Helmholtz University Junior Research Group T Cell Metabolism

Dr. Guoliang Cui

B16 mouse melanoma tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes or TILs (left) are exhausted and express higher levels of inhibitory receptors (such as PD-1 and Lag-3) than splenic T cells (right). Our research goal is to understand how metabolism regulates anti-tumor T cell effector function and survival.
© dkfz.de

Cancers affect hundreds of millions of people worldwide. Immune cells, such as T cells, play a very important role in protection against cancer development. However, tumor-infiltrating T cells are frequently immunosuppressed or “exhausted”, which is characterized by expression of immune checkpoint molecules (such as PD-1, TIGIT, LAG-3, etc) and reduction of anti-tumor effector cytokines (such as IFNg, TNFa, etc). Immune checkpoint blockade has achieved huge clinical success in several types of cancers, but only a subset population of cancer patients benefit from it. This suggests that we may be still at the early stage in understanding the immunosuppressive nature of tumor microenvironment. Thus, one of the most important questions in this field is to identify the factors causing T cell exhaustion in the tumor. Our previous findings suggest that metabolites, such as lipids, regulate T cell survival and effector function. Based upon the previous work, our T Cell Metabolism group will use mouse melanoma models to identify the metabolic checkpoints regulating anti-tumor T cell bioenergetics, survival and effector functions.

The long-term research goal of our T Cell Metabolism group is to translate our findings made using the mouse models into clinical benefits. Particularly, we are interested in addressing the following questions: 1) which lipid metabolites regulate human anti-tumor T cell effector function and survival? 2) what is the mechanism underlying lipids-induced T cell immunosuppression and 3) how to enhance human anti-tumor T cell function by regulating the lipid metabolic pathways? These future studies may lead to novel immunotherapies by targeting T cell-intrinsic lipid metabolism.

Contact

Dr. Guoliang Cui
T Cell Metabolism (D140)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 1370

Selected Publications

  • Guoliang Cui, Matthew M. Staron, Simon M. Gray, Ping-Chih Ho, Robert A. Amezquita, Jingxia Wu and Susan M. Kaech. IL-7-Induced Glycerol transport and TAG synthesis Promotes Memory CD8+ T cell Longevity. (2015) Cell 161:750-761
  • Guoliang Cui, Xia Qin, Lili Wu, Yuebo Zhang, Xiaoyan Sheng, Qiwen Yu, Hongguang Sheng, Beili Xi, Jingwu Z. Zhang and Ying Qin Zang. Liver X receptor (LXR) mediates negative regulation of mouse and human Th17 differentiation (2011) The Journal of Clinical Investigation 121:658-670
  • Guoliang Cui, Xia Qin, Yuebo Zhang, Zhenwei Gong, Baoxue Ge and Ying Qin Zang. Berberine differentially modulates the activities of Erk, p38 MAPK and JNK to suppress Th17 and Th1 T cell differentiation in type 1 diabetic mice (2009) Journal of Biological Chemistry 284:28420-28429
  • Guoliang Cui, Yuebo Zhang, Zhenwei Gong, Jingwu Zhang, and Ying Qin Zang. Induction of CD4+CD25+Foxp3+ regulatory T cell response by glatiramer acetate in type 1 diabetes (2009) Cell Research 19(5), 574-583.
to top

Helmholtz-Hochschul-Nachwuchsgruppe T-Zell-Metabolismus

Dr. Guoliang Cui

Tumorinfiltrierende B16 Maus-Melanoma Lymphozyten (TILs) (links) sind erschöpft und exprimieren hohe Level an inhibitorischen Rezeptoren (z.B. PD-1 und Lag-3) im Vergleich zu Milz T-Zellen (rechts). Ziel unserer Forschung Ist es, zu verstehen, wie Stoffwechselwege die Effektorfunktionen und das Überleben von Anti-Tumor T-Zellen regulieren können.
© dkfz.de

