Helmholtz University Junior Research Group Immune Tolerance

Dr. Markus Feuerer

Immune cells infiltrate and destroy insulin producing islet cells in the pancreas
© dkfz.de

The immune system has evolved over time to defeat external threats such as bacteria and viruses as well as internal threats like cancer. The ability of the immune system to destroy such a diverse number of foreign invaders is a tribute to its flexibility. However, this comes at a price and the complexity can lead to severe autoimmune diseases. In addition, misguided or deregulated immune responses have recently been implicated in non-classical immune disorders such as obesity. To minimize such collateral damage, powerful mechanisms of immune tolerance have evolved to keep unwanted immune responses at bay. These mechanisms must be tightly controlled as overactive immune tolerance can specifically counteract desirable immune reactions (e.g. anti-tumor or anti-microbial).
Peripheral immune regulation is maintained by specialized cells, including T cells and myeloid-derived cells. The ability to actively suppress an immune response makes regulatory T (Treg) cells important elements to consider. Treg cells are a specialized lineage of CD4+ T cells, characterized by expression of the transcriptional regulator Foxp3. Treg cells are essential for the maintenance of self-tolerance.
Our goal is to explore Treg cell biology in the context of autoimmunity and anti-tumor-immunity. What are the molecules behind these specialized cells? In addition, we are interested in the local microenvironment critically involved in immune regulation, especially the innate immune axes.

Harnessing the potential of Treg cells is one of the most promising new approaches to control immune function and treat autoimmune diseases and cancer. However, future strategies to bring Treg-based therapies into the clinics will rely on a better understanding of the molecular pathways that control the development and function of Foxp3+ Treg cells.
Peripheral immune regulation is not only maintained by adoptive immune cells but also by innate cells such as myeloid cells. Innate cells are believed to be the earliest cells activated and recruited to a site of inflammation. Thus, signals integrated and released by these early witnesses will crucially influence the overall response to the challenge.

As a second main project, we are focusing on understanding the role that myeloid cells play in immune regulation. Myeloid cells are a heterogeneous group of cells involved at the interface of inflammation and wound-healing. Some members promote inflammation whereas others have suppressive or regulatory functions. We are especially interested in investigating how monocytes and their progenies (monocyte-derived-DCs and -macrophages) can contribute to inflammation or productive immunity on one hand and tolerance or tissue repair on the other. How is their relationship to inflammation that promotes cancer formation or progression?

Contact

Dr. Markus Feuerer
Immune Tolerance (D100)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 1530

Selected Publications

  • Feuerer M, Shen Y, Littman D, Benoist C, Mathis D (2009). How punctual ablation of Foxp3+ T cells unleashes an autoimmune lesion within the pancreas islets. Immunity, 31, 654-64.
  • Feuerer M, Herrero L, Cipolletta D, Naaz A, Wong J, Nayer A, Lee J, Goldfine AB, Benoist C, Shoelson S, Mathis D (2009). Lean, but not obese, fat is enriched for a unique population of regulatory T cells that affect metabolic parameters. Nature Medicine,15, 930-9.
  • Hettinger J, Richards DM, Hansson J, Barra BB, Joschko AC, Krijgsveld J and Feuerer M. Origin of monocytes and macrophages from a committed progenitor. Nature Immunology 2013 Aug;14(8):821-30
  • Cipolletta D. et al. (2012). PPAR-y is a major driver of the accumulation and phenotype of adipose tissue Treg cells. Nature, 486(7404): 549-53.
to top

1. Hauptnavigation
  2. Navigation des Hauptbereiches
  3. Inhalt der Seite

Helmholtz-Hochschul-Nachwuchsgruppe Immuntoleranz

Dr. Markus Feuerer

Immunzellen infiltrieren und zerstören Insulin produzierende Inselzellen im Pankreas
Vergrößerte Ansicht Immunzellen infiltrieren und zerstören Insulin produzierende Inselzellen im Pankreas

