Mathias Heikenwälder – short CV


Since 2015 Group Leader and Professor at the German Cancer Research Centre in Heidelberg

2010-2015 Group leader and Helmholtz Young Investigator at the Technische Universität München (TUM)/ Helmholtz-Zentrum München, Institute of Virology and (W2) Professor.

2009-09 Habilitation in "Experimental Pathology", at the Medical Faculty, University of Zürich.

2007-08 Prof. Dr. Max Cloëtta fellow and independent group leader at the Department of Pathology and start as a principal investigator (PI).

2006-07 Staff scientist and lecturer in the Department of Pathology, Institute of Neuropathology.

2004-10 Postdoctoral fellow at the Institute of Neuropathology, Pathology Department, University Hospital Zürich (USZ), Switzerland.

2001-03 Ph.D. student in the group of Prof. Dr. Adriano Aguzzi, Institute of Neuropathology, University Hospital Zürich (USZ), Switzerland.

1999-10 Diploma student in the group of Prof. Dr. Martin Zenke, Max- Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC), Berlin, Germany.

1995-09 University Vienna, Austria studying Microbiology and Genetics

Fellowships and honors

2010-06 European research council (ERC) Young Investigator Starting grant award for the duration of 5 years for research conducted at the TUM/Helmholtz.

2010-02 „Hofschneider Stiftungsprofessur für biomedizinische Forschung" award including the salary of a W2-Professor, of one Ph.D. student and consumables for 3+2 years.

2009-10 Götz-Preis donated by the University of Zürich.

2009-09 "Helmholtz foundation young investigator group award", for the financial support of a young investigator group at the Helmholtz foundation, Munich.

2006-10 EMPIRIS award for BRAIN RESEARCH.

2004-11 "Creutzfeldt Wissenschaftspreis 2004" donated by the Creutzfeldt-Stiftung, Kiel, Germany.

2004-10 Fellowship award donated by the foundation for Research at the Medical faculty, University of Zürich, for the duration of 2 years.

2001-09 Fellowship award donated by the "Catello-family" grant for the period of 3 years.

1999-09 ERASMUS fellowship provided by the European Community and an "achievement-scholarship" provided by the department of foreign studies, University of Vienna, Austria for the duration of 9 months.

to top
powered by webEdition CMS