Die Diagnose Krebs betrifft etliche Millionen Menschen weltweit. Immunzellen, wie zum Beispiel T-Zellen, können vor Tumorentwicklung schützen. Allerdings werden tumorinfiltrierende T-Zellen oftmals immunsupprimiert und fallen in eine Art „Erschöpfungszustand“, bei dem charakteristische Immun-Checkpoint Moleküle (PD-1, TIGIT, LAG-3, etc.) exprimiert und Anti-Tumor Effektorcytokine (IFNg, TNFa, etc.) herunterreguliert werden. Die Blockade von Immun-Checkpoint Molekülen hat in klinischen Studien bei der Behandlung verschiedenster Krebsarten große Erfolge erzielt, jedoch sprach nur ein kleiner Anteil betroffener Patienten tatsächlich auf diese Therapien an. Dies legt nahe, dass wir erst beginnen, die immunsuppressive Wirkung in der Tumorumgebung zu verstehen. Deshalb ist eine der wichtigsten Aufgaben in diesem Forschungsgebiet, die Faktoren zu identifizieren, die zu einer T-Zell Erschöpfung im Tumor führen. Unsere bisherigen Forschungsergebnisse deuten darauf hin, dass Metaboliten, wie zum Beispiel Lipide, großen Einfluss auf das Überleben und die Effektorfunktion von T-Zellen haben. Darauf aufbauend identifiziert und untersucht unsere T-Zell Metabolismus Gruppe mit Hilfe von Maus-Melanoma-Modellen die Stoffwechsel-Checkpoint Moleküle, die die Bioenergetik, das Überleben und die Effektorfunktion von Anti-Tumor T-Zellen bestimmen.

Langfristiges Ziel unserer Gruppe ist es, unsere in Mausmodellen erzielten Ergebnisse in die klinische Anwendung zu übertragen. Besonders interessieren uns dabei folgende Fragen: 1) Welche Lipid-Metaboliten regulieren im Menschen Anti-Tumor T-Zell Effektorfunktionen und -Überleben? 2) Welcher Mechanismus liegt lipidinduzierter T-Zell Immunsuppression zu Grunde? 3) Wie kann durch Regulation von Lipid-Stoffwechselwegen die Anti-Tumor Wirkung von T-Zellen verstärkt werden? Durch die Modulation von T-Zell eigenem Lipidstoffwechsel könnten in der Zukunft neue Immuntherapien entwickelt werden.

Kontakt

Dr. Guoliang Cui
T-Zell-Metabolismus (D140)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 1370

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Guoliang Cui, Matthew M. Staron, Simon M. Gray, Ping-Chih Ho, Robert A. Amezquita, Jingxia Wu and Susan M. Kaech. IL-7-Induced Glycerol transport and TAG synthesis Promotes Memory CD8+ T cell Longevity. (2015) Cell 161:750-761
  • Guoliang Cui, Xia Qin, Lili Wu, Yuebo Zhang, Xiaoyan Sheng, Qiwen Yu, Hongguang Sheng, Beili Xi, Jingwu Z. Zhang and Ying Qin Zang. Liver X receptor (LXR) mediates negative regulation of mouse and human Th17 differentiation (2011) The Journal of Clinical Investigation 121:658-670
  • Guoliang Cui, Xia Qin, Yuebo Zhang, Zhenwei Gong, Baoxue Ge and Ying Qin Zang. Berberine differentially modulates the activities of Erk, p38 MAPK and JNK to suppress Th17 and Th1 T cell differentiation in type 1 diabetic mice (2009) Journal of Biological Chemistry 284:28420-28429
  • Guoliang Cui, Yuebo Zhang, Zhenwei Gong, Jingwu Zhang, and Ying Qin Zang. Induction of CD4+CD25+Foxp3+ regulatory T cell response by glatiramer acetate in type 1 diabetes (2009) Cell Research 19(5), 574-583.
nach oben