Division of Functional Genome Analysis

Dr. Jörg D. Hoheisel

Potential of DRD2 antagonist Haloperidol – a molecule already used as an antipsychotic drug – as a therapeutic approach to treat pancreatic cancer. Representative images show pancreatic tumours in mice. The animals in the upper row were untreated; the bottom row shows the results obtained with Haloperidol treatment. White and yellow outlines indicate primary and metastatic tumours, respectively. Treatment with Haloperidol reduced the metastasis dissemination strongly.
© dkfz.de

Research at the Division of Functional Genome Analysis focuses on an assessment and description of the realisation and regulation of cellular function from genetic information.

Analyses of tumour material are at the centre of attention, with an emphasis on pancreatic cancer. The effect of DNA sequence variations and epigenetic modulation of the genome are studied. This is combined with measurements on variations in transcription factor binding and changes in transcript levels of coding and noncoding RNAs. Concomitantly, protein expression is analysed, mostly by means of affinity-based assay formats. We complement the molecular analyses with functional studies for the elucidation of relevant cellular mechanisms.

Beside the creation of basic scientific knowledge, we aim at establishing means for reliable, potentially early and non-invasive molecular diagnosis, which translates also into accurate prognosis, patient stratification and monitoring of treatment results. Another objective is the identification of new therapeutic modalities.

Currently, we have particular focus on studying proteomic variations. Affinity-based processes have been established that permit a robustness and reproducibility that meet the requirements of clinical applications and are amendable to translation. One scientific objective is the identification of disease-specific protein isoforms; structural variation is often an indicator of different functional activity. Also, measurements of protein interactions are performed, in particular for the identification of variations that occur at a personal level. A third major activity is the creation of a map of the protein-mediated communication between the different cell types within (pancreatic) tumour microenvironment or with the wider peritumoral tissue.

Another line of work aims at the fully synthetic, in vitro implementation of complex biological processes. Motivation is their utilization for the production of biomedically active molecules, such as non-immunogenic agents, and the establishment of an entirely artificial molecular system. Cell-free biosynthetic production will be crucial for mastering many biotechnological and pharmacochemical challenges ahead. In addition, artificial biological systems will complement Systems Biology by evaluating biological models experimentally. Similar to physics, an iterative process of performing experimental and theoretical studies will provide insight into cellular functioning. Eventually, this may lead to the establishment of a fully synthetic self-replicating system and, ultimately, an archetypical model of a cell.

Website of the Division

Contact

Dr. Jörg D. Hoheisel
Functional Genome Analysis (B070)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 4680

Selected Publications

  • Botla, S.K. et al. (2016). Early epigenetic down-regulation of microRNA-192 expression promotes pancreatic cancer progression. Cancer Res. 76, 4149-4159.
  • Dror, S. et al. (2016). Melanoma miRNA trafficking triggers the tumor primary niche formation. Nature Cell Biol. 18, 1006-1017.
  • Jandaghi, P. et al. (2016). Dopamine receptor D2 is critical for pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma and promises pharmacological therapy by already established antagonists. Gastroenterology 151, 1218-1231.
  • Mustafa, S.A. et al. (2017). Comparison of the tumour cell secretome and patient sera for an accurate serum-based diagnosis of pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma. Oncotarget 8, 11963-11976.
to top

Abteilung Funktionelle Genomanalyse

Dr. Jörg D. Hoheisel

Potential des DRD2-Antagonisten Haloperidol – einem Molekül, das bereits zur Behandlung von Schizophrenie Verwendung findet – zur Behandlung von Pankreaskrebs. Repräsentative Bilder zeigen Tumoren in Mäusen, die nicht behandelt wurden (oben) oder nach einer Behandlung mit Haloperidol (unten). Weiße Linien verdeutlichen den Primärtumor, während gelbe Linien Metastasen aufzeigen. Eine Behandlung führte zu einem sehr starken Rückgang der Metastasenbildung.
© dkfz.de

Die Abteilung Funktionelle Genomanalyse untersucht, wie genetische Information in zelluläre Funktionen umgesetzt wird und wie diese Vorgänge reguliert werden.

