Division of Chromatin Networks

PD Dr. Karsten Rippe

Computer simulations of the dynamic structure of a nucleosome. The nucleosome is the basic building block of chromatin and consists of an histone protein core with DNA wrapped around it. In a human cell about 30 million nucleosomes organize the genome of 6 billion DNA base pairs. The image shows computer simulations of the dynamics nucleosome conformation over a 2 nanosecond time period with histone proteins in white and the DNA color-coded according to simulation time from red to white to blue. For further details on investigating nucleosome and chromatin features in computer simulations see Ettig et al. 2011, Biophys. J. and Kepper et al. 2008, Biophys. J.
© dkfz.de

The Division of Chromatin Networks at the DKFZ and the BioQuant is an interdisciplinary research team that combines molecular/cell biology and physics. It investigates the relation of the dynamic organization of the genome in the eukaryotic cell nucleus with the readout, processing, maintenance and transfer of the information encoded in the DNA sequence. A special focus is put on the conformation and dynamic properties of chromatin - the complex of the DNA genome with histones and other chromosomal proteins. Both the DNA and the protein component of chromatin are subject to post-translational modifications that include DNA/histone methylation, as well as acetylation and phosphorylation of histones. These epigenetic signals determine the cell's gene expression pattern and can be propagated through cell division. They are tightly related to chromatin organization, which in turn is a key determinant of access to DNA sequence information for interacting protein factors. The goal of the group is to provide an integrated view on how the dynamic balance between different chromatin states determines genome functions.

Understanding how chromatin states are established and maintained becomes increasingly important for medical diagnosis and therapy of cancer, developmental diseases and other pathologies. We will further advance the single cell analysis of epigenetic networks by fluorescence spectroscopy/microscopy-based techniques in living cells and integrate it with genome wide studies of nucleosome positioning, protein binding and histone modifications in cell populations based on DNA sequencing. The experimental results will serve as the basis for various modeling-based projects with respect to developing quantitative descriptions for the dynamic chromatin organization in the context of the dynamic nuclear architecture into subcompartments. The results from these studies are integrated to dissect the underlying networks. Our work has a number of implications for translational medical research with respect to elucidating the complex effects of epigenetic drugs like histone deacetylase or DNA methylase inhibitors in treatment of cancer. Accordingly, we plan to apply a number of approaches currently used with immortalized human and mouse cell lines to studies of primary cancer cells.

External Bioquant-Website

Contact

PD Dr. Karsten Rippe
Chromatin Networks (B066)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 54 51376

Selected Publications

  • Müller-Ott, K., Erdel, F., Matveeva, A., Hahn, M., Mallm, J.-P., Rademacher, A., Marth, C., Zhang, Q., Kaltofen, S., Schotta, G., Höfer, T. & Rippe, K. (2014). Specificity, propagation and memory of pericentric heterochromatin. Mol. Syst. Biol. 10, 746. doi: 10.15252/msb.20145377
  • Baum, M., Wachsmuth, M., Erdel, F. & Rippe, K. (2014). Retrieving the intracellular topology from multi-scale protein mobility mapping in living cells. Nat. Commun. 5, 4494. doi: 10.1038/ncomms5494
  • Teif, V. B., Beshnova, D. A., Vainshtein, Y., Marth, C., Mallm, J.-P., Höfer, T. & Rippe, K. (2014). Nucleosome repositioning links DNA (de)methylation and differential CTCF binding during stem cell development. Genome Res. 24, 1285-1295. doi: 10.1101/gr.164418.113
  • Chung, I., Leonhardt, H. & Rippe, K. (2011). De novo assembly of a PML nuclear subcompartment occurs through multiple pathways and induces telomere elongation. J. Cell Sci. 124, 3603-3618. doi: 10.1242/jcs.084681
to top

Abteilung Chromatin-Netzwerke

PD Dr. Karsten Rippe

Computersimulation der dynamischen Nukleosomstruktur. Das Nukleosom ist der Grundbaustein des Chromatins und besteht aus einem Histonproteinkern und umwickelter DNA. In einer menschlichen Zelle ist das Genom von sechs Milliarden DNA-Basenpaaren in ca. 30 Millionen Nukleosomen organisiert. Die Abbildung zeigt Computersimulationen der dynamischen Nukleosomenkonformationen über einen Zeitraum von 2 Nanosekunden. Die Histonproteine sind weiß dargestellt und die Farbgebung der DNA entspricht der Simulationszeit (zunehmend von Rot über Weiß zu Blau). Für Details zur Untersuchung von Nukleosom- und Chromosomeigenschaften in Computersimulationen siehe Ettig et al. 2011, Biophys. J. and Kepper et al. 2008, Biophys. J.
© dkfz.de

