1. Hauptnavigation
  2. Navigation des Hauptbereiches
  3. Inhalt der Seite

DKFZ Junior Group Metabolism and Stem Cell Plasticity

Dr. Alexandros Vegiopoulos

Genomic expression profiling of FACS-isolated mesenchymal stem cells, following cell programming towards an oxidative character.
Vergrößerte Ansicht Genomic expression profiling of FACS-isolated mesenchymal stem cells, following cell programming towards an oxidative character.

The work of the Vegiopoulos lab aims at understanding the control of stem cell function by organismal metabolism. We focus on adipose tissue mesenchymal stem/stromal cells (MSCs) - immature cells partly associated with the vasculature - which contribute to tissue remodelling by adopting different fates incl. the formation of new adipocytes. In particular, we are interested in the role of MSCs in nutrition-driven early adipose tissue growth, leading to childhood obesity and the programming of adult metabolic disease. In addition, we are exploring the regulation of the oxidative brown adipocyte fate of MSCs, which is triggered by organismal cold exposure and conveys protection from metabolic disease.

The mechanisms relaying systemic metabolic states into MSC responses as well as the regulation of plasticity of these cells are far from being understood. Our goal has been to dissect the metabolic and signalling networks driving MSC responses, in particular cell activation and proliferation, as well as programming of differentiation. In this direction we have recently demonstrated a key signalling role of prostaglandins in the activation of adipose tissue MSCs and the induction of lipid-burning brown adipocytes.

The direction of our research is driven by three specific objectives.

  • To understand how the microenvironment relays systemic metabolic states to control MSC proliferation and adipose tissue expansion in early-onset obesity.
  • To define the long-term consequences of young-age MSC responses for body weight regulation and chronic disease risk.
  • To identify signalling pathways controlling MSC fate, in particular the differentiation towards white versus beneficial oxidative adipocytes.

    Our approach is based on 3 pillars: (A) mouse models for environmental metabolic challenges, including nutritional manipulation, (B) primary MSC culture systems, enabling molecular investigation under niche-like conditions, and (C) patient-specific human adipose tissue MSCs. In combination with the manipulation of target pathways this approach enables us to investigate the molecular mechanisms linking organismal metabolism to MSC function. Through our cooperation with the Institute of Diabetes and Cancer at the Helmholtz Center Munich we have access to state-of-the-art technology and expertise in the field of metabolism.

    With our work we envisage to reach conclusions relevant to the prevention and management of childhood obesity as well as its relation to adult metabolic disease. Finally, given that obesity increases the risk of cancer, we expect to contribute to the elucidation of common mechanistic links between organismal metabolism and normal versus neoplastic tissue growth.

Selected Publications

Bayindir, I., Babaeikelishomi, R., Kocanova, S., Sousa, I.S., Lerch, S., Hardt, O., Wild, S., Bosio, A., Bystricky, K., Herzig, S., & Vegiopoulos, A. (2015). Transcriptional Pathways in cPGI2-Induced Adipocyte Progenitor Activation for Browning. Frontiers in Endocrinology (Lausanne) 6, 129

Vegiopoulos, A., Müller-Decker, K., Strzoda, D., Schmitt, I., Chichelnitskiy, E., Ostertag, A., Berriel Diaz, M., Rozman, J., Hrabe de Angelis, M., Nüsing, R.M., Meyer, C.W., Wahli, W., Klingenspor, M., & Herzig, S. (2010). Cyclooxygenase-2 controls energy homeostasis in mice by de novo recruitment of brown adipocytes. Science, 328(5982), 1158-61

Herzig, S. & Vegiopoulos, A. (2012). Obesity, Diabetes and Cancer. Adipositas, 6, 48-51

Berriel Díaz, M., Herzig, S., & Vegiopoulos, A. (2014). Thermogenic adipocytes: From cells to physiology and medicine. Metabolism, 63(10), 1238-49

last update: 12/10/2015 back to top

Metabolismus und Stammzellplastizität

DKFZ-Juniorgruppe Metabolismus und Stammzellplastizität

Dr. Alexandros Vegiopoulos

Genomische Expressionsanalyse an mesenchymalen Stammzellen nach FACS-Isolation und Zellprogrammierung in Richtung oxidativen Stoffwechsels.
© dkfz.de