Im Zentrum der Arbeiten stehen Untersuchungen an Bauchspeicheldrüsentumor-Material, Bauchspeicheldrüsen(Pankreas-)krebs gehört zu den tödlichsten Krebsformen überhaupt. Wir untersuchen Veränderungen der DNA-Sequenz, die epigenetische Modellierung des Genoms und das Bindungsverhalten von Transkriptionsfaktoren. Dies wird kombiniert mit Variationen der Transkriptmengen aller Gene, einschließlich nicht protein-kodierender RNA-Moleküle. Gleichzeitig analysieren wir die Unterschiede in der Proteinexpression. Diese Untersuchungen werden durch funktionelle Studien ergänzt, um tumor-relevante zelluläre Mechanismen zu identifizieren.

Neben dem grundlegenden Erkenntnisgewinn ist unser Ziel, Verfahren zur robusten, möglichst frühen und nicht-invasiven Diagnose zu etablieren, die auch für eine Krankheits-Prognose und Patientenstratifizierung sowie zur Überwachung des Behandlungserfolgs Anwendung finden können. Gleichzeitig suchen wir neue Therapieansätze.

Zurzeit liegt ein Fokus unserer Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Proteom-Analyse. Wir haben affinitätsbasierte Verfahren etabliert, deren Robustheit und Genauigkeit die Anforderung für eine klinische Anwendung erfüllen und in Tests überführt werden können, die den Vorgaben einer klinischen Routineanwendung genügen. Eine wissenschaftliche Fragestellung, die wir verfolgen, ist die Identifizierung krankheitsrelevanter Protein-Isoformen: strukturelle Veränderungen gehen oft mit veränderter Aktivität einher. Daneben untersuchen wir Protein-Interaktionen mit neuen Methoden, die ganz speziell auch die Untersuchung individueller Patienten erlauben. Ein dritter Schwerpunkt unserer Untersuchungen ist die Kartierung der protein-basierten Kommunikation zwischen den verschiedenen Zelltypen, die in einem Tumor und darüber hinaus vorliegen.

Seit einiger Zeit verfolgt die Abteilung neue biotechnologische Ansätze, die darauf abzielen, komplexe biologische Prozesse in vitro darzustellen. Eine Anwendung ist die Nutzung im Bereich der synthetischen Biologie zur Produktion von Bio-Molekülen. Eine zellfreie Biosynthese wird für viele biotechnologische und pharmakochemische Herausforderungen immer wichtiger. Ein zweites Ziel ist die Implementierung künstlicher molekularer Biosysteme. Sie ergänzen theoretisch-systembiologische Ansätze, um die Relevanz biologischer Modelle experimentell zu überprüfen. Ähnlich der Physik werden wir in Zukunft Erkenntnisse über zelluläre Funktionen in einem iterativen Prozess zwischen theoretischer und experimenteller Systembiologie gewinnen. Auf lange Sicht könnte dies zur Etablierung eines vollständig synthetischen, selbst-replizierenden Systems führen, mit der Perspektive, ein archetypisches Modell einer Zelle zu etablieren.

weiter zur Abteilung

Kontakt

Dr. Jörg D. Hoheisel
Funktionelle Genomanalyse (B070)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 4680

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Botla, S.K. et al. (2016). Early epigenetic down-regulation of microRNA-192 expression promotes pancreatic cancer progression. Cancer Res. 76, 4149-4159.
  • Dror, S. et al. (2016). Melanoma miRNA trafficking triggers the tumor primary niche formation. Nature Cell Biol. 18, 1006-1017.
  • Jandaghi, P. et al. (2016). Dopamine receptor D2 is critical for pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma and promises pharmacological therapy by already established antagonists. Gastroenterology 151, 1218-1231.
  • Mustafa, S.A. et al. (2017). Comparison of the tumour cell secretome and patient sera for an accurate serum-based diagnosis of pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma. Oncotarget 8, 11963-11976.
nach oben