Knowledge transfer-transfer knowledge. A history and current state of transfer between the humanities and life sciences

Introduction

Foto: istockphoto 19053337

© Foto: istockphoto 19053337

The most recent advances in modern life sciences and the associated expectations of politicians, funding agencies and the general public demands interdisciplinary consideration and interaction with humanities institutions.
In 2010, the DKFZ (German Cancer Research Centre)together with the Berlin Centre for Literary and Cultural Research (ZFL) initiated a project, funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, entitled „Knowledge transfer-transfer knowledge. A history and current state of transfer between the humanities and life sciences“.

Project objectives

To consider questions arising in basic science and the answers reached in dialogue with the humanities. The target group includes natural science researchers wishing to avail themselves of the expertise afforded by the humanities disciplines in formulating and arriving at self-critical solutions to problems. Thus, the processes involved in acquiring knowledge in the natural sciences would be considered in synthesis with culturally oriented research in science and technology studies. (Pressemitteilung DKFZ: „Wie Wissen in die Welt gelangt).

In addition to the (cultural) scientific exploration of these themes, this internet platform itself may also be utilised as the basis for teaching events to further the scientific literacy of doctoral students and other DKFZ employees. Thus, a deeper understanding of both historical and current trends, as well as critical analysis of scientific discourse could be achieved. The participants gain insights especially in to the strategies and methods of knowledge management,knowledge communication and the many particular forms of knowledge acquisition.

Use of literary database

 A large volume of literature has been assembled for this project, which we wish to document and make available on our website. Thus we hope to support all those interested in an individual exploration and to stimulate discussion. The literature entries have, as far as possible, been linked, so that in many cases the publications can be read directly where the necessary authorisation for public use, or that of your own institute, has been given.

Feedback

We look forward to your feedback to Prof. Dr. Frank Rösl, E-Mail: f.roesl@dkfz.de

to top

Übertragungswissen - Wissensübertragungen: Interdisziplinarität

Einführung

Foto: istockphoto 19053337

© Foto: istockphoto 19053337

Die jüngsten Fortschritte in den modernen Lebenswissenschaften und die damit verbundenen Erwartungen von Politik, Drittmittelgebern  und Öffentlichkeit erfordern interdisziplinäre Reflexionen und Interaktionen mit Institutionen aus den Geisteswissenschaften.
Im Jahr 2010 startete das Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum Heidelberg gemeinsam mit dem Zentrum für Literatur- und Kulturforschung (ZfL) Berlin ein Projekt mit dem Titel „Übertragungswissen – Wissensübertragungen. Zur Geschichte und Aktualität des Transfers zwischen Lebens- und Geisteswissenschaften“, gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.

Projektziele

Es geht um Fragestellungen im Bereich der Grundlagenforschung und deren Beantwortung im Dialog mit Geisteswissenschaften. Adressaten sind Forscherinnen und Forscher aus den Lebenswissenschaften, die das Wissen geisteswissenschaftlicher Disziplinen  zur Formulierung und selbstkritischen Lösung ihrer Probleme benutzen möchten. Die Prozesse von Erkenntnisgewinn in den Lebenswissenschaften können somit in Synthese mit kulturwissenschaftlich ausgerichteter Wissenschaftsforschung („Science and Technology Studies“) reflektiert werden. (Pressemitteilung DKFZ: „Wie Wissen in die Welt gelangt").

Über die (kultur-) wissenschaftliche Aufarbeitung dieser Thematik hinaus kann diese Internetplattform auch als Grundlage für Lehrveranstaltungen verwendet werden um das Fachwissen von Doktoranden und Doktorandinnen sowie der Beschäftigten des DKFZ zu erweitern („scientific literacy“). So soll ein tiefes Verständnis der historischen und gegenwärtigen Strömungen sowie eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit wissenschaftlichen Diskursen erreicht werden. Die Beteiligten gewinnen insbesondere Einblicke in die Strategien und Methoden des Wissenschaftsmanagements, der Wissenschaftskommunikation und Formen des Erkenntnisgewinns.

Nutzung Literaturdatenbank

Für das Projekt wurde in großem Umfang Literatur zusammengetragen, die wir auf unserer Internet-Seite dokumentieren und zugänglich machen möchten. Damit möchten wir die persönliche Auseinandersetzung Interessierter  unterstützen und Diskussionen anregen. Den Literatureinträgen wurden so weit wie möglich Links hinzugefügt, so dass Sie in vielen Fällen direkt zu den Veröffentlichungen  geführt werden (soweit die Verlage die Text zur allgemeinen Nutzung freigegeben haben bzw. Sie über eine Zugriffsberechtigung durch Ihre Forschungseinrichtung verfügen).

Zum Literaturarchiv

Hier gelangen Sie zum Literaturarchiv.

Feedback

Wir freuen uns über Ihr feedback an Prof. Dr. Frank Rösl, E-Mail: f.roesl@dkfz.de

nach oben