Cookie Settings

We use cookies to optimize our website. These include cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as those that are only used for anonymous statistic. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Further information can be found in our data privacy protection .


These cookies are necessary to run the core functionalities of this website and cannot be disabled.

Name Webedition CMS
Purpose This cookie is required by the CMS (Content Management System) Webedition for the system to function correctly. Typically, this cookie is deleted when the browser is closed.
Name econda
Purpose Session cookie emos_jcsid for the web analysis software econda. This runs in the “anonymized measurement” mode. There is no personal reference. As soon as the user leaves the site, tracking is ended and all data in the browser are automatically deleted.

These cookies help us understand how visitors interact with our website by collecting and analyzing information anonymously. Depending on the tool, one or more cookies are set by the provider.

Name econda
Purpose Statistics
External media

Content from external media platforms is blocked by default. If cookies from external media are accepted, access to this content no longer requires manual consent.

Name YouTube
Purpose Show YouTube content
Name Twitter
Purpose activate Twitter Feeds
German Prize for Cancer Prevention Research

German Prize for Cancer Prevention Research

The German Prize for Cancer Prevention Research has been awarded by the German Cancer Research Center for the first time in 2021 to acknowledge outstanding achievements of scientists in the area of cancer prevention research. This highly endowed prize honors both young and established scientists for their research on the prevention or early diagnosis of cancer diseases.

The German Prize for Cancer Prevention Research consists of two awards. The first is awarded with 25,000 Euros to excellent established researchers for their outstanding contributions to cancer prevention research. The second is awarded with 5000 Euros, with the aim of fostering young talents, will be bestowed on young investigators up to 40 years of age for their current scientific work in cancer prevention research.

The prize money is provided to the award winners as earmarked support for the continuation of their scientific activities.

Selection criteria

The selection criteria consist of the scientific quality and originality of the candidates' research in the areas of primary, secondary, and tertiary cancer prevention.


The prizes will be awarded on the basis of nominations by third parties. Own nominations are not eligible. Researchers affiliated with universities and extra-university research institutes in Germany are eligible for nomination.

The following organizations may nominate candidates: German Cancer Society, German Cancer Aid, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres, Max Planck Society, German Medical Faculty Association, National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and Leibniz Association.

Selection procedure

The prize winners will be selected by a jury of national and international scientists, chaired by the Chairman and Scientific Director of the DKFZ Management Board. The jury's decision is final.

Required application documents

Candidates for the prizes must be nominated by 15 June 2023 via e-mail to Nominations must include the following documents in English: a statement of the candidates' merits and achievements, curriculum vitae, and current publication list.

Award ceremony

Both prizes are awarded by the German Cancer Research Center and were donated for this purpose by the Manfred Lautenschläger foundation. The prizes can be awarded every two years. This year's prizes will be awarded during the German Cancer Research Congress (3rd DKFK, October 30 to November 1, 2023).

Laureates 2023

Prof. Rita Schmutzler (University of Cologne) and Dr. Jens Puschhof (DKFZ). For further information, please see the press release on the 2023 award ceremony.

Previous award winners

Prof. Hermann Brenner (DKFZ) and Jun.-Prof. Jakob Kather (then RWTH Aachen University). For more information, please read the press release on the 2021 award ceremony (German only).

Deutsche Version

to top
powered by webEdition CMS