Medical Informatics for Translational Oncology

Division of Medical Informatics for Translational Oncology

Prof. Dr. Frank Ückert

© dkfz.de

Our agile working team of individual talents pursues a vision: We want to turn highly complex data, along with the experiences of others and in partnership with experts from different disciplines, into knowledge that can be used against cancer.

In the department "Medical Informatics for Translational Oncology" (E240), or MITRO for short, we create innovative processes as well as tailor-made methods and tools for physicians and researchers in order to open up heterogeneous databases for cancer research, enable interdisciplinary and international cooperation and provide complex analyzes simplify.

To do this, we work to integrate data from different sources to the same patient and / or subjects in an IT system, which we call "Electronic Science Record" (ESR). A component of the ESR, which also uses various analysis tools such as MRI on HANA from SAP, cBioPortal and tranSMART, is our Data Warehouse. The data collected here, for example MR series, complete genome sequences and phenotype descriptions, are automatically combined with information from publications and from a variety of databases. From this we want to provide, via knowledge of models, but also algorithms of machine learning, clinical decision support and generate research hypotheses, but also contribute to a deeper understanding of the disease.

The added value of bringing together data holders and methodologists benefits molecular biologists and data-explorers.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Frank Ückert
Medical Informatics for Translational Oncology (E240)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42-5101

Selected Publications

  • Storf H, Stausberg J, Kindle G, Quadder B, Schlangen M, Walter MC, Ückert F, Wagner TOF (2020): Patientenregister für Seltene Erkrankungen in Deutschland: Konzeptpapier der Strategiegruppe „Register“ des Nationalen Aktionsbündnisses für Menschen mit Seltenen Erkrankungen (NAMSE). Bundesgesundheitsblatt, Gesundheitsforschung, Gesundheitsschutz. 2020 May. doi:10.1007/s00103-020-03151-6.
  • Ahlbrandt J, Lablans M, Glocker K, Stahl-Toyota S, Maier-Hein K, Maier-Hein L, Ückert F. (2018): Modern Information Technology for Cancer Research: Whats in IT for Me? An Overview of Technologies and Approches. In: Oncology, 2018 Nov 15:1-7. DOI: 10.1159/000493638.
  • Lablans, Martin; Kadioglu, Dennis; Mate, Sebastian; Leb, Ines; Prokosch, Hans-Ulrich; Ückert, Frank (2016): Strategien zur Vernetzung von Biobanken. Klassifizierung verschiedener Ansätze zur Probensuche und Ausblick auf die Zukunft in der BBMRI-ERIC. In: Bundesgesundheitsblatt, Gesundheitsforschung, Gesundheitsschutz 59 (3), S. 373–378. DOI: 10.1007/s00103-015-2299-y.
  • Lablans, Martin; Borg, Andreas; Ückert, Frank (2015): A RESTful interface to pseudonymization services in modern web applications. In: BMC medical informatics and decision making 15, S. 2. DOI: 10.1186/s12911-014-0123-5.
to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Medizinische Informatik in der Translationalen Onkologie

Abteilung Medizinische Informatik in der Translationalen Onkologie

Prof. Dr. Frank Ückert

Föderation verteilten Wissens zur gemeinsamen Nutzung in der Forschung (stark vereinfacht)
© dkfz.de

Unser Team arbeitet daran, hochkomplexe Daten in Wissen zu verwandeln, das bei der Bekämpfung von Krebs eingesetzt werden kann. Dazu arbeiten wir mit anderen Experten interdisziplinär zusammen und greifen auf deren Erfahrungen zurück.

Die Mitarbeiter der Abteilung „Medizinische Informatik in der Translationalen Onkologie“ (E240), oder kurz MITRO, entwickeln innovative Prozesse sowie maßgeschneiderte Methoden und Werkzeuge für Ärzte und Forscher, um heterogene Datenbestände für die Krebsforschung nutzbar zu machen, interdisziplinäre und internationale Kooperationen zu ermöglichen und komplexe Analysen zu vereinfachen.

Zu diesem Zweck arbeiten wir daran, Daten aus verschiedenen Quellen für denselben Patienten und/oder Probanden in ein IT-System zu integrieren, das wir als „Electronic Science Record“ (ESR) bezeichnen. Ein Bestandteil des ESR, der auch diverse Analysewerkzeuge wie MRI auf HANA von SAP, cBioPortal und tranSMART benutzt, ist unser Data Warehouse. Die hier gesammelten Daten, beispielsweise MR-Serien, vollständige Genomsequenzen und Phänotypbeschreibungen, kombinieren wir automatisch mit Informationen aus Veröffentlichungen und verschiedenen Datenbanken. Daraus wollen wir – über die Kenntnis von Modellen, aber auch über Algorithmen des maschinellen Lernens - klinische Entscheidungshilfen liefern und Forschungshypothesen entwerfen, aber auch zu einem tieferen Verständnis der Erkrankung beitragen.

Der Mehrwert, Dateninhaber und Methodiker zusammenzubringen, kommt molekularbiologisch tätigen Ärzten und Datenforschern zugute.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Frank Ückert
Medizinische Informatik in der Translationalen Onkologie (E240)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42-5101

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Lablans, M., Kadioglu, D., Mate, S., Leb, I. Prokosch, H.-U. & Ueckert, F. (2016). Strategien zur Vernetzung von Biobanken. Bundesgesundheitsblatt 59:373-378
  • Ückert F., Ammenwerth E., Dujat C., Grant A., Haux R., Hein A., Hochlehnert A., Knaup-Gregori P., Kulikowski C., Mantas J., Maojo V., Marschollek M., Moura L., Plischke M., Röhrig R., Stausberg J., Takabayashi K., Winter A., Wolf K.H., Hasman A. (2014). Past and next 10 years of medical informatics. J Med Syst. 38(7), 74
  • Lablans, M., Kadioglu, D., Muscholl, M. & Ueckert, F. (2015). Exploiting Distributed, Heterogeneous and Sensitive Data Stocks while Maintaining the Owner’s Data Sovereignty. Methods Inf Med 2015; 54(4), 346-352
  • Lablans, M., Borg, A. & Ueckert, F. (2015). A RESTful interface to pseudonymization services in modern web applications. BMC Med Inform Decis Mak., 15:2
nach oben