Cookie Settings

We use cookies to optimize our website. These include cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as those that are only used for anonymous statistic. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Further information can be found in our data privacy protection .


These cookies are necessary to run the core functionalities of this website and cannot be disabled.

Name Webedition CMS
Purpose This cookie is required by the CMS (Content Management System) Webedition for the system to function correctly. Typically, this cookie is deleted when the browser is closed.
Name econda
Purpose Session cookie emos_jcsid for the web analysis software econda. This runs in the “anonymized measurement” mode. There is no personal reference. As soon as the user leaves the site, tracking is ended and all data in the browser are automatically deleted.

These cookies help us understand how visitors interact with our website by collecting and analyzing information anonymously. Depending on the tool, one or more cookies are set by the provider.

Name econda
Purpose Statistics
External media

Content from external media platforms is blocked by default. If cookies from external media are accepted, access to this content no longer requires manual consent.

Name YouTube
Purpose Show YouTube content
Name Twitter
Purpose activate Twitter Feeds

Cancer Genome Research

Head: Prof. Dr. Holger Sültmann

Senior Scientists and Postdocs: PD Dr. Sabine Klauck, Dr. Arlou Kristina Angeles, Dr. Ann-Kathrin Daum, Dr. Florian Janke, Dr. Fawaz Al-Shaheri, Dr. Astrid Laut

Prof. Dr. Petros Christopoulos (Thoraxklinik Heidelberg)

Dr. Anja Riediger, Dr. Samaneh Eickelschulte (Clinical Cooperation Unit "Multiparametric Methods for the Detection of Prostate Cancer", DKFZ and Urological Clinic Heidelberg)

Dr. Andrey Turchinovic (Heidelberg Biolabs)

PhD students:  Myesha Jahin, Mateo Gasser, Ana Rodríguez Ces (University of Santiago de Compostela), Philippe Decruyenaere (Ghent University)

MSc student: Emma Brkic

Technical assistants: Sabrina Gerhardt, Simon Ogrodnik



Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Holger Sültmann
DKFZ and NCT Heidelberg
Im Neuenheimer Feld 460
69120 Heidelberg, Germany
Tel.: ++49 6221 565934 
Fax: ++49 6221 565382

Cancer cells differ from normal cells by their microenvironment, altered (epi)genomes, as well as gene and protein expression. The characterization of such changes in tumors and tumor stages is essential for understanding the mechanisms of tumor progression and the definition of molecular markers for diagnosis and prognosis. Tumor heterogeneity in space and time determines therapy success and patient survival. Therefore, precision medicine approaches in cancer research need to address the following key questions:

- tumor risk stratification with multimodal biomarkers
- mechanisms of tumor progression and therapy failure
- therapy response prediction using noninvasive approaches.



Former group members:
Prof. Dr. Peter Altevogt, Dr. Simone Bauer, Dr. Chiara Dalle Fratte, Philipp Hecht, Dr. Steffen Dietz, Alessa Klär, Niclas Flosdorf, Louise Appenheimer, Saskia Müller, Enrico Black, Dr. Doreen Heckmann-Nötzel, Sebastian Weingart, Lisa Gu, Sabrina Müller, Dr. Leonie Ratz, Dr. Anja Riediger, Dr. Vladimir Kuryshev, Clementine Mercé, Dr. Julia Romic-Pickl, Dr. Sajo Kaduthanam, Dr. Uwe Schirmer, Daniel Reidenbach, Denise Keitel, Dr. Ruprecht Kuner, Dr. Helen Hülsmann, Dr. Holger Armbruster, Dr. Mark Laible, Dr. Daniela Wuttig, Dr. Julia Starmann, Jennifer Metzger, Marina Gonzalez, Dr. Lukasz Kacprzyk, Dr. Stephan Gade, Sara Myers, Dr. Maria Fälth, Tatjana Andrasiuk, Dr. Rainer Will, Dr. Marc Johannes, Dr. Jan Christoph Brase, Dr. Stephanie Wittig-Blaich, Dr. Melanie Bewerunge-Hudler, Rita Schatten, Angelika Wörner, Thorsten Kühlwein, Dr. Nicole Chui Pressinotti, Dr. Caroline End, Prof. Dr. Tim Beißbarth, Dr. Alberto Calabró, Dr. Mark Fellmann, Dr. Christian Löbke, Dr. Markus Ruschhaupt, Dr. Van Duc Luu, Dr. Michael Stojanov, Andreas Buneß, Dr. Claudia Heine, Prof. Dr. Holger Fröhlich, Prof. Dr. Achim Tresch, Dr. Jörg Schneider, Dr. Katharina Finis, Dr. Wolfgang Huber, Dr. Markus Vogt, Prof. Dr. Florian Haller, Gabi Rottsahl, Claudia Grosser


German Cancer Consortium (DKTK)

German Center for Lung Research (DZL)

German Federal Ministry for Science and Education (BMBF).

Bruno und Helene Jöster Stiftung

Deutsche Krebshilfe

Heidelberg Institute for Personalized Oncology (HIPO)

to top
powered by webEdition CMS