PhD Council

The PhD Council is a group of doctoral researcher representatives from the DKFZ. Members of the PhD Council are elected by all DKFZ doctoral researchers in October/November of every year.

Our main responsibilities are:

  • to coordinate the different PhD Teams
  • to represent the DKFZ community and our common interests
  • to act as the official liaison between the Doctoral Researchers community and the administrative and scientific executive boards

Simultaneously, we aim at fostering scientific and social interaction among the ~ 550 doctoral researchers at the DKFZ, other instates in Heidelberg or other Helmholtz centres all over Germany (check Helmholtz Juniors webpage) by organizing:

  • Happy Hours on Fridays evening (music, beer, pizza, games and more…)
  • Social gatherings:
  • Screening Evenings (get together, watch on a giant projector screen – with drinks and popcorn, please!

- PubQuiz events (are you as nerdy as you think?)

- Boardgames nights

- Language/multicultural events

  • Behind the scenes – The PhD Talk Show (hear directly from current/freshly-graduated doctoral researcher authors amongst us how they developed their projects, what went wrong and how they pushed through the horrors of peer review, how they survived the PhD adversities)
  • Sport events (football and volleyball tournaments with other institutes in Heidelberg , for amazing prices and the fame of winning this popular cup)
  • Students conferences
  • Annual retreats
  • Newsletter (what’s new in DKFZ Doctoral Researchers life, compiled into a nice brochure)
  • Scientific talks, and more.

This would not be possible without our very active and dedicated PhD Teams! If you would like to join us in our initiatives or at any time you think working conditions or education can be improved, let us know by sending an email to

Your current PhD Council

PhD Council 2020/2021

  • Mirian Fernández-Vaquero
  • Susana Granados Castilla
  • Karim Aljakouch
  • Vivien Ionasz
  • Yassin Harim
  • Dina ElHarouni

The PhD Council 2019/2020

  • Catarina da Silva Pechincha
  • Isabela Paredes-Cisneros
  • Paula Argos Velez
  • Pavle Boskovic
  • Damian Carvajal Ibanez

The PhD Council 2018/2019

The PhD Council 2018/2019, left to right: Sonja, Michael, Khwab, Samantha, Shub and Oguzhan

  • Michael Bonadonna
  • Oguzhan Kaya
  • Sonja Krausert
  • Khwab Sanghvi
  • Shub Sood
  • Samantha Zottnick

The PhD Council 2017/2018

The PhD Council 2017/2018, left to right: Ginny, Maria, Florian, Michael, Lucie

  • Lucie Wolf
  • Gintvile Valinciute
  • Maria Bonsack
  • Florian Köhler
  • Michael Persicke

The PhD Council 2016/2017

Being on the Council is awesome.

The PhD Council 2016/2017, left to right: Manasi, Britta, Lucie, Felix, Isa, Jacqueline.

  • Britta Ismer
  • Felix Frauhammer
  • Isabelle Everlien
  • Jacqueline Taylor
  • Lucie Wolf
  • Manasi Ratnaparkhe

The PhD Council 2015/2016

The PhD Council 2015/2016 members (front: Azer, Juliane, Sara; back: Antonino, Sebastian, Mahak)

  • Antonino A. Pane
  • Azer Aylin Acikgöz
  • Juliane Hafermann
  • Mahak Singhal
  • Sara Ciprut
  • Sebastian Kruse

The PhD Council 2012

The PhD Council 2012 members (from left to right: Aoife Gahlawat, Nao Iwamoto, Nisit Khandelwal, Alex Migdol, Dharanija Madhavan, Ansam Sinjab)

  • Aoife Gahlawat
  • Nao Iwamoto
  • Nisit Khandelwal
  • Alex Migdol
  • Dharanija Madhavan
  • Ansam Sinjab

The PhD Council 2009


to top
powered by webEdition CMS