Cell Plasticity and Epigenetic Remodeling

Helmholtz University Junior Research Group Cell Plasticity and Epigenetic Remodeling

Dr. Darjus Tschaharganeh

Immunofluorescence image of the small intestine of an shRNA-transgenic mouse for studying tumor heterogeneity. The different fluorescence dyes (red, green, blue) indicate three different shRNAs.
© dkfz.de

Facilitated by advances in genome sequencing technologies during the past 30 years researchers are now able to obtain a comprehensive overview of genomic alterations in almost every cancer type. These data revealed a number of frequent alterations and mutational patterns in different cancer types, pinpointing to potential candidate “driver” genes for particular diseases. Although this information is very valuable it is purely descriptive. Therefore, subsequent functional studies in appropriate model systems are necessary to assign phenotypical consequences to these “drivers”, which not only help to understand cancer biology but also facilitate development of new therapeutic targets for personalized cancer medicine. Our laboratory has strong expertise in applying functional genomic tools, such as RNA-interference and CRISPR/Cas9, to create innovative and powerful mouse models of cancer. We use these tools to generate genetically defined tumors, which closely resemble alterations found in human cancer samples, thereby probing the function of specific genetic events on tumor development. Subsequently we utilize the models we create for investigating specific vulnerabilities created by these defined genetic events by employing state-of-the-art high-throughput screening technology in vitro and in vivo.

Our future research will continue to characterize cancer genomes using the functional genomics approaches outlined above. In particular we are interested in epigenetic modifications as well as genes responsible for mediating epigenetic remodeling. This group of genes is frequently altered in human cancer but remains poorly characterized. We aim to investigate their relevance in cancer development and to define their suitability to represent specific vulnerabilities for cancer therapy. In fact a variety of epigenetic drugs are currently under development and show promising success. Furthermore, our lab will develop technologies to interrogate epigenomes in vitro and in vivo to facilitate the study of epigenetic processes. More recently we are interested to adjust our mouse model technology for studying the impact of the immune system in tumorigenesis. Here our research will focus on constructing synthetic genetic circuits for visualizing and interrogating intercellular communication of tumor cells and immune cells as well as defining determinants for improving immunotherapeutic response.

Contact

Dr. Darjus Tschaharganeh
Cell Plasticity and Epigenetic Remodeling (F190)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 5634555

Selected Publications

  • Tschaharganeh DF, Xue W, Calvisi DF, Evert M, Michurina TV, Dow LE, Banito A, Katz SF, Kastenhuber ER, Weissmueller S, Huang CH, Lechel A, Andersen JB, Capper D, Zender L, Longerich T, Enikolopov G, Lowe SW. (2014). p53 dependent Nestin regulation links tumor suppression to cellular plasticity in liver cancer. Cell., 158(3):579-92.
  • Dow LE, O'Rourke KP, Simon J, Tschaharganeh DF, van Es JH, Clevers H, Lowe SW. (2015). APC restoration promotes cellular differentiation and reestablishes crypt homeostasis in colorectal cancer. Cell., 161(7):1539-52.
  • Tschaharganeh DF, Chen X, Latzko P, Malz M, Gaida MM, Felix K, Ladu S, Singer S, Pinna F, Gretz N, Sticht C, Tomasi ML, Delogu S, Evert M, Fan B, Ribback S, Jiang L, Brozzetti S, Bergmann F, Dombrowski F, Schirmacher P, Calvisi DF, Breuhahn K. (2013) Yes-associated protein up-regulates Jagged-1 and activates the Notch pathway in human hepatocellular carcinoma. Gastroenterology, 4(7):1530-1542.e12.
  • Lujambio A, Akkari L, Simon J, Grace D, Tschaharganeh DF, Bolden JE, Zhao Z, Thapar V, Joyce JA, Krizhanovsky V, Lowe SW. (2013). Non-cell-autonomous tumor suppression by p53. Cell., 153(2):449-60.
to top

Zellplastizität und epigenetische Remodellierung

Helmholtz-Hochschul-Nachwuchsgruppe Zellplastizität und epigenetische Remodellierung

Dr. Darjus Tschaharganeh

Immunofluoreszenz-Aufnahme des Dünndarms einer shRNA-transgenen Maus, welche für die Untersuchung von Tumorheterogenität genutzt wird. Die verschiedenen Fluoreszenzfarbstoffe (rot, grün, blau) indizieren drei verschiedene shRNAs.
© dkfz.de

