT and Data Management Core Facility (ODCF) at the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) provides data management, computing and basic bioinformatics services to groups at the DKFZ and collaborating partners.

The ODCF offers structured data storage of different kinds of raw omics data. Our staff have several years of experience in storing and organizing multiple forms of next-generation sequencing data, and we are constantly working on expanding our portfolio of supported data types to meet the needs of our users.

In addition to storing raw data, the ODCF also provides basic data processing using our automation platform OTP (https://otp.dkfz.de) and our workflow management system RODDY (https://github.com/TheRoddyWMS). Currently, we provide alignments of human and mouse genomics data as well as somatic variant calling for human tumor/control sample pairs using state of the art workflows. We are constantly broadening the scope of our services to include additional data types and workflows. OTP also acts as a database that provides important information about the data and the samples they come from (metadata). These data processing services currently support a wide range of projects, including from the Heidelberg Center for Personalized Oncology (HIPO) and the International Cancer Genome Consortium (ICGC). 

As well as the data processing integrated in OTP, the ODCF also offers a basic bioinformatics service that builds on the interactive analysis tool HUSAR (https://www.dkfz.de/gpcf/hs_husar.html). We provide the infrastructure for sequence analysis and offer further support in analyzing different kinds of sequencing data. This service is mainly aimed at helping small research groups without dedicated bioinformaticians to answer specific research questions.

We operate a computing cluster that is used by the ODCF for data processing, as well as by scientific groups at the DKFZ for downstream analysis. The cluster runs a batch system under Linux. It consists of several thousand cores and is constantly expanded based on demand. In addition to the standard compute nodes we provide some specialized hardware, such as FPGA nodes. All nodes are directly connected to the central storage systems of the DKFZ IT Core Facility. Our goal is to provide a cluster based on the needs of our users, so please feel free to contact us if you have special requirements. 

If you are going to start a new project and want your data managed and processed, if you would like access to the compute cluster, or if you want any more information on the services we offer, please do not hesitate to contact us at odcf-service@dkfz.de

Topic Locator

Find research groups by research areas or browse through all research groups and PI names.

Cancer Research at DKFZ

DKFZ-ZMBH-Alliance

The DKFZ-ZMBH-Alliance is a strategic alliance between the Research Program Cell and Tumor Biology and the Center for Molecular Biology of Heidelberg University.

Research Results

Here you can find our latest press releases.

Junior Research Groups

At German Cancer Research Center the following Junior Research Groups have been established.

to top

Omics IT und Data Management Core Facility

Omics IT and Data Management Core Facility (ODCF)

© dkfz.de

Technische Weiterentwicklungen in den letzten Jahren haben zu einer Explosion von Hochdurchsatzexperiementen, wie zum Beispiel verschiedenen Omics-Experimenten (Genomics, Proteomics, Epigenomics), in den Lebenswissenschaften geführt. Diese neuen Verfahren generieren sehr große Mengen an Daten, die wiederum effizient analysiert und gespeichert werden müssen.

Die Omics IT and Data Management Core Facility (ODCF) am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ) bietet Datenmanagement, ein Rechencluster sowie einen Bioinformatik-Service für alle DKFZ-Arbeitsgruppen und Kooperationspartner.

Das Angebot der ODCF umfasst die strukturierte Speicherung verschiedener Omics-Rohdaten mit einem Schwerpunkt auf verschiedenen Next-Generation-Sequencing (NGS) Daten. Wir erweitern ständig unser Portfolio der unterstützten Datentypen, um die Bedürfnisse aller Kunden zu decken.

Zusätzlich zur Speicherung von Rohdaten sorgen wir für die Primärverarbeitung verschiedener Datentypen. Diese Verarbeitung geschieht in unserer automatisierten Plattform OTP (https://otp.dkfz.de) sowie unserem Workflow-Management-System RODDY (https://github.com/TheRoddyWMS). Derzeit bieten wir das Alignment von Humanen- und Mausdaten sowie Mutationsanalysen von humanen Tumor/Normal Proben an. Unser Repertoire an standardisierten und etablierten Workflows für verschiedene Datentypen wird stetig erweitert. OTP ist auch eine Datenbank für Informationen rund um die Proben (Metadaten) und die verschiedenen Verarbeitungsschritte. Unsere Standardverarbeitung wird derzeit bereits von verschiedenen Projekten, zum Beispiel des Heidelberg Center for Personalized Oncology (HIPO) und des International Cancer Genome Project (ICGC), verwendet.

Neben der standardisierten Verarbeitung von Rohdaten bietet die ODCF auch einen Bioinformatik-Service an. Dieser Service basiert auf dem interaktiven Analysetool HUSAR (https://www.dkfz.de/gpcf/hs_husar.html). Hier stellen wir sowohl die nötige Infrastruktur als auch fachliche Hilfe zur Analyse verschiedener Sequenzierdaten über die Primärverarbeitung hinaus zur Verfügung. Dieser Service richtet sich primär an kleinere Arbeitsgruppen ohne Bioinformatik um spezifische wissenschaftliche Fragen zu beantworten.

ODCF betreibt einen Compute-Cluster basierend auf Linux und einem Batch-System. Dieser Cluster wird zur Primärverarbeitung der Daten sowie von verschiedenen Wissenschaftlern am DKFZ für bioinformatische Analysen benutzt. Der Cluster umfasst mehrere Tausend Rechen-Cores und wird ständig, bedarfsorientiert erweitert. Neben normalen Rechen-Knoten umfasst er weitere spezielle Knoten wie zum Beispiel FPGAs. Alle Rechen-Knoten sind direkt mit dem Primären Speicher der DKFZ-ITCF verbunden. Wir passen unsere Hardware stets den Bedürfnissen unserer Kunden an.


Für weitere Informationen oder zur Nutzung unserer Services kontaktieren Sie uns bitte per E-Mail an odcf-service@dkfz.de.

Themensuche

Finden Sie hier eine Forschungsabteilung durch Suche nach einem Forschungsthema oder nutzen Sie die alphabetische Liste aller Abteilungen und Arbeitsgruppen.

Cancer Research at DKFZ

DKFZ-ZMBH-Allianz

Die DKFZ-ZMBH-Allianz ist eine strategische Allianz zwischen dem Forschungsschwerpunkt Zell- und Tumorbiologie und dem Zentrum für Molekulare Biologie der Universität Heidelberg.

Forschungsergebnisse

Hier finden Sie unsere aktuellen Pressemitteilungen.

Wissenschaftliche Nachwuchsförderung

Am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum existieren folgende Nachwuchsgruppen.

nach oben