1. Hauptnavigation
  2. Navigation des Hauptbereiches
  3. Inhalt der Seite

Research Group Genomic Epidemiology

Dr. Federico Canzian

Study of genetic variation in relation to cancer risk and survival.
Vergrößerte Ansicht Study of genetic variation in relation to cancer risk and survival.

Our main focus is to investigate the relation between human genetic variability and susceptibility to cancer. Cancer risk is most likely influenced by inherited genetic variants conferring small to moderate risk of disease. Nevertheless, addition of small risks determined by single genetic variants can concur to increase or decrease significantly cancer susceptibility. We aim at identifying genetic variants that alter cancer risk, alone or in interaction with common environmental and lifestyle exposures, with the long-term goal of elaborating predictive models and adopting screening strategies for cancer prevention. Genetic variability is thought to be also responsible for the inter-individual differences observed in responses to drugs and in the onset of side effects, as well as long term outcomes (i.e. overall survival or event-free survival) of patients. Therefore, our objective is also to perform studies on pharmacogenetics and survival. To achieve the needed power to detect each small contribution to cancer risk we operate in the context of large-scale population-based studies (i.e. international cohorts and/or consortia). Our studies are mainly performed through the candidate gene (i.e. hypothesis driven exhaustive study of genetic variants in key genes) and the genome-wide (i.e. screening of thousand of variants in genome-wide association studies (GWAS)) approaches, including the following investigations to further characterize the best hits emerging from GWAS.

In the short and mid-term we plan to continue the expansion of the consortia on pancreatic cancer and multiple myeloma we created. We are actively trying to recruit new clinical collaborators and also to include cases and controls from prospective cohorts. So far our collections of cases and controls are almost exclusively including subjects of Caucasian origin, but we plan to expand the consortia to other ethnicities as well. In parallel with the focus on genetic factors influencing risk, response to treatment and survival, we plan to characterize our cancer cases and controls for other biomarkers or intermediate endpoints, which could affect cancer etiology as well. In particular, we are interested in somatic genetic alterations, telomere length, gene expression, methylation, mitochondrial copy number, as well as metabolomics. The techniques to measure these markers are either being set up in our lab or implemented in collaborating groups at DKFZ, or commercially available. The long-term goal of this approach is to generate rich, multi-dimensional dataset on cancer cases and controls, in order to have a more complete picture of genetic, epigenetic and environmental risk factors, which will provide useful insight in mechanisms of cancerogenesis.

Selected Publications

Campa D, Kaaks R, Le Marchand L, Haiman CA, Travis RC, Berg CD, Buring JE, Chanock SJ, Diver WR, Dostal L, Fournier A, Hankinson SE, Henderson BE, Hoover RN, Isaacs C, Johansson M, Kolonel LN, Kraft P, Lee IM, McCarty CA, Overvad K, Panico S, Peeters PH, Riboli E, Sanchez MJ, Schumacher FR, Skeie G, Stram DO, Thun MJ, Trichopoulos D, Zhang S, Ziegler RG, Hunter DJ, Lindström S, Canzian F. (2011). Interactions between genetic variants and breast cancer risk factors in the breast and prostate cancer cohort consortium. J. Natl. Cancer Inst. ,103(16), 1252-63

Rizzato C, Campa D, Giese N, Werner J, Rachakonda PS, Kumar R, Schanné M, Greenhalf W, Costello E, Khaw KT, Key TJ, Siddiq A, Lorenzo-Bermejo J, Burwinkel B, Neoptolemos JP, Büchler MW, Hoheisel JD, Bauer A, Canzian F. (2011). Pancreatic cancer susceptibility loci and their role in survival. PLoS One, 6(11), e27921

Martino A, Sainz J, Buda G, Jamroziak K, Reis RM, García-Sanz R, Jurado M, Ríos R, Szemraj-Rogucka Z, Marques H, Lesueur F, Moreno V, Orciuolo E, Gemignani F, Landi S, Rossi AM, Dumontet C, Petrini M, Campa D, Canzian F. (2012). Genetics and molecular epidemiology of multiple myeloma: the rationale for the IMMEnSE consortium. Int. J. Oncol., 40(3), 625-38

