1. Hauptnavigation
  2. Navigation des Hauptbereiches
  3. Inhalt der Seite

Boveri Junior Research Group Innate Immunity

PD Dr. Adelheid Cerwenka

NK cells identified by brown staining infiltrating cervical carcinoma
Vergrößerte Ansicht NK cells identified by brown staining infiltrating cervical carcinoma

The innate immune response serves as the first line of immune defence and does not only directly lead to tumor cell destruction, but also to efficient subsequent activation of the adaptive immune system. The Boveri Junior Group „Innate Immunity“ investigates Natural Killer (NK) cells and myeloid cell subsets in cancer with the goal to improve therapeutic anti-tumor strategies. NK cells potently kill tumor cells and produce inflammatory cytokines. Their activation is determined by a delicate balance between signals delivered by inhibitory receptors, most of which are specific for self-MHC class I, and activating receptors. Many tumors lose expression of MHC class I molecules and frequently escape from direct recognition by CD8+ T cells, but become highly susceptible to NK cell-mediated killing. Thus, we believe that it is of major importance to explore NK cell-based therapies against cancer. Our research focuses on three strategies to amplify innate immune cell-mediated anti-tumor responses. 1.) It is our goal to guide high numbers of highly active, persistent NK cells to the tumor site. 2.) We attempt to increase the visibility of tumor cells to NK cells by the upregulation of ligands for activating NK cell receptors on tumors. 3.) We aim at exploring inflammatory pathways in myeloid cells and their functional importance in the context of cancer.Our future projects will further continue to develop strategies aiming at harnessing NK cells against tumors. In addition, candidates in inflammatory signalling pathways in myeloid cells and their functional importance in the context of cancer inflammation will be investigated. Our overall program is designed to gain novel insight in mouse and human NK cell and myeloid cell biology building the basis for innovative strategies of immunotherapy against cancer.

Selected Publications

Fiegler N, Textor S, Arnold A, Rölle A, Oehme I, Breuhahn K, Moldenhauer G, Witzens-Harig M, Cerwenka A. Downregulation of the activating NKp30 ligand B7-H6 by HDAC inhibitors impairs tumor cell recognition by NK cells. Blood. 2013 Jun 25. [Epub ahead of print] PMID: 23801635

Rölle A, Pollmann J, Ewen EM, Le VT, Halenius A, Hengel H, Cerwenka A. IL-12-producing monocytes and HLA-E control HCMV-driven NKG2C+ NK cell expansion. J Clin Invest. 2014 Dec;124(12):5305-16. doi: 10.1172/JCI77440. Epub 2014 Nov 10.

Schlecker E, Stojanovic A, Eisen C, Quack C, Falk CS, Umansky V and Cerwenka A. Tumor-infiltrating monocytic myeloid-derived suppressor cells mediate CCR5-dependent recruitment of regulatory T cells favoring tumor growth” J Immunol. 189(12):5602-5611, 2012

Ni J, Miller M, Stojanovic A, Garbi N, Cerwenka A. Sustained effector function of IL-12/15/18 preactivated NK cells against established tumors. J Exp Med 209(13):2351-2365, 2012

last update: 02/04/2015 back to top

Boveri-Nachwuchsgruppe Angeborene Immunität

PD Dr. Adelheid Cerwenka

NK-Zellen (braun gefärbt), die in Gebärmutterhalskrebs infiltriert sind
© dkfz.de

Das angeborene Immunsystem dient zur ersten Abwehr gegen eindringende Krankheitserreger und Krebszellen. Es ist nicht nur für die Zerstörung von Tumorzellen verantwortlich, sondern auch für eine darauffolgende Aktivierung des erworbenen Immunsystems. Die Boveri Nachwuchsgruppe “Angeborene Immunität” erforscht Natürliche Killerzellen (NK-Zellen) und myeloide Zellen mit dem Ziel, die Immuntherapie gegen Krebs zu verbessern. NK-Zellen zerstören Tumorzellen und produzieren große Mengen an Botenstoffen, die Entzündungen vermitteln. Ihre Aktivität wird durch ein Gleichgewicht von Signalen hemmender Rezeptoren (meist spezifisch für selbst-MHC-Klasse-I Moleküle) und aktivierender Rezeptoren bestimmt. Viele Tumore verlieren MHC-Klasse-I-Moleküle und können daher erschwert durch CD8+ T Zellen angegriffen werden. Diese Tumore stellen allerdings hervorragende Zielzellen für NK-Zell-Attacke dar. Wir sind daher überzeugt, dass es von größer Bedeutung ist, NK-Zell-basierte Therapien gegen Krebs zu untersuchen. Unsere Forschungen fokussieren auf drei Strategien zur Verstärkung der angeborenen Zell-vermittelten Immunantwort: 1. der Anreicherung einer hohen Anzahl hochaktiver, lang-lebiger NK-Zellen im Tumorgewebe, 2. der Verbesserung der „Sichtbarkeit“ der Tumorzellen für NK-Zellen durch Hochregulierung von Liganden, die NK-Zell-Rezeptoren aktivieren, und 3. der Erforschung von Signalketten in myeloiden Zellen und deren funktionellen Bedeutung bei der Krebstherapie.

Auch in Zukunft werden wir Strategien entwickeln, die NK-Zell Antwort gegen Tumore zu verstärken. Zusätzlich wird die Rolle von Signalketten in myeloiden Zellen und deren Bedeutung bei Entzündung und Krebs untersucht werden. Unser Programm wird weiterhin neue Aspekte humaner und muriner NK-Zellen und myeloider Zellen erforschen um aus den gewonnenen Erkenntnissen innovative Strategien gegen Krebs abzuleiten.

Die weiterführenden Seiten sind derzeit nur auf Englisch verfügbar.

Kontakt

PD Dr. Adelheid Cerwenka
Angeborene Immunität (D080)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 4480


Sekretariat:
Birgit Vey
b.vey@dkfz.de
Tel: +49 6221-42 3728

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Fiegler N, Textor S, Arnold A, Rölle A, Oehme I, Breuhahn K, Moldenhauer G, Witzens-Harig M, Cerwenka A. Downregulation of the activating NKp30 ligand B7-H6 by HDAC inhibitors impairs tumor cell recognition by NK cells. Blood. 2013 Jun 25. [Epub ahead of print] PMID: 23801635
  • Rölle A, Pollmann J, Ewen EM, Le VT, Halenius A, Hengel H, Cerwenka A. IL-12-producing monocytes and HLA-E control HCMV-driven NKG2C+ NK cell expansion. J Clin Invest. 2014 Dec;124(12):5305-16. doi: 10.1172/JCI77440. Epub 2014 Nov 10.
  • Cerwenka A. et al. (2016). Natural killer cell memory in infection, inflammation and cancer. Nat Rev Immunol, 16(2), 112-123.
  • Ni J, Miller M, Stojanovic A, Garbi N, Cerwenka A. Sustained effector function of IL-12/15/18 preactivated NK cells against established tumors. J Exp Med 209(13):2351-2365, 2012
nach oben