Der Schwerpunkt unserer Arbeit liegt darin, zu verstehen, wie Stammzellen durch den Stoffwechsel des Organismus gesteuert werden. Wir konzentrieren uns auf mesenchymale Stamm-/Stromazellen (MSCs) des Fettgewebes. Dabei handelt es sich um zum Teil mit Blutgefäßen assoziierte, unreife Zellen, die zu Gewebe-Umwandlungen beitragen, indem sie zu verschiedenen Zelltypen werden, einschließlich neuer Fettzellen. Insbesondere gilt unser Interesse der Rolle von MSCs beim frühen ernährungsbedingten Wachstum des Fettgewebes im Zusammenhang mit der Entstehung der Adipositas im Kindesalter und der Programmierung von späteren Stoffwechselerkrankungen. Zusätzlich untersuchen wir den kälteinduzierten Differenzierungsweg von MSCs zu oxidativen braunen Adipozyten und deren vor Stoffwechselerkrankungen schützende Eigenschaften.

Die molekularen Schaltstellen, die Informationen über den systemischen Stoffwechselstatus an die MSCs weiterleiten und somit deren Reaktionen kontrollieren, sind weitgehend unbekannt. Unser Ziel ist es, neuartige Stoffwechsel- und Signalleitungsnetzwerke in MSCs zu identifizieren, welche die Zellaktivierung und -proliferation, sowie die Programmierung der Zelldifferenzierung im Kontext von stoffwechselrelevanten Umwelteinflüssen steuern. In diesem Zusammenhang haben wir vor kurzem eine Schlüsselrolle von Prostaglandinen bei der Signalleitung und Differenzierung von fettverbrennenden braunen Adipozyten aus MSCs beschrieben.

Unsere zukünftigen Aktivitäten zielen auf drei Hauptaspekte:

  • Aufklärung der Prozesse, durch die die Mikroumgebung in Abhängigkeit vom systemischen Stoffwechselstatus die MSC-Proliferation und das Wachstum des Fettgewebes im Kindesalter steuert.
  • Bestimmung der Langzeit-Konsequenzen von frühen MSC-Reaktionen für die Regulation des Körpergewichts und das Risiko der Entstehung chronischer Erkrankungen.
  • Identifikation von Signalleitungswegen, die für die Programmierung der MSC-Differenzierung verantwortlich sind, insbesondere für die Ausprägung von günstigen oxidativen Eigenschaften.
Unser Ansatz basiert auf drei Säulen: (A) Mausmodellen für stoffwechselrelevante Umwelteinflüsse, (B) primären MSC-Zellkulturen unter Nachahmung der physiologischen Nische, und (C) patientenspezifischen humanen MSCs, jeweils in Verbindung mit der Manipulation von molekularen Targets. Unsere Kooperation mit dem Institut für Diabetes und Krebs am Helmholtz-Zentrum München ermöglicht den Zugang zu State-of-the-Art-Technologie und Expertise auf dem Gebiet der Stoffwechselforschung.

Die durch unsere Arbeit gewonnene Erkenntnis soll zum Fortschritt bei der Prävention und Behandlung von Adipositas im Kindesalter und den damit verbundenen chronischen Stoffwechselerkrankungen beitragen. Zudem erwarten wir, Rückschlüsse über allgemeingültige Zusammenhänge zwischen Gesamtkörperstoffwechsel und Zellwachstum, die der Rolle von Adipositas als Risikofaktor bei der Krebsentstehung zugrunde liegen könnten, ziehen zu können.

Kontakt

Dr. Alexandros Vegiopoulos
Metabolismus und Stammzellplastizität (A171)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 (0)6221-423585

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Bayindir, I., Babaeikelishomi, R., Kocanova, S., Sousa, I.S., Lerch, S., Hardt, O., Wild, S., Bosio, A., Bystricky, K., Herzig, S., & Vegiopoulos, A. (2015). Transcriptional Pathways in cPGI2-Induced Adipocyte Progenitor Activation for Browning. Frontiers in Endocrinology (Lausanne) 6, 129
  • Vegiopoulos, A., Müller-Decker, K., Strzoda, D., Schmitt, I., Chichelnitskiy, E., Ostertag, A., Berriel Diaz, M., Rozman, J., Hrabe de Angelis, M., Nüsing, R.M., Meyer, C.W., Wahli, W., Klingenspor, M., & Herzig, S. (2010). Cyclooxygenase-2 controls energy homeostasis in mice by de novo recruitment of brown adipocytes. Science, 328(5982), 1158-61
  • 2016-07-14 12:58:17
nach oben