Rizzato C, Torres J, Plummer M, Muñoz N, Franceschi S, Camorlinga-Ponce M, Fuentes-Pananá EM, Canzian F, Kato I. (2012). Variations in Helicobacter pylori cytotoxin-associated genes and their influence in progression to gastric cancer: implications for prevention. PLoS One, 7(1), e29605

last update: 21/06/2012 back to top

Arbeitsgruppe Genomische Epidemiologie

Dr. Federico Canzian

© dkfz.de

Unser Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt darin, die Beziehung zwischen der genetischen Variabilität des Menschen und der Krebsanfälligkeit zu untersuchen. Das Krebsrisiko wird höchstwahrscheinlich durch vererbte genetische Varianten von kleineren bis mittleren Krankheitsrisiken beeinflusst. Dennoch kann ein geringes, durch eine einzelne genetische Variante bestimmtes Risiko zu einer deutlich höheren oder niedrigeren Krebsanfälligkeit führen. Unser Ziel ist es, genetische Varianten zu identifizieren, die das Krebsrisiko allein oder im Zusammenspiel mit gängigen Umwelt- und Lebensstilfaktoren verändern, wobei das langfristige Ziel die Erarbeitung von Prognose-Modellen und die Einführung von Screening-Strategien zur Krebsprävention ist. Wir nehmen an, dass die genetische Variabilität auch für die inter-individuellen Unterschiede bei der Reaktion auf Medikamente und bei der Entstehung von Nebenwirkungen verantwortlich ist, ebenso wie die langfristigen Folgen bei Patienten (z. B. die Gesamtüberlebenszeit oder das Ereignis-freie Überleben). Deshalb ist es auch unser Ziel, pharmako-genetische Studien und Überlebensstudien zu entwickeln. Wir arbeiten in der Regel im Rahmen von groß angelegten, bevölkerungsbezogenen, epidemiologischen Studien, die es erlauben, den kleinsten Beitrag zum Krebsrisiko festzustellen (z. B. internationale Kohorten und / oder Konsortien).

Kurz- und mittelfristig planen wir, die Konsortien für Bauchspeicheldrüsenkrebs und multiples Myelom weiter auszubauen. Wir suchen aktiv nach neuen klinischen Kollaborationen. Außerdem sollen Fälle und Kontrollen aus prospektiven Kohorten einbezogen werden. Bisher enthalten unsere Sammlungen fast ausschließlich Fälle und Kontrollen von Personen kaukasischer Herkunft, aber wir planen, die Konsortien für andere ethnische Gruppen zu erweitern. Parallel zur Untersuchung der genetischen Faktoren, die einen Einfluss auf das Risiko, die Behandlungsreaktionen und das Überleben haben, planen wir eine Charakterisierung unserer Krebs-Fälle und Kontrollen für andere Biomarker oder intermediäre Endpunkte, die die Krebs-Ätiologie beeinflussen könnten. Insbesondere interessieren wir uns für somatische genetische Veränderungen, Telomerlänge, Genexpression, Methylierung, mitochondriale Kopienzahl sowie Metabolome. Die Techniken, um diese Markierungen zu erfassen, sind entweder in unserem Labor oder in anderen Arbeitsgruppen am DKFZ vorhanden, oder kommerziell verfügbar. Das langfristige Ziel dieses Ansatzes ist es, einen umfassenden, mehrdimensionalen Datensatz von Krebs-Fällen und Kontrollen zu erhalten, um ein vollständigeres Bild der genetischen, epigenetischen und umweltbedingten Risikofaktoren zu erhalten, die nützliche Einblicke in Mechanismen der Krebsentstehung geben.

Die weiterführenden Seiten sind momentan nur in Englisch vorhanden.

Kontakt

Dr. Federico Canzian
Genomische Epidemiologie (C055)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 580
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 (0)6221 42 1791

