Transgenic Service

Frank van der Hoeven / Brittney Armstrong

Microinjection

Microinjection: Under a microscope, a fine needle (right) is inserted into a mouse embryonic cell held by a suction pipette.
© dkfz.de

The Transgenic Service supports scientists at the DKFZ in the generation of genetically modified (transgenic) mouse lines. This procedure involves inserting, changing or deleting DNA sequences in the animals' genetic material. Depending on the scientific question, an inserted gene can be translated into a biologically active protein, or a specific gene of the recipient animal can be modified or silenced.

Three main methods are used for generating genetically modified mice (e.g., as model systems for investigating human diseases):

DNA microinjection: Foreign DNA is injected into fertilized mouse egg cells (zygotes) which are borne by foster mice. Part of the newborn mice will have integrated the foreign DNA into their own genome.

CRISPR/Cas (endonuclease-mediated site-specific genome editing): RNA (gRNA and Cas9 mRNA) and DNA (template, if desired) are injected into fertilized mouse egg cells (zygotes) which are borne by foster mice. Part of the newborn mice will have integrated the desired genetic modification at the targeted location.

ES cell microinjection: DNA is introduced into embryonic stem cells (ES cells) of mice, which are then injected into early mouse embryos (blastocysts). The ES cells containing the foreign DNA will be integrated into the embryo. Thus, it is possible to generate chimeric mice with mutations in specific genes (such as "knockout" mice). The effects observed in mice with such knockout mutations provide insight on the biological function normally performed by the silenced gene.

Beyond that, the Transgenic Service offers a cryopreservation service for the safe storage of mouse spermatozoa or embryos in liquid nitrogen. This can be done to preserve mouse lines which are not currently in use. Cryopreserved lines can also be revitalized at the Transgenic Service.

These services are currently only available to DKFZ and DKTK scientists.
Detailed information and application forms can be found on our Intranet pages.

to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Transgen-Service

Ulrich Kloz / Frank van der Hoeven

Mikroinjektion

Mikroinjektion unter dem Mikroskop: Durch eine feine Kanüle (rechts) wird Erbmaterial in einen Mausembryo übertragen.
© dkfz.de

Der Transgen-Service unterstützt Wissenschaftler im DKFZ bei der Herstellung genetisch veränderter (transgener) Mauslinien. Dabei werden DNA-Sequenzen in das Erbgut der Tiere übertragen oder endogene Sequenzen verändert. Je nach wissenschaftlicher Fragestellung kann das eingefügte Gen in ein biologisch wirksames Eiweiß übersetzt oder ein bestimmtes Gen des Empfängertieres kann verändert oder stillgelegt werden.

Bei der Herstellung genetisch veränderter Mäuse (z.B. als Modellsysteme zur Erforschung menschlicher Erkrankungen) werden überwiegend drei Methoden genutzt:

DNA-Mikroinjektion: Fremde DNA wird in befruchtete Maus-Eizellen (Zygoten) injiziert, die von Ammenmäusen ausgetragen werden. Ein Teil der neugeborenen Mäuse hat die fremde DNA in die eigenen Erbanlagen integriert.

CRISPR/Cas Technik: Bei dieser Technik handelt es sich um eine Endonuklease vermittelte Genom Editierung. RNA (gRNA und Cas9 mRNA) und DNA (Template) werden in befruchtete Maus-Eizellen (Zygoten) injiziert und diese in Ammenmäuse transferiert. Ein Teil der geborenen Tiere besitzt eine Modifizierung des Mausgenoms an spezifischer Stelle.

ES-Zell-Mikroinjektion: DNA wird in embryonale Stammzellen von Mäusen (ES-Zellen) eingebracht und die genetisch modifizierten ES-Zellen in frühe Mausembryonen (Blastozysten) injiziert. Die Zellen mit der Fremd-DNA integrieren sich in den Embryo. So lassen sich Mäuse mit Mutationen in bestimmten Genen erzeugen (z.B. „Knock-out“-Mäuse). Die beobachteten Effekte bei Mäusen mit solchen Knock-out-Mutationen erlauben Rückschlüsse über die biologische Funktion, die das stillgelegte Gen normalerweise wahrnimmt.

nach oben