X-Ray Imaging and Computed Tomography

Division of X-Ray Imaging and Computed Tomography

Prof. Dr. Marc Kachelrieß

© dkfz.de

X-ray computed tomography (CT), based on the measurement of x-ray attenuation from a multitude of view angles around the patient, is the workhorse of the radiologist. Since the introduction of CT in 1972, the importance of CT for the medical healthcare has increased dramatically. Major technical, mathematical, algorithmical and clinical improvements have taken place in the meantime over nearly four decades. Today, the most modern clinical scanners perform up to four rotations per second and thereby simultaneously acquire up to 320 slices that cover a 50 centimeter diameter field of measurement with a length of up to two meters. Complete patients can be assessed with CT in less than five seconds with an isotropic spatial resolution of down to 0.3 millimeters, with a temporal resolution as good as 70 milliseconds, and with image noise being less than 5% of the image contrast. Further on, dual energy CT allows assessing spectroscopic properties of the object, such as the exact quantification of iodine within muscle tissue or as the chemical composition of renal stone prior to treatment, for example. The spectrum of clinical CT applications is sophisticated and manifold. Typical applications are standard scans, whole body scans for trauma patients, cardiac CT, dual energy CT, dynamic CT, CT angiography, cardiac or coronary CT angiography, bone densitometry, lung screening, virtual colonoscopy, and many more.

Besides clinical computed tomography, several other medical CT modalities are in use, today. Interventional studies, for example, are often carried out under C-arm CT guidance, where a flat detector and a small x-ray source rotate around the patient. Oral and maxillofacial surgery, as well as the planning of dental implants, often relies on the so-called digital volume tomography (DVT), which is a dedicated flat detector CT system for the patient head. Radiation therapy even uses two CT modalities for image guidance: a clinical CT scan is used for planning, while the treatment unit itself is equipped with dedicated flat detector CT systems used for patient positioning and treatment verification. In the preclinical domain dedicated small animal CT systems are in use. They allow supporting longitudinal pharmaceutical studies that may aim at monitoring tumor response or the influence of other medication. Often, CT is used in multi-modality scenarios to add prior information to other modalities. Among those scenarios combinations of PET with CT or SPECT with CT are the most prominent ones in medical care.

The division “x-ray imaging and computed tomography” of the DKFZ aims at improving x-ray and CT imaging in all aspects, with a special focus on cancer detection and tumor characterization. While calibration, preprocessing and dose reduction applies to both, radiographic and tomographic imaging, sophisticated image reconstruction and artifact reduction techniques is our focus in CT research. This includes the development of new methods to perform real-time imaging simulta-neously with the radiation treatment, potentially combining the information obtained by the kV imager with the portal images obtained from the MV treatment beam, the development of new registration and reconstruction algorithms to compensate for patient motion, as well as the development of new multi-spectral imaging techniques to improve tumor diagnosis and to allow for quantitative tissue decomposition into the dominating chemical components. Further, some of our projects aim at translating and adapting methods, originally developed for CT, to other imaging modalities, such as MRI and PET.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Marc Kachelrieß
X-Ray Imaging and Computed Tomography (E025)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 3067

Selected Publications

  • T. Heußer, P. Mann, C. Rank, M. Schäfer, A. Dimitrakopoulou-Strauss, H.-P. Schlemmer, B. Hadaschik, K. Kopka, P. Bachert, M. Kachelrieß, and M. Freitag. Investigation of the halo-artifact in 68Ga-PSMA-11-PET/MRI. PLOS ONE 12(8):e0183329, August 2017
  • B. Bier, M. Berger, A. Maier, M. Kachelrieß, L. Ritschl, K.Müller, J.-H. Choi, and R. Fahrig. Scatter correction using a primary modulator on a clinical angiography C-arm CT system. Med. Phys. 44(9):e125-e137, September 2017
  • S. Lebedev, S. Sawall, M. Knaup, and M. Kachelrieß. Optimization of the alpha image reconstruction – an iterative CT image reconstruction with well-defined image quality metrics. Z. Med. Phys. 27(3):180-192, September 2017
  • A. Afshar-Oromieh, M. Wolf, U. Haberkorn, M. Kachelrieß, R. Gnirs, K. Kopka, H.-P. Schlemmer, and M. Freitag. Effects of arm truncation on the appearance of the halo artefact in 68Ga-PSMA-11 (HBED-CC) PET/MRI. Eur. J. of Nucl. Med. and Mol. Imag. 44(10):1636-1646, September 2017
to top

