Light Microscopy

Light Microscopy

Dr. Felix Bestvater

© dkfz.de

The Light Microscopy unit offers a variety of advanced imaging-related services for all in-house groups and their collaboration partners at several locations on the campus. We provide consultation, hands-on training, technical support and open access (24/7) to cutting-edge instrumentation and a broad range of applications. An integrated workflow guides the user all the way through the required process steps, starting from sample preparation, through data acquisition, up to data analysis and digital image processing.

A large number of classical fully automated widefield and confocal laser-scanning microscopes is supplemented by non-standard imaging systems for super-resolution microscopy (own development), slide-scanning, high-content live-cell microscopy, spinning-disk microscopy, multiphoton microscopy, optical projection tomography, etc.

Our sample preparation section comprises all the necessary equipment for cell culture, paraffin and cryosectioning, histological staining, as well as instrumentation for micromanipulation techniques such as laser capture microdissection and microinjection. The users can choose between assisted support and full service. Our fluorescent marker repository provides access to a range of (genetic) markers for morphological and physiological determination.

Big data is becoming a more and more important subject in light microscopy applications. We accommodate the increasing demand for automated digital image processing by providing high-end working stations, appropriate software (e.g. ImageJ/Fiji, Amira, Imaris, ZEN, LAS, Matlab, GraphPad PRISM, SigmaPlot), as well as professional support for algorithm and macro development.

Besides the daily-based individual introductions at the devices, we offer open workshops in collaboration with our external partners as well as topic-specific courses where the users familiarise themselves with the theoretical background and the appropriate and autonomous usage of the complex devices and applications such as multidimensional image acquisition, ratio imaging, FRAP, FRET, FCCS, 3D reconstruction and deconvolution, colocalisation, spectral unmixing, etc.

Booking system and further information can be found on our intranet site.

Contact

Dr. Felix Bestvater
Head of Light Microscopy Facility (W210)

Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Germany

phone: +49 6221 42 1932
email: f.bestvater@dkfz.de

to top

Lichtmikroskopie

Dr. Felix Bestvater

© dkfz.de

Die Lichtmikroskopie-Einheit stellt ein breites Serviceangebot im Bereich moderner bildgebender Verfahren für alle internen Gruppen und deren Kooperationspartner an mehreren Standorten auf dem Campus zur Verfügung. Wir bieten Beratung, praktisches Training, technische Unterstützung sowie einen durchgehenden Zugang (24/7) zu hochentwickelten Instrumenten und einer breiten Palette an Applikationen. Ein integrierter Arbeitsablauf begleitet den Anwender auf dem Weg durch die benötigten Prozeßschritte, angefangen bei der Probenpräparation, über die Datenakquise, bis hin zur Datenanalyse und digitaler Bildverarbeitung.

Eine große Anzahl klassischer vollautomatisierter Weitfeld- und konfokaler Laser-Scanning-Mikroskope wird ergänzt durch besondere bildgebende Systeme für hochaufgelöste Mikroskopie (eigene Entwicklung), Slide-Scanning, Hochdurchsatz-Lebendzellmikroskopie, optische Projektionstomographie, quantitative Phasenkontrast-Bildgebung, holographische Tomographie, usw.

Unser Bereich für Probenvorbereitung bietet die notwendige Ausstattung für Zellkulturarbeiten, für die Herstellung von Paraffin- und Kryoschnitten, für histologische Färbungen sowie Geräte für Mikromanipulationstechniken wie Laser-Mikrodissektion und Mikroinjektion. Unsere Fluoreszenzmarker-Bank bietet dem Anwender einen Zugang zu einer Reihe (genetischer) Marker für morphologische und physiologische Bestimmung.

‚Big Data' gewinnt einen immer größeren Einfluß in lichtmikroskopischen Applikationen. Wir versuchen dem zunehmenden Bedarf an automatisierter digitaler Bildverarbeitung gerecht zu werden, indem wir hochwertige Arbeitsrechner, entsprechende Analysesoftware (z.B. ImageJ/Fiji, Amira, Imaris, ZEN, LAS, Matlab, GraphPad PRISM, SigmaPlot) sowie professionelle Unterstützung für Algorithmen- und Makroentwicklung anbieten.

Neben täglicher persönlicher Einführungen an den Geräten organisieren wir öffentliche Seminare in Zusammenarbeit mit unseren externen Partnern sowie themenbezogenen Kurse innerhalb des DKFZ-Fortbildungs- und Trainingsprogramms, in welchen die Anwender die theoretischen Hintergründe und den angemessenen und autonomen Umgang mit den komplexen Geräten und Applikationen lernen, so z.B. die multidimensionale Bildakquise, Ratio Imaging, FRAP, FRET, FCCS, 3D-Rekonstruktion und Dekonvolution, Kolokalisation, spektrale Entmischung, usw.

Zusätzliche Informationen finden Sie auf unserer Intranet-Seite.

Kontakt

Dr. Felix Bestvater
Leiter Zentrale Einheit Lichtmikroskopie (W210)

Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg

Tel.: +49 6221 42 1932
Fax: +49 6221 42 1939
E-Mail: lichtmikroskopie@dkfz.de

nach oben