1. Hauptnavigation
  2. Navigation des Hauptbereiches
  3. Inhalt der Seite

At the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), scientists are doing research in over 70 departments, research groups and Clinical Cooperation Units. These are assigned to seven Research Programs which undergo a regular international assessment process.

In the Research Program Cell Biology and Tumor Biology, scientists are investigating which signaling pathways within and among cells are responsible for the growth, spread and survival of cancer cells. The role of tumor stem cells in the development and spread of cancer is another subject of investigation in this research program.

Researchers of the Research Program Functional and Structural Genomics are studying the genetic basis of cancer. To this end, they are comparing the genetic material of cancer cells with that of healthy cells. Based on the results, they discover and test new target structures for diagnosis and treatment. Bioinformaticians and systems biologists are utilizing data from genome research and tumor biology.

In the Research Program Cancer Risk Factors and Prevention, scientists are carrying out epidemiological studies to uncover connections such as between environmental factors and carcinogenesis. In addition, they are identifying cancer prevention substances and elucidating their working mechanisms.

Scientists in the Research Program Tumor Immunology are studying how cells of the immune system develop, how they succumb to programmed cell death and how they can be activated to fight cancer. The aim is to understand the role of the immune system in cancer and to develop novel vaccination strategies as well as antibody and cell therapies.

In order to make tumors in the body better visible, imaging technologies need to be continuously enhanced. This is the work of scientists in the Research Program Imaging and Radiooncology. Scientists are also developing new radiotherapy methods to specifically fight moving tumors while sparing healthy tissue at the same time.

Viruses can cause cancer. The underlying mechanisms are being investigated by scientists in the Research Program Infections and Cancer. Their aim is to develop vaccines against virus-induced cancers. Viruses that kill cancer cells are also being investigated, because they may be useful for treating some types of cancer.

In the Research Program Translational Cancer Research, the focus is on the transfer of approaches in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of cancer to clinical application.In this way, results from basic research can directly be used in the clinic. The departments of this Research Program are DKFZ-based research programs within the National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT) Heidelberg.

On this page you will find an overview of all divisions and research groups of DKFZ.

Researchers at DKFZ are provided with the best possible support in their scientific work by its six Core Facilities. They provide services and scientific know-how, pool resources and, thus, increase the efficiency of the research center as a whole.

Because cancer research needs strong partners, DKFZ maintains a multitude of national and international collaborations and is a member of numerous alliances.

last update: 25/04/2012 back to top

Forschung

Forschung

Am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ) forschen Wissenschaftler in über 70 Abteilungen, Forschungsgruppen und klinischen Kooperationseinheiten.  Diese sind sieben Forschungsschwerpunkten zugeordnet, die regelmäßig international begutachtet werden.

Im Forschungsschwerpunkt Zell- und Tumorbiologie untersuchen Wissenschaftler, welche Signalwege innerhalb der Zelle und zwischen Zellen für das Wachstum, die Ausbreitung und das Überleben von Krebszellen verantwortlich sind. Auch die Rolle von Tumorstammzellen bei der Entstehung und Ausbreitung von Krebs untersuchen Wissenschaftler in diesem Forschungsschwerpunkt.

Forscher des Schwerpunktes Funktionelle und strukturelle Genomforschung beschäftigen sich mit den genetischen Grundlagen von Krebs. Dazu vergleichen sie das Erbgut von Krebszellen mit dem gesunder Zellen. Anhand der Ergebnisse können sie neue Zielstrukturen für Diagnostik und Therapie entdecken und überprüfen. Bioinformatiker und Systembiologen verwerten die Daten aus Genomforschung und Tumorbiologie.

Im Forschungsschwerpunkt Krebsrisikofaktoren und Prävention führen Wissenschaftler epidemiologische Studien durch, um Zusammenhänge zwischen beispielsweise Umweltfaktoren und der Entstehung von Krebs aufzudecken.  Darüber hinaus identifizieren sie krebsvorbeugende Substanzen und klären deren Wirkmechanismen auf.

Wissenschaftler untersuchen im Forschungsschwerpunkt Tumorimmunologie, wie sich Zellen des Immunsystems entwickeln, wie sie dem programmierten Zelltod erliegen oder wie sie gegen Krebs aktiviert werden können. Ziel ist es,  die Rolle des Immunsystems bei Krebs zu verstehen und neue Impfstrategien sowie Antikörper- und Zelltherapien zu entwickeln.

Um Tumoren im Körper besser sichtbar zu machen, müssen bildgebende Verfahren ständig weiterentwickelt werden. Hieran arbeiten Wissenschaftler im Schwerpunkt Bildgebung und Radioonkologie. Außerdem entwickeln die Wissenschaftler neue strahlentherapeutische Verfahren, um auch bewegliche Tumoren gezielt zu bekämpfen, und dabei gleichzeitig  gesundes Gewebe zu schonen.

Viren können Krebs auslösen. Wie das funktioniert, untersuchen Wissenschaftler im Forschungsschwerpunkt Infektionen und Krebs. Ihr Ziel ist es, Impfstoffe gegen virusbedingte Krebserkrankungen zu entwickeln. Auch Viren, die Krebszellen abtöten, sind Gegenstand der Forschung, da diese zur Behandlung bestimmter Krebsarten geeignet sein können.

Im Forschungsschwerpunkt Translationale Krebsforschung werden Ansätze der Prävention, Diagnostik und Therapie in die klinische Anwendung übertragen. Auf diese Weise  lassen sich  Ergebnisse aus der Grundlagenforschung direkt in der Klinik nutzen. Die Abteilungen dieses Schwerpunkts sind als Forschungsprogramme des DKFZ im  Nationalen Centrum für Tumorerkrankungen (NCT) Heidelberg verankert.

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie einen Überblick über alle Abteilungen und Forschungsgruppen des DKFZ.

Um die Forscher des DKFZ bei der Bearbeitung wissenschaftlicher Fragestellungen bestmöglich zu unterstützen, existieren sechs Zentrale Einheiten (Core Facilities). Sie bieten Dienstleistungen und wissenschaftliches Know-how, bündeln Ressourcen und steigern dadurch die Effektivität des gesamten Forschungszentrums.

Weil Krebsforschung starke Partner braucht, unterhält das DKFZ eine Vielzahl an nationalen wie internationalen Kooperationen und ist Mitglied zahlreicher Allianzen.

nach oben