1. Hauptnavigation
  2. Navigation des Hauptbereiches
  3. Inhalt der Seite

CHS Research Group Noroviruses

Dr. Grant Hansman

Schematic
representation
of norovirus
Vergrößerte Ansicht Schematic representation of norovirus

Noroviruses are the dominant cause of outbreaks of gastroenteritis around the world. Currently, there are no vaccines or antivirals for human noroviruses. Cross-protection from future norovirus infections is uncertain and it is not uncommon for re-infection with a genetically similar strain. The objective of our research group is to better understand the molecular basis of norovirus capsid antigenicity, flexibility, and interaction with receptors and binding factors. Ultimately, we expect to develop novel antivirals against human noroviruses.

Aim 1. Norovirus interactions with receptors
The human histo-blood group antigens (HBGAs) have been identified as potential co-factors for norovirus. The HBGAs are complex carbohydrates linked to proteins or lipids present on epithelial cells and other cells in the body or found as free antigens. At least nine different HBGAs have been described that can bind to norovirus. Noroviruses bind to HBGAs at the outer surface of the capsid. The interaction is coordinated by both hydrophobic and hydrophilic interactions, but the binding is different among the genetically diverse norovirus strains. Our group is currently deciphering the different norovirus interactions with a panel of HBGAs using X-ray crystallography.

Aim 2. Norovirus drug discovery
Recently, we analyzed the interaction of citrate with noroviruses using X-ray crystallography and saturation transfer difference (STD) NMR. We found that the citrate interaction was coordinated with an almost identical set of capsid interactions as involved in recognizing the terminal HBGA fucose, the saccharide that forms the primary conserved interaction between HBGAs and genogroup II noroviruses. STD NMR showed the protruding domain to have weak affinity for citrate, but could compete against the soluble HBGAs for the HBGA binding site. Our group is screening candidate drug molecules that bind and inhibit norovirus attachment to cells using a combination of X-ray crystallography, Biacore, and cell culture.

Aim 3. Norovirus capsid flexibility and antibody binding
Recently, we determined the cryo-EM structure of a human norovirus virus-like particle (VLP) and showed that the protruding (P) domain was raised off the shell (S) domain by ~15 Å. The exposed regions on the lower side of the P domain ultimately allowed monoclonal antibodies to bind at occluded sites on the VLPs. It was interesting to note that we found the human genogroup VLP was more similar to an infectious murine norovirus virion than to the prototype human norovirus VLP, which had a P domain resting on the S domain. Our group is currently studying other norovirus VLPs using a combination of X-ray crystallography and cryo-EM in order to identify sites of vulnerability, to untangle the importance of the flexible P domain, and to answer questions of antigenicity.

Aim 4. Development of a novel reverse genetics system for human noroviruses
Human noroviruses are uncultivable in cell culture, but reverse genetic systems have shown that VLPs can be generated and these were likely to be infectious. Our group plans to improve on previously developed reverse genetic systems and describe particle formation and viral entry using a variety of tools.

Selected Publications

Hansman GS, Taylor DW, McLellan JS, Smith TJ, Georgiev I, Tame JRH, Park SY, Yamazaki M, Gondaira F, Miki M, Katayama K, Murata K, and Kwong PD. (2012) Structural basis for broad detection of genogroup II noroviruses by a monoclonal antibody that binds to a site occluded in the viral particle. J Virol 86: 3635-3646.

Hansman GS, Shahzad-ul-Hussan S, McLellan JS, Chuang G, Georgiev I, Shimoike, T, Katayama K, Bewley, CA, and Kwong PD. (2012) Structural basis for norovirus inhibition and fucose mimicry by citrate. J Virol 86: 284-292.

Hansman GS, Biertümpfel C, Georgiev I, McLellan JS, Chen L, Zhou T, Katayama K, Kwong PD. (2011) Crystal Structures of GII.10 and GII.12 Norovirus Protruding Domains in Complex with Histo-Blood Group Antigens Reveal Details for a Potential Site of Vulnerability. J Virol 85: 6687-6701.

Ozawa K, Oka T, Takeda N Hansman GS (2007) Norovirus infections in symptomatic and asymptomatic food handlers in Japan. J Clin Microbiol 45: 3996-4005

last update: 13/02/2013 back to top

CHS Nachwuchsgruppe Noroviren

Dr. Grant Hansman

Schematische Darstellung eines Norovirus
© dkfz.de

Noroviren sind weltweit die häufigste Ursache von akuten Gastroenteritis-Ausbrüchen. Impfstoffe oder antivirale Medikamente gegen humane Noroviren stehen derzeit nicht zur Verfügung. Eine Schutzwirkung vor neuerlicher Infektion ist ungewiss und nicht selten treten Reinfektionen mit genetisch ähnlichen Norovirus-Stämmen auf. Ziel unserer Nachwuchsgruppe ist es, zu einem besseren Verständnis der molekularen Grundlagen der Antigenität des Noroviruskapsids, seiner Flexibilität und der Interaktionen mit Rezeptoren und Bindungsfaktoren zu gelangen. Wir hoffen, dadurch neuartige antivirale Mittel gegen humane Noroviren entwickeln zu können.