Die Abteilung "Chromatin-Netzwerke" am DKFZ und BioQuant ist ein interdisziplinäres Team, das Methoden der Molekular- und Zellbiologie mit denen der Physik kombiniert. In den Arbeiten wird der Zusammenhang der dynamischen Organisation des Genoms im eukaryotischen Zellkern mit dem Auslesen, Prozessieren, Erhalten und Transferieren der in der DNA-Sequenz kodierten Information untersucht. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Konformation und den dynamischen Eigenschaften von Chromatin. Damit wird der Komplex bezeichnet, den das DNA-Genom mit Histonen und anderen chromosomalen Proteinen bildet. Sowohl die DNA als auch die Proteinkomponente des Chromatins unterliegen verschiedenen posttranslationalen Modifikationen. Dazu gehören DNA- und Histon-Methylierung sowie die Acetylierung und Phosphorylierung von Histonen. Diese epigenetischen Signale bestimmen das Genexpressionsmuster der Zelle und können über die Zellteilung hinaus weitergegeben werden. Die entsprechenden Prozesse sind eng mit der Organisation des Chromatins verküpft, die wiederum von zentraler Bedeutung für den Zugang anderer Proteinfaktoren zur genetischen Information ist. Forschungsziel der Gruppe ist es, in einer integrierten Darstellung abzubilden, wie das dynamische Gleichgewicht zwischen unterschiedlichen Chromatinzuständen die Funktionen des Genoms bestimmt.

Das Verständnis epigenetischer Regulation wird für die Diagnose und Therapie von Krebs, Entwicklungsstörungen und anderer Krankheiten immer wichtiger. In diesem Zusammenhang führt die Arbeitsgruppe Analysen epigenetischer Netzwerke mit biophysikalischen Methoden wie der Fluoreszenzspektroskopie/-mikroskopie in lebenden Zellen durch. Die experimentellen Ergebnisse dienen als Basis für Modellierungsansätze, die auf die Entwicklung quantitativer Modelle der dynamischen Chromatinorganisation abzielen. Komplementär werden genomweite Studien zur Nukleosompositionierung, Proteinbindung und Histonmodifikationen in Zellpopulationen mittels DNA-Sequenzierung durchgeführt. Die Erkenntnisse aus den unterschiedlichen Forschungsansätzen werden in einen systembiologischen Ansatz integriert, um epigenetische Netzwerke zu analysieren. Die Arbeit der Forschungsgruppe ist für die translationale medizinische Erforschung der komplexen Effekte epigenetisch wirksamer Medikamente (z.B. Inhibitoren von Histondeacetylasen oder DNA-Methylasen) in der Krebstherapie von Bedeutung. Deshalb ist geplant, die Untersuchungen immortalisierter humaner und muriner Zelllinien auf Studien primärer Krebszellen zu erweitern.

Externe Bioquant-Webseite

Kontakt

PD Dr. Karsten Rippe
Chromatin-Netzwerke (B066)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 54 51376

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Müller-Ott, K., Erdel, F., Matveeva, A., Hahn, M., Mallm, J.-P., Rademacher, A., Marth, C., Zhang, Q., Kaltofen, S., Schotta, G., Höfer, T. & Rippe, K. (2014). Specificity, propagation and memory of pericentric heterochromatin. Mol. Syst. Biol. 10, 746. doi: 10.15252/msb.20145377
  • Baum, M., Wachsmuth, M., Erdel, F. & Rippe, K. (2014). Retrieving the intracellular topology from multi-scale protein mobility mapping in living cells. Nat. Commun. 5, 4494. doi: 10.1038/ncomms5494
  • Teif, V. B., Beshnova, D. A., Vainshtein, Y., Marth, C., Mallm, J.-P., Höfer, T. & Rippe, K. (2014). Nucleosome repositioning links DNA (de)methylation and differential CTCF binding during stem cell development. Genome Res. 24, 1285-1295. doi: 10.1101/gr.164418.113
  • Chung, I., Leonhardt, H. & Rippe, K. (2011). De novo assembly of a PML nuclear subcompartment occurs through multiple pathways and induces telomere elongation. J. Cell Sci. 124, 3603-3618. doi: 10.1242/jcs.084681
nach oben