Translational Cancer Research

Research Program

Translational Cancer Research

Research Program

Translational Cancer Research

Coordinator Prof. Dr. Christof von Kalle

The Research Program is composed of the Divisions of Translational Oncology and Preventive Oncology, which are both located at the National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT) Heidelberg and equipped by the DKFZ. Further components of the Research Program are the Clinical Cooperation Units, which are operated jointly with the Medical Faculties of Heidelberg and Mannheim, and further divisions and working groups of the DKFZ engaged in translational research.

The Research Program has three major goals:

1. Supporting the excellent preclinical research of the DKFZ’s translational research portfolio.
2. Offering centralized services for the effective preparation and realization of investigator initiated trials and basic research projects with patient material.
3. Facilitating, via the Departments of Medical Oncology and Translational Oncology funded jointly with Heidelberg University Hospitals, patient access for systematic clinical implementation of phase I to IV trials.

Great importance is attached to creating solid infrastructure conditions, e.g. by obtaining patient material by systematic tumor and serum banking (biobanking), developing regulatory clinical protocols by trial physicians and validated laboratory investigations accompanying trials as well as biostatistical support and evaluation. The goal is also to speed up implementation in clinical research by overcoming the greatest obstacles arising from the laboratory workbench to the hospital bed.

Divisions

Topic Locator

Find research groups by research areas or browse through all research groups and PI names.

Cancer Research at DKFZ

DKFZ-ZMBH-Alliance

The DKFZ-ZMBH-Alliance is a strategic alliance between the Research Program Cell and Tumor Biology and the Center for Molecular Biology of Heidelberg University.

Research Results

Here you can find our latest press releases.

Junior Research Groups

At German Cancer Research Center the following Junior Research Groups have been established.

to top

Translationale Krebsforschung

Forschungsschwerpunkt

Translationale Krebsforschung

Forschungsschwerpunkt

Translationale Krebsforschung

Sprecher Prof. Dr. Christof von Kalle

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt setzt sich aus den am Nationalen Centrum für Tumorerkankungen (NCT) Heidelberg ansässigen und vom DKFZ ausgestatteten Abteilungen Translationale Onkologie und Präventive Onkologie zusammen. Zum Schwerpunkt gehören auch die gemeinsam mit den Medizinischen Fakultäten Heidelberg und Mannheim betriebenen Klinischen Kooperationseinheiten (KKE) und weitere translational tätige Abteilungen und Arbeitsgruppen des DKFZ.

Der Schwerpunkt verfolgt drei wesentliche Zielsetzungen:
1. Förderung der exzellenten präklinischen Forschung des translationalen DKFZ-Forschungsportfolios.
2. Das Angebot zentraler Dienste zur effektiven Vorbereitung und Durchführung von forschungsinitiierten Patientenstudien (Investigator Initiated Trials) und Grundlagenforschungsprojekten mit Patientenmaterial.
3. Über die gemeinsam mit dem Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg getragenen Lehrstühle für Medizinische Onkologie und Translationale Onkologie ermöglicht der Schwerpunkt den Patientenzugang für die systematische klinische Umsetzung von Phase I bis IV Studien.

Dabei wird auf die Schaffung solider infrastruktureller Voraussetzungen, wie etwa die Gewinnung von Patientenmaterial mit einem systematischen Tumor- und Serumbanking (Biobanking), die regulatorische und studienärztliche Entwicklung von klinischen Protokollen und studienbegleitende validierte Laboruntersuchungen sowie biostatistische Betreuung und Auswertung, höchsten Wert gelegt. Durch Überbrückung der schwierigsten Hindernisse von der Laborbank zum Krankenbett soll eine Beschleunigung der gesamten Umsetzungskette auch in der klinischen Forschung erzielt werden.

Themensuche

Finden Sie hier eine Forschungsabteilung durch Suche nach einem Forschungsthema oder nutzen Sie die alphabetische Liste aller Abteilungen und Arbeitsgruppen.

Cancer Research at DKFZ

DKFZ-ZMBH-Allianz

Die DKFZ-ZMBH-Allianz ist eine strategische Allianz zwischen dem Forschungsschwerpunkt Zell- und Tumorbiologie und dem Zentrum für Molekulare Biologie der Universität Heidelberg.

Forschungsergebnisse

Hier finden Sie unsere aktuellen Pressemitteilungen.

Wissenschaftliche Nachwuchsförderung

Am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum existieren folgende Nachwuchsgruppen.

nach oben