Aufgrund der Fortschritte in Genom-Sequenzierungstechnologien der letzten 30 Jahre sind Forscher nun in der Lage, einen umfassenden Überblick genomischer Veränderungen in fast jeder Tumorentität zu erhalten. Diese Daten zeigen eine Vielzahl von Veränderungen und Mutationsmustern in verschiedenen Krebsarten, sogenannte potenzielle "Driver"-Gene. Obwohl diese Informationen sehr wertvoll sind, sind sie rein deskriptiv. Daher sind nachfolgende funktionelle Studien in geeigneten Modellsystemen notwendig, um phänotypische Konsequenzen diesen "Drivern" zuzuordnen. Diese Untersuchungen sind nicht nur wichtig, um die Tumorbiologie besser zu verstehen, sondern auch für die erfolgreiche Entwicklung neuer therapeutischer Zielstrukturen in der personalisierten Krebsmedizin. Unser Labor verfügt über Expertise in der Benutzung von funktionellen genomischen Tools, wie RNA-Interferenz und CRISPR/Cas9, und deren Anwendung in innovativen Tumor-Mausmodellen. Wir verwenden diese Werkzeuge, um genetisch definierte Tumoren zu erzeugen, die humanen Tumoren ähneln. Damit soll einerseits die Funktion von spezifischen genetischen Veränderungen auf die Tumorentwicklung untersucht werden, andererseits wollen wir therapeutische Schwachstellen, die durch definierte genetische Veränderungen entstehen, aufdecken.

Unsere Forschung wird auch künftig den beschriebenen funktionellen genomischen Ansatz verfolgen, um Krebsgenome zu charakterisieren. Insbesondere sind wir an epigenetischen Modifikationen sowie Genen, die für epigenetisches Remodeling verantwortlich sind, interessiert. Diese Gruppe von Genen ist häufig in humanen Tumorproben mutiert, jedoch bislang funktionell schlecht charakterisiert. Wir werden zukünftig die Relevanz dieser Gene bei der Krebsentstehung untersuchen und ihre Eignung als Angriffsziel für die Krebstherapie testen. Momentan wird eine Vielzahl von epigenetischen Medikamenten entwickelt und erste Studien zeigen viel versprechende Erfolge. Darüber hinaus wollen wir Technologien entwickeln, welche eine Modulierung des Epigenoms in vitro und in vivo ermöglichen mit dem Ziel, die Untersuchung epigenetischen Prozesse zu vereinfachen. Ferner soll unsere Maus-Modell Technologie weiterentwickelt werden, um die Rolle des Immunsystems bei der Tumorentstehung zu charakterisieren. Hier konzentriert sich unsere Forschung auf die Konstruktion von synthetisch-genetischen Schaltkreisen für die Visualisierung interzellulärer Kommunikation zwischen Tumorzellen und Immunzellen sowie auf die Untersuchung von Determinanten für eine erfolgreiche Immuntherapie.

Kontakt

Dr. Darjus Tschaharganeh
Zellplastizität und epigenetische Remodellierung (F190)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 5634555

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Tschaharganeh DF, Xue W, Calvisi DF, Evert M, Michurina TV, Dow LE, Banito A, Katz SF, Kastenhuber ER, Weissmueller S, Huang CH, Lechel A, Andersen JB, Capper D, Zender L, Longerich T, Enikolopov G, Lowe SW. (2014). p53 dependent Nestin regulation links tumor suppression to cellular plasticity in liver cancer. Cell., 158(3):579-92.
  • Dow LE, O'Rourke KP, Simon J, Tschaharganeh DF, van Es JH, Clevers H, Lowe SW. (2015). APC restoration promotes cellular differentiation and reestablishes crypt homeostasis in colorectal cancer. Cell., 161(7):1539-52.
  • Tschaharganeh DF, Chen X, Latzko P, Malz M, Gaida MM, Felix K, Ladu S, Singer S, Pinna F, Gretz N, Sticht C, Tomasi ML, Delogu S, Evert M, Fan B, Ribback S, Jiang L, Brozzetti S, Bergmann F, Dombrowski F, Schirmacher P, Calvisi DF, Breuhahn K. (2013) Yes-associated protein up-regulates Jagged-1 and activates the Notch pathway in human hepatocellular carcinoma. Gastroenterology, 4(7):1530-1542.e12.
  • Lujambio A, Akkari L, Simon J, Grace D, Tschaharganeh DF, Bolden JE, Zhao Z, Thapar V, Joyce JA, Krizhanovsky V, Lowe SW. (2013). Non-cell-autonomous tumor suppression by p53. Cell., 153(2):449-60.
nach oben