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Zhang M, Wang Z, Obazee O, Jia J, Childs EJ, Hoskins J, Figlioli G, Mocci E, Collins I, Chung CC, Hautman C, Arslan AA, Beane-Freeman L, Bracci PM, Buring J, Duell EJ, Gallinger S, Giles GG, Goodman GE, Goodman PJ, Kamineni A, Kolonel LN, Kulke MH, Malats N, Olson SH, Sesso HD, Visvanathan K, White E, Zheng W, Abnet CC, Albanes D, Andreotti G, Brais L, Bueno-de-Mesquita HB, Basso D, Berndt SI, Boutron-Ruault MC, Bijlsma MF, Brenner H, Burdette L, Campa D, Caporaso NE, Capurso G, Cavestro GM, Cotterchio M, Costello E, Elena J, Boggi U, Gaziano JM, Gazouli M, Giovannucci EL, Goggins M, Gross M, Haiman CA, Hassan M, Helzlsouer KJ, Hu N, Hunter DJ, Iskierka-Jazdzewska E, Jenab M, Kaaks R, Key TJ, Khaw KT, Klein EA, Kogevinas M, Krogh V, Kupcinskas J, Kurtz RC, Landi MT, Landi S, Le Marchand L, Mambrini A, Mannisto S, Milne RL, Neale RE, Oberg AL, Panico S, Patel AV, Peeters PH, Peters U, Pezzilli R, Porta M, Purdue M, Quiros JR, Riboli E, Rothman N, Scarpa A, Scelo G, Shu XO, Silverman DT, Soucek P, Strobel O, Sund M, Ma?ecka-Panas E, Taylor PR, Tavano F, Travis RC, Thornquist M, Tjønneland A, Tobias GS, Trichopoulos D, Vashist Y, Vodicka P, Wactawski-Wende J, Wentzensen N, Yu H, Yu K, Zeleniuch-Jacquotte A, Kooperberg C, Risch HA, Jacobs EJ, Li D, Fuchs C, Hoover R, Hartge P, Chanock SJ, Petersen GM, Stolzenberg-Solomon RS, Wolpin BM, Kraft P, Klein AP, Canzian F, Amundadottir LT. Three new pancreatic cancer susceptibility signals identified on chromosomes 1q32.1, 5p15.33 and 8q24.21. Oncotarget. 2016 Oct 11;7(41):66328-66343.
  • Childs EJ, Mocci E, Campa D, Bracci PM, Gallinger S, Goggins M, Li D, Neale RE, Olson SH, Scelo G, Amundadottir LT, Bamlet WR, Bijlsma MF, Blackford A, Borges M, Brennan P, Brenner H, Bueno-de-Mesquita HB, Canzian F, Capurso G, Cavestro GM, Chaffee KG, Chanock SJ, Cleary SP, Cotterchio M, Foretova L, Fuchs C, Funel N, Gazouli M, Hassan M, Herman JM, Holcatova I, Holly EA, Hoover RN, Hung RJ, Janout V, Key TJ, Kupcinskas J, Kurtz RC, Landi S, Lu L, Malecka-Panas E, Mambrini A, Mohelnikova-Duchonova B, Neoptolemos JP, Oberg AL, Orlow I, Pasquali C, Pezzilli R, Rizzato C, Saldia A, Scarpa A, Stolzenberg-Solomon RZ, Strobel O, Tavano F, Vashist YK, Vodicka P, Wolpin BM, Yu H, Petersen GM, Risch HA, Klein AP. Common variation at 2p13.3, 3q29, 7p13 and 17q25.1 associated with susceptibility to pancreatic cancer. Nat Genet. 2015 Aug;47(8):911-6.
  • Campa D, Martino A, Varkonyi J, Lesueur F, Jamroziak K, Landi S, Jurczyszyn A, Marques H, Andersen V, Jurado M, Brenner H, Petrini M, Vogel U, García-Sanz R, Buda G, Gemignani F, Ríos R, Vangsted AJ, Dumontet C, Martínez-López J, Moreno MJ, St?pie? A, W?tek M, Moreno V, Dieffenbach AK, Rossi AM, Butterbach K, Jacobsen SE, Goldschmidt H, Sainz J, Hillengass J, Orciuolo E, Dudzi?ski M, Weinhold N, Reis RM, Canzian F. Risk of multiple myeloma is associated with polymorphisms within telomerase genes and telomere length. Int J Cancer. 2015 Mar 1;136(5):E351-8.
  • Ziv E, Dean E, Hu D, Martino A, Serie D, Curtin K, Campa D, Aftab B, Bracci P, Buda G, Zhao Y, Caswell-Jin J, Diasio R, Dumontet C, Dudzi?ski M, Fejerman L, Greenberg A, Huntsman S, Jamroziak K, Jurczyszyn A, Kumar S, Atanackovic D, Glenn M, Cannon-Albright LA, Jones B, Lee A, Marques H, Martin T, Martinez-Lopez J, Rajkumar V, Sainz J, Vangsted AJ, W?tek M, Wolf J, Slager S, Camp NJ, Canzian F, Vachon C. Genome-wide association study identifies variants at 16p13 associated with survival in multiple myeloma patients. Nat Commun. 2015 Jul 22;6:7539.
nach oben