Use Cases

Use cases

© xijian

Support in Therapy Decision-Making upon Molecular Diagnosis

Overview

Within the MASTER program, tumor biopsies from NCT patients with rare oncological diseases or complex progressions undergo extensive molecular testing in order to determine clinically relevant patient- and/or tumor-specific mutations. Based on these molecular modifications, individual therapies or clinical trials that can positively influence the progression shall be identified.

Status Quo

DKFZ’s bioinformatics experts are currently processing the results of the molecular testing and making them available to the NCT oncologists as a spreadsheet. Usually there are several hundreds of modifications per patient that the oncologist evaluates with the help of external knowledge databases concerning their therapeutic significance and the option of recruiting the patient into a clinical trial. The therapy decision has to take into account non-genetic clinical data as well. Overall, this is a very time-consuming task.

Support from the DTH

By integrating the genetic data from bioinformatics and the clinical data from the cancer registry in the DTH, we can provide our oncologists with the comprehensive overview of a patient they require in order arrive at a therapy decision. The link to external knowledge databases providing information on clinical trials and drugs related to genetic mutations enables the oncologists to make a therapy decision considering the molecular data within a very short time.

Key Features

  • Doctors can access the records of individual patients participating in the MASTER program based on identifying data (IDAT; ideally first and last name) or Xten (available from the PSN service at the clinical trial center) and view their genetic and clinical data.
  • These data are processed and displayed in a special way for the MASTER program.
  • Possible therapies and clinical trials are pointed out. The hints to them stem from external knowledge databases.

Statistical Analyses

Overview

The DTH allows for detailed analyses of the patient flows within NCT. It offers the option of building cohorts based on clinical data and determining their size within a given time frame (e.g. per quarter).

A simple example: How many patients diagnosed with colorectal carcinoma are being treated at NCT every quarter?

Status Quo

At the moment, the goals described above are reached by various time-consuming queries to the hospital information system (HIS) and the NCT patient registry. In the HIS, these require special access rights the administrative staff does not have; therefore, the queries are placed by IT administrators. In the registry, this task is carried out by the IT department. This makes autonomous, up-to-date statistical queries impossible.

Support from the DTH

By integrating the clinical data from the HIS and the NCT registry in the DTH, and thanks to fine-grained access rights, administrative staff can place such simple statistical queries.

The greater the amount of structured data in the DTH (e.g. if more hospital systems are integrated), the more complex the queries that may be placed.

Key Features

  • Staff without IDAT access rights must be able to do statistical analyses autonomously.
  • This does not necessarily have to be possible on an up-to-date basis, but the delay of the NCT registry should be undercut considerably.

Support in the Recruitment of Patients for Clinical Trials

Overview

NCT aims at affording every oncological patient at Heidelberg University Hospital the option of participating in an innovative clinical trial. This requires intensive support in the recruitment process due to exceedingly complex inclusion and exclusion criteria.

Status Quo

There are currently different approaches to identifying potential participants in clinical trials.

  1. The attending doctors point out potential study patients and the clinical trial offices review their eligibility.
  2. Using the work lists of the oncological outpatient clinics, the clinical trial offices search Heidelberg University Hospital’s HIS for potential study patients.

Inclusion and exclusion criteria can be very complex and rich in detail. Only rarely are all of them included in clinical documentation systems, and if so, they are scattered across different documents in one system or even several systems. Accordingly, comparing all of them is a very time-consuming task.

Support from the DTH

Through the availability in the DTH of both relevant information on all oncological trials as well as clinical data on all oncological patients at NCT, the clinical trial offices are able to perform targeted searches for all potential trial participants in one system.
Even the DTH will never contain all inclusion and exclusion criteria in a structured manner – but a pre-filtering of recurring criteria shall reduce the work load for recruitment.
Collaboration features such as circulating information on patients identified in the SAP Web application Medical Research Insights (MRI) to trial doctors and assistants, commenting features, establishment of workflows etc. would be desirable.

Key Features

  1. Display of potential study patients in a bar graph and as a spreadsheet (number, IDAT)
  2. Display criteria: the relevant subset of inclusion and exclusion criteria documented in the source systems
  3. Switch from the spreadsheet view to the patient history; subsequent browsing through the patient history of all patients included in the cohort.
  4. Switch from the spreadsheet view and the patient history to the patient’s document list in the HIS
  5. Support of the HIS authorization scheme
  6. Collaborative features for staff participating in the trial

to top

Anwendungsfälle

Use case

© xijian

Unterstützung bei der Therapieentscheidung bei molekularen Befunden

Überblick

Im Rahmen des MASTER-Programmes werden Tumorbiopsien von NCT-Patienten mit seltenen onkologischen Erkrankungen oder komplexen Krankheitsverläufen umfassend molekular untersucht, um klinisch relevante patienten- und/oder tumorspezifische Mutationen zu identifizieren. Anhand dieser molekularen Veränderungen sollen individuelle Therapien oder Studien gefunden werden, die den Krankheitsverlauf positiv beeinflussen können.

Status Quo

Aktuell werden die Ergebnisse der molekularen Untersuchung von der Bioinformatik des DKFZ aufbereitet und als Exceldatei den Onkologen im NCT zur Verfügung gestellt. Es handelt sich in der Regel um mehrere hunderte molekulare Veränderungen pro Patient, die der Onkologe unter Nutzung externer Wissensdatenbanken mit Blick auf eine therapeutische Bedeutung und die Möglichkeit eines Studieneinschlusses beurteilt. Bei der Therapieentscheidung müssen auch nicht genetische, klinische Daten berücksichtigt werden. Insgesamt ist dies eine sehr zeitintensive Aufgabe.

