Junior Research Group Pediatric Glioma Research

Dr. David T.W. Jones

Approximation of the frequencies of different histological groupings of pediatric low-grade glioma and associated molecular genetic alterations, split by location within the brain. Adapted from Sturm D, Pfister SM and Jones DTW, J Clin Oncol 2017.
© dkfz.de

Gliomas are the most common form of brain tumor found in children, in total accounting for about half of all central nervous system tumors in 0-19 year olds. Two major categories are usually distinguished: low-grade and high-grade glioma.

Low-grade gliomas are a histologically and biologically varied collection of tumor entities, which are often defined by genetic alterations in the mitogen-activated protein kinase (MAPK) pathway and are typically considered as benign tumors due to their good overall survival rates. This survival, however, often comes at a significant cost to quality of life due to effects of treatment as well as the tumor itself. Multiple recurrences over several years are also not uncommon, creating a heavy burden on patients and their families. Our research aims to learn more about the background of these tumors and their unusual growth behaviour, as well as to identify treatments that are more tailored to individual tumor biology and therefore hopefully have fewer side effects.

High-grade gliomas, in contrast, carry an extremely dismal prognosis. These highly aggressive tumors, most commonly glioblastoma or diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma (DIPG), typically display a much greater degree of genomic instability than lower-grade lesions. Combined disruption of multiple cellular processes leads to rapidly dividing cancer cells that diffusely infiltrate the surrounding normal brain tissue, with an almost universally fatal outcome. Our research in this area aims at understanding the heterogeneity both within single tumors and between individuals, to identify the most important patterns of alterations in the cellular machinery. We then try to recapitulate these changes in model systems, in order to understand their contribution to a cell becoming cancerous and also to test new therapies in a rationally targeted manner.

All of the work being conducted in the lab is based on the application of cutting-edge genomic (next-generation DNA/RNA sequencing), epigenomic (DNA methylation, ChIPseq), and functional technologies (CRISPR/Cas9, somatic gene transfer models) to enhance our understanding of the biological underpinnings of pediatric brain tumors. A further important focus of the group is the translation of this research into practical applications for the benefit of patients. To this end, we are closely involved in the coordination of two international molecular diagnostic programs: the INFORM study for identification of possible drug targets in high-risk pediatric cancers; and the MNP2 study to investigate the value of molecular analysis as a tool for accurate classification of brain tumors.

More information on the Pediatric Neurooncology community in Heidelberg can be found here.

Contact

Dr. David T.W. Jones
Pediatric Glioma Research ()
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 424675

Selected Publications

  • Bender S, Gronych J, Warnatz H-J, Hutter B, et al., and Pfister SM, Lichter P, Jones DTW Recurrent MET fusion genes represent a druggable target in paediatric glioblastoma. Nat Med. 2016 Nov;22(11):1314-1320 PMID: 27748748
  • Hovestadt V, Jones DTW, et al., and Radlwimmer B, Pfister SM, and Lichter P Decoding the regulatory landscape of medulloblastoma using DNA methylation sequencing. Nature 2014 Jun 26;510(7506):537-41 PMID: 24847876
  • Jones DTW, Hutter B, Jäger N, et al., Lichter P and Pfister SM Recurrent somatic alterations of FGFR1 and NTRK2 in pilocytic astrocytoma. Nat Genet 2013 Aug;45(8):927-32 PMID: 23817572
  • Jones DTW, Jäger N, et al., and Eils R, Pfister SM & Lichter P Dissecting the Genomic Complexity Underlying Medulloblastoma. Nature 2012 Aug 2;488(7409):100-5 PMID: 22832583
to top

Nachwuchsgruppe Pädiatrische Gliomforschung

Dr. David T.W. Jones

Häufigkeiten der verschiedenen histologischen Untergruppen von niedriggradigen Gliomen inklusive der assoziierten molekulargenetischen Veränderungen, aufgeteilt nach den möglichen Lokalisationen im Gehirn. Nach Sturm D, Pfister SM and Jones DTW, J Clin Oncol 2017.
© dkfz.de

Jeder zweite Tumor des Zentralnervensystems im Kindes- und Jugendalter (0-19 Jahre) ist ein Gliom, somit sind die Gliome die häufigste Form der kindlichen Hirntumore. Grundsätzlich werden zwei Kategorien unterschieden: niedriggradige und hochgradige Gliome.