Röntgenbildgebung und Computertomographie

Abteilung Röntgenbildgebung und Computertomographie

Prof. Dr. Marc Kachelrieß

© dkfz.de

Die Röntgen-Computertomographie (CT) ist eines der wichtigsten Instrumente in der Radiologie. Sie basiert darauf, dass man die Schwächung von Röntgenstrahlung aus einer Vielzahl von Blickwinkeln um den Patienten herum misst. Seit ihrer Einführung im Jahr 1972 hat die Bedeutung der CT für die medizinische Versorgung immens zugenommen. In über vier Jahrzehnten wurden große technische, mathematische, algorithmische und klinische Verbesserungen auf diesem Gebiet erzielt. Heute vollziehen die modernsten klinischen CT-Scanner bis zu vier Rotationen pro Sekunde und erstellen dabei bis zu 320 Schnittbilder, die ein Messfeld von 50 cm Durchmesser und bis zu zwei Meter Länge abdecken. Patienten können in weniger als fünf Sekunden komplett per CT begutachtet werden und dies mit einer isotropen räumlichen Auflösung von bis zu 0,3 mm, einer zeitlichen Auflösung im Bereich von 70 Millisekunden und einem Bildrauschen von weniger als fünf Prozent des Bildkontrasts. Weiterhin können mittels Dual-Energy-CT die spektroskopischen Eigenschaften von Objekten beurteilt werden, so zum Beispiel die exakte Quantifizierung der Jodmenge in Muskelgewebe oder die chemische Zusammensetzung von Nierensteinen im Vorfeld der Behandlung. Das Spektrum klinischer CT-Anwendungen ist vielfältig und differenziert. Zu den typischen Anwendungsgebieten zählen standardmäßige CT-Untersuchungen, Ganzkörper-CT bei Notfallpatienten, Kardio-CT, Dual-Energy-CT, dynamische CT, CT-Angiographie, Knochendichtemessung, CT der Lunge zur Früherkennung, virtuelle Koloskopie u.v.m.

Neben der klinischen Computertomographie sind heute zahlreiche weitere CT-Varianten in der Medizin im Einsatz. So wird für interventionelle Untersuchungen beispielsweise häufig die C-Bogen-CT eingesetzt, bei der ein Flachdetektor und eine kleine Röntgenquelle um den Patienten rotieren. In der Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie sowie bei der Planung von Zahnimplantaten stützt man sich häufig auf die sogenannte digitale Volumentomographie (DVT), ein spezielles Flachdetektor-CT-System für den Kopf des Patienten. In der bildgestützten Strahlentherapie werden gleich zwei CT-Varianten eingesetzt: ein klinischer CT-Scanner für die Bestrahlungsplanung und eine Behandlungseinheit, die mit speziellen Flachdetektor-CT-Systemen für die Patientenlagerung und Behandlungsverifikation ausgestattet sind. In der präklinischen Bildgebung kommen spezielle Kleintier-CT-Systeme zum Einsatz. Sie unterstützen pharmazeutische Längsschnittstudien, die zum Beispiel darauf abzielen, das Tumoransprechen oder den Einfluss von anderen Medikamenten zu beobachten. Die CT wird auch oft in multimodalen Szenarien genutzt, um früher gewonnene Informationen in anderen Modalitäten zu ergänzen. Zu den wichtigsten solchen Szenarien in der medizinischen Versorgung zählen Kombinationen von PET (Positronenemissionstomographie) mit CT oder SPECT (Einzelphotonen-Emissionstomographie) mit CT.

Die Abteilung „Röntgenbildgebung und Computertomographie“ des DKFZ arbeitet daran, die Röntgen und CT-Bildgebung in allen Aspekten zu verbessern. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Krebserkennung und Tumorcharakterisierung. Während Themen wie Kalibrierung, Vorverarbeitung und Reduzierung der Strahlendosis in beiden Bereichen gleichermaßen relevant sind, liegt unser Augenmerk im Bereich der CT-Forschung auf der radiographischen und tomographischen Bildgebung, der hochentwickelten Bildrekonstruktion sowie Techniken zur Reduzierung von Artefakten. Hierzu zählen die Entwicklung neuer Methoden, um Echtzeitbildgebung zeitgleich mit der Strahlenbehandlung zu vollziehen und die gewonnenen Informationen aus dem kV- Aufnahmegerät potenziell mit den Portal-Imaging-Aufnahmen aus dem MV-Behandlungsstrahl zu kombinieren. Ferner die Entwicklung neuer Algorithmen für die Registrierung und Rekonstruktion mit dem Ziel der Kompensation von Patientenbewegungen sowie die Entwicklung neuer multispektraler Bildgebungstechniken, um die Tumordiagnostik zu verbessern und den quantitativen Gewebeabbau in die chemischen Hauptkomponenten zu berücksichtigen. Außerdem zielen einige unserer Projekte darauf ab, ursprünglich für CT entwickelte Methoden auf andere Bildgebungsvarianten wie z.B. MRT und PET zu übertragen und dafür anzupassen.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Marc Kachelrieß
Röntgenbildgebung und Computertomographie (E025)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 3067

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • T. Heußer, P. Mann, C. Rank, M. Schäfer, A. Dimitrakopoulou-Strauss, H.-P. Schlemmer, B. Hadaschik, K. Kopka, P. Bachert, M. Kachelrieß, and M. Freitag. Investigation of the halo-artifact in 68Ga-PSMA-11-PET/MRI. PLOS ONE 12(8):e0183329, August 2017
  • B. Bier, M. Berger, A. Maier, M. Kachelrieß, L. Ritschl, K.Müller, J.-H. Choi, and R. Fahrig. Scatter correction using a primary modulator on a clinical angiography C-arm CT system. Med. Phys. 44(9):e125-e137, September 2017
  • S. Lebedev, S. Sawall, M. Knaup, and M. Kachelrieß. Optimization of the alpha image reconstruction – an iterative CT image reconstruction with well-defined image quality metrics. Z. Med. Phys. 27(3):180-192, September 2017
  • A. Afshar-Oromieh, M. Wolf, U. Haberkorn, M. Kachelrieß, R. Gnirs, K. Kopka, H.-P. Schlemmer, and M. Freitag. Effects of arm truncation on the appearance of the halo artefact in 68Ga-PSMA-11 (HBED-CC) PET/MRI. Eur. J. of Nucl. Med. and Mol. Imag. 44(10):1636-1646, September 2017
nach oben