Das Immunsystem hat die außerordentliche Fähigkeit uns gegen eine unvorstellbar große Anzahl an Angreifern zu schützen. Der Preis für diese ungewöhnliche Anpassungsfähigkeit sind Autoimmunerkrankung, die durch selbstreaktive Immunzellen ausgelöst werden können. Ebenso wurden dysregulierte Immunantworten bei nicht-klassischen Immunerkrankungen beschrieben (wie z. B. bei Obesitas oder kardiovaskulären Erkrankungen). Um solche Kollateralschäden zu minimieren, sind verschiedene Toleranzmechanismen in der Peripherie aktiv. Diese Regulationsvorgänge müssen jedoch eng kontrolliert werden, da sie auch erwünschte Immunantworten unterdrücken können (z. B. gegen Tumore oder gegen Infektionen). Eine erfolgreiche Anti-Tumor-Immuntherapie hängt sogar sehr von der effizienten Aktivierung der Selbstreaktivität ab und wird somit besonders stark durch Immuntoleranz beeinträchtigt.
Unser Interesse gilt der Analyse der molekularen Mechanismen der peripheren Immuntoleranz von dominanter Suppression bis T–Zell Anergie. Die Fähigkeit aktive Immunreaktionen zu unterdrücken, rückt regulatorische T (Treg) Zellen als attraktive Kandidaten in den Vordergrund. Treg Zellen sind eine spezialisierte CD4+ T-Zell Population, die durch die Expression des Transkriptionsfaktors Foxp3 charakterisiert ist. Wir wollen die Entstehung und Funktionsweise dieser Zellen im Kontext von Autoimmundiabetes und Tumorimmunität untersuchen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die lokale gewebeabhängige Immunkontrolle.

Um das vielversprechende Potential der regulatorischen T-Zellen (Immunantworten zu kontrollieren) für therapeutische Anwendungen zu erschließen, müssen noch weitere grundlegende molekulare Mechanismen ihrer Entstehung und Funktion erforscht werden.
Periphere Immunregulation wird nicht nur durch adoptive Immunzellen (wie Treg Zellen) aufrechterhalten, sondern auch durch Zellen des angeborenen Immunsystems, wie z. B. myeloide Zellen. Myeloide Zellen sind eine heterogene Gruppe von verschiedenen Zellen, die an der Schnittstelle von Inflammation und Wundheilung beteiligt sind. Einige Mitglieder vermitteln Entzündungen, während andere regulierende, toleranzinduzierende Funktionen übernehmen. Wir interessieren uns im Besonderen für Monozyten und ihre Abkömmlinge in diesem Zusammenhang.

Ausgewählte Publikationen

Feuerer M, Shen Y, Littman D, Benoist C, Mathis D (2009). How punctual ablation of Foxp3+ T cells unleashes an autoimmune lesion within the pancreas islets. Immunity, 31, 654-64.

Feuerer M, Herrero L, Cipolletta D, Naaz A, Wong J, Nayer A, Lee J, Goldfine AB, Benoist C, Shoelson S, Mathis D (2009). Lean, but not obese, fat is enriched for a unique population of regulatory T cells that affect metabolic parameters. Nature Medicine,15, 930-9.

Feuerer M, Beckhove P, Garbi N, Mahnke Y, Limmer A, Hommel M, Hammerling GJ, Kyewski B, Hamann A, Umansky V, Schirrmacher V (2003). Bone marrow as a priming site for T-cell responses to blood-borne antigen. Nature Medicine, 9, 1151-1157.

Feuerer M, Beckhove P, Bai L, Solomayer EF, Bastert G, Diel IJ, Pedain C, Oberniedermayr M, Schirrmacher V, Umansky V (2001). Therapy of human tumors in NOD/SCID mice with patient-derived reactivated memory T cells from bone marrow. Nature Medicine, 7, 452-458.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 11.11.2011 Seitenanfang