Ziel 1: Interaktionen zwischen Noroviren und Rezeptoren
Die humanen Histo-Blutgruppenantigene (HBGAs) wurden als potenzielle Kofaktoren für Noroviren identifiziert. Bei den HBGAs handelt es sich um komplexe Kohlenhydrate, die mit Proteinen oder Lipiden auf der Oberfläche von Epithelzellen und anderen Körperzellen verknüpft sind oder auch als freie Antigene vorkommen. Es wurden mindestens neun verschiedene HBGAs beschrieben, die an Noroviren binden können. Noroviren binden an der äußeren Oberfläche des Kapsids an HBGAs. Die Interaktion wird von hydrophoben wie auch hydrophilen Wechselwirkungen koordiniert, wobei sich die Bindung zwischen den genetisch vielfältigen Norovirusstämmen unterscheidet. Unsere Gruppe erforscht mittels Röntgenkristallographie die verschiedenen Interaktionen der Noroviren mit bestimmten HBGAs.

Ziel 2: Entwicklung von Medikamenten gegen Noroviren
Vor kurzem haben wir die Interaktion von Citrat mit Noroviren mithilfe der Röntgenkristallographie und der Saturation Transfer Difference (STD) NMR-Spektroskopie charakterisiert. Wir zeigten, dass die Bindung von Citrat an das Kapsid über eine Reihe von Interaktionsstellen vermittelt wird, die auch an der Erkennung der terminalen HBGA-Fucose durch das Kapsid beteiligt sind. Dieser Zucker vermittelt die wichtigste konservierte Wechselwirkung von HBGA mit Gruppe II-Noroviren. Obwohl Citrat eine relativ geringe Affinität zur P-Domäne hat, kann es die Bindung von löslichem HBGA an Kapside kompetitiv hemmen. Unsere Gruppe sucht momentan mit einer Kombination aus Röntgenkristallographie, Biacore-Technologie und Zellkultur geeignete Wirkstoffkandidaten, die an Noroviren binden und die Zellanheftung der Noroviren blockieren.

Ziel 3: Anpassungsfähigkeit des Noroviruskapsids und Antikörperbindung
Vor kurzem haben wir mittels Kryo-Elektronenmikroskopie (EM) die Struktur eines virusähnlichen Partikels (virus-like particle, VLP) des humanen Norovirus bestimmt. Wir konnten zeigen, dass die „P“- (protruding) Domäne ungefähr 15 Å über die „S“- (shell) Domäne herausragt. Die exponierten Regionen an der Untereite der P-Domäne ermöglichen die Bindung von monoklonalen Antikörpern an verdeckten Stellen auf den VLPs. Ein interessanter Befund war, dass das VLP der humanen Genogruppe einem infektiösen murinen Norovirus-Partikel ähnlicher war als dem des prototypischen humanen Norovirus-VLP, bei dem die P-Domäne auf der S-Domäne aufliegt. Wir untersuchen derzeit andere Norovirus-VLPs mit Hilfe einer Kombination aus Röntgenkristallographie und Kryo-EM, um Angriffspunkte zu identifizieren, die Bedeutung der flexiben P-Domäne aufzuklären und die Antigenität bestimmter Regionen zu verstehen.

Ziel 4: Entwicklung eines neuen „Reverse Genetic“-Systems für humane Noroviren
Humane Noroviren lassen sich im Labor nicht kultivieren. Mit Methoden der reversen Genetik können aber VLPs erzeugt werden, die vermutlich infektiös sind. Unsere Gruppe plant, die bereits entwickelten Methoden der reversen Genetik zu optimieren und mit Hilfe dieses Systems die Bildung von Viruspartikeln sowie den Viruseintritt mittels verschiedener Methoden zu charakterisieren.

Weiterführende Informationen sind zur Zeit nur in Englisch verfügbar.

Kontakt

Dr. Grant Hansman
Noroviren (F150)

CHS Nachwuchsgruppe am CellNetworks Cluster der Universität und am DKFZ
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 242
69120 Heidelberg

Tel: +49 6221 42-1520
E-Mail: g.hansman@dkfz.de

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Koromyslova A.D. & Hansman G. (2015). Nanobody binding to a conserved epitope promotes norovirus particle disassembly. J Virol, 89(5), 2718-2730.
  • Leuthold M.M. et al. (2015). Structural analysis of a rabbit hemorrhagic disease virus binding to histo-blood group antigens. J Virol, 89(4), 2378-2387.
  • Singh B.K. et al. (2015). Human noroviruses' fondness for histo-blood group antigens. J Virol, 89(4), 2024-2040.
  • Singh B.K. et al. (2015). Structural analysis of a feline norovirus protruding domain. Virology, 474, 181-185.
nach oben