Die niedriggradigen Gliome sind eine histologisch und biologisch sehr vielfältige Sammlung von Tumorentitäten, denen in den meisten Fällen eine genetische Veränderung im mitogen-activated protein kinase (MAPK) Signalweg gemeinsam ist. Aufgrund der hohen Überlebensraten werden sie im Allgemeinen als gutartige Tumoren angesehen. Bedingt durch die Therapien und den Tumor selbst geht die hohe Überlebensrate jedoch häufig auf Kosten der Lebensqualität. Zahlreiche Rückfälle über viele Jahre hinweg sind nicht selten und stellen eine große Belastung für die Patienten und ihre Familien dar. Durch unsere Arbeit möchten wir mehr über den biologischen Hintergrund und das ungewöhnliche Wachstumsverhalten dieser Tumoren lernen mit dem Ziel, neue Therapiemöglichkeiten zu identifizieren, die auf die Biologie der jeweiligen Tumoren zugeschnitten sind und dadurch möglicherweise weniger Nebenwirkungen mit sich bringen.

Im Gegensatz dazu haben die hochgradigen Gliome eine ausgesprochen schlechte Prognose. Diese hoch aggressiven Tumoren, meistens Glioblastome oder diffus intrinsische Ponsgliome (DIPG), zeigen typischerweise eine deutlich höhere genomische Instabilität als nieddriggradige Läsionen. Die kombinierte Störung zahlreicher zellulärer Prozesse und Signalwege bewirkt eine rasche Teilungsrate der Tumorzellen, die das umliegende Hirngewebe diffus infiltrieren. Das hat in aller Regel den Tod des Patienten zufolge. Unser wissenschaftliches Ziel in diesem Bereich ist es, die Tumorheterogenität sowohl innerhalb ein und desselben Tumors als auch zwischen verschiedenen Individuen zu verstehen und dadurch die entscheidenden Veränderungen in der Zellmaschinerie zu erkennen. Wir versuchen dann, diese mit Hilfe von verschiedenen Tumormodellen nachzustellen, um herauszufinden, welchen Beitrag sie jeweils dazu leisten, aus einer Zelle eine Tumorzelle zu machen. Weiterhin werden wir die Modelle nutzen, um neue zielgerichtete Therapien sinnvoll zu testen.

Die gesamte Laborarbeit basiert auf der Anwendung neuester und innovativster genomischer (next-generation DNA/RNA sequencing), epigenetischer (DNA methylation, ChIPseq) und funktioneller (CRISPR/Cas9, somatic gene transfer models) Technologien, um unser biologisches Verständnis pädiatrischer Hirntumoren zu verbessern. Ein weiterer wichtiger Fokus unserer Gruppe liegt auf der Translation der Forschungsergebnisse in die klinische Anwendung zum Wohle der Patienten. Wir sind daher federführend an zwei großen internationalen Programmen zur molekularen Diagnostik beteiligt: an der INFORM-Studie, die nach molekularen Veränderungen in den Tumoren von pädiatrischen Hochrisikopatienten sucht, die sich als Angriffspunkt für eine zielgerichtete Therapie eignen, und an der MNP2-Studie, die den Wert einer molekularen Diagnostik als Werkzeug zur akkuraten Klassifikation von Hirntumoren prüft.

Mehr Informationen über das Zentrum für pädiatrische Neuroonkologie in Heidelberg finden Sie hier.

Kontakt

Dr. David T.W. Jones
Pädiatrische Gliomforschung ()
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 424675

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Bender S, Gronych J, Warnatz H-J, Hutter B, et al., and Pfister SM, Lichter P, Jones DTW Recurrent MET fusion genes represent a druggable target in paediatric glioblastoma. Nat Med. 2016 Nov;22(11):1314-1320 PMID: 27748748
  • Hovestadt V, Jones DTW, et al., and Radlwimmer B, Pfister SM, and Lichter P Decoding the regulatory landscape of medulloblastoma using DNA methylation sequencing. Nature 2014 Jun 26;510(7506):537-41 PMID: 24847876
  • Jones DTW, Hutter B, Jäger N, et al., Lichter P and Pfister SM Recurrent somatic alterations of FGFR1 and NTRK2 in pilocytic astrocytoma. Nat Genet 2013 Aug;45(8):927-32 PMID: 23817572
  • Jones DTW, Jäger N, et al., and Eils R, Pfister SM & Lichter P Dissecting the Genomic Complexity Underlying Medulloblastoma. Nature 2012 Aug 2;488(7409):100-5 PMID: 22832583
nach oben