Unterstützung durch das DTH

Durch die Zusammenführung der genetischen Daten der Bioinformatik und der klinischen Daten aus dem Krebsregister im DTH können wir unseren Onkologen den für die Therapieentscheidung benötigten umfassenden Überblick über einen Patienten verschaffen. Die Anbindung externer Wissensdatenbanken, die Informationen zu Studien und Medikamenten in Bezug zu genetischen Mutationen anbieten, ermöglicht unseren Onkologen in kürzerer Zeit eine, die molekularen Daten berücksichtigende, Therapieentscheidung zu treffen.

Schlüsselanforderungen

  • Ärzte können auf Basis von identifizierenden Daten (IDAT), dies sind idealerweise Vor- und Nachname, oder einem Pseudonym (PSN) wie dem  Xten-Pseudonym des  PSN-Dienstes der NCT-Studienzentrale, einzelne Patienten, die am MASTER Programm teilnehmen, aufrufen und die genetischen und klinischen Daten einsehen.
  • Diese Daten sind für das MASTER Programm speziell aufbereitet und dargestellt.
  • Es wird aktiv auf Therapien und Studien hingewiesen. Dieser Hinweis stammt aus externen Wissensdatenbanken.

Statistische Auswertungen

Überblick

Das DTH erlaubt detaillierte Analysen des Patientenaufkommens im NCT. Es bietet die Möglichkeit, auf Basis der klinischen Daten Kohorten zu bilden und deren Größe in Zeiträumen (z.B. pro Quartal) zu bestimmen.
Ein einfaches Beispiel:
Wie viele Patienten mit der Diagnose „kolorektales Karzinom“ werden im NCT pro Quartal behandelt.

Status Quo

Aktuell werden die genannten Ziele durch verschiedene zeitaufwändige Abfragen im Krankenhaus Informationssystem (KIS) und dem NCT-Register erreicht. Dazu im KIS spezielle Benutzerrechte nötig, über die das Verwaltungspersonal nicht verfügt, daher werden die Anfragen hier von Administratoren durchgeführt. Im Register erledigt die IT-Abteilung diese Aufgabe. Selbstständig und tagesaktuell sind statistische Abfragen so nicht möglich.

Unterstützung durch das DTH

Durch die Zusammenführung der klinischen Daten aus KIS und NCT-Register im DTh können solche einfachen statistischen Abfragen, dank feingranularer Benutzerberichtigungen, selbstständig von dem Verwaltungspersonal durchgeführt werden.
Je größer die Anzahl strukturierter Daten im DTH ist (etwa weil mehr klinische Systeme angebunden werden), desto komplexere Abfragen sind möglich.

Schlüsselanforderungen

  • Mitarbeiter ohne die Berechtigung, IDATs einsehen zu dürfen, müssen selbstständig statistische Auswertungen durchführen können.
  • Dies muss nicht tagesaktuell sein, aber die zeitliche Verzögerung des NCT Registers sollte deutlich unterboten werden.

Unterstützung bei der Rekrutierung von Patienten in klinische Studien

Überblick

Das NCT hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, langfristig jedem onkologischen Patienten im Uniklinikum Heidelberg die Möglichkeit zu geben, an einer innovativen klinischen Studie teilzunehmen. Dazu muss die Rekrutierung von Studienpatienten bei immer komplexeren Ein- und Ausschlusskriterien intensiv unterstützt werden.

Status Quo

Es gibt aktuell verschiedene Ansätze Studienpatienten zu identifizieren.

  1. Die behandelnden Ärzte weisen auf potentielle Studienpatienten hin und die Studiensekretariate überprüfen deren Eignung.
  2. Die Studiensekretariate suchen im KIS des UKHD nach potentiellen Studienpatienten. Dabei werden die Arbeitslisten der onkologischen Ambulanzen verwendet.

Ein- und Ausschlusskriterien von Studien können sehr komplex und detailreich sein. Selten sind alle Kriterien in den klinischen Dokumentationssystemen enthalten. Sind sie vorhanden, dann sind sie häufig auf verschiedene Dokumente in einem System oder gar verschiedene Systeme verteilt. Der manuelle Abgleich ist entsprechend zeitintensiv.

Unterstützung durch das DTH

Die Verfügbarkeit sowohl der relevanten Informationen zu allen onkologischen Studien als auch der klinischen Daten zu allen onkologischen Patienten des NCT im DTH erlaubt den Studiensekretariaten die gezielte Suche nach potentiellen Studienpatienten in einem System.
Auch im DTH werden nie alle Ein- und Ausschlusskriterien strukturiert enthalten sein. Aber eine Vorfilterung über häufig vorkommende Kriterien soll den Arbeitsaufwand zur Rekrutierung deutlich reduzieren.
Kooperationsfunktionen wie die Weitergabe von identifizierten Patienten in der SAP Webanwendung Medical Research Insights (MRI) an Studienärzte und Studienassistentinnen, Kommentarfunktionen, Einrichtung von Workflows etc. wären wünschenswert.

Schlüsselfunktionen

  1. Anzeige der für Studien in Frage kommenden Patienten in einem Balkendiagramm und einer tabellarischen Ansicht (Anzahl, IDAT).
  2. Kriterium für die Anzeige ist die relevante, in den Quellsystemen dokumentierte Untermenge der Ein- und Ausschlusskriterien
  3. Absprung aus der tabellarischen Ansicht in die Patientenhistorie. Anschließendes Durchblättern der Patientenhistorie aller in der Kohorte enthaltenen Patienten.
  4. Absprung aus der tabellarischen Ansicht und der Patientenhistorie in die Dokumentenliste des Patienten in ISH.
  5. Unterstützung des ISH-Berechtigungskonzeptes
  6. Kooperationsfunktionen innerhalb der an einer Studie beteiligten Mitarbeiter.

nach oben