Databox

Project DataBox: Digital Health Management in Patients’ Hands

Laboratory results, radiographs, ECGs, or medical reports: Today, German citizens generate huge amounts of health-related data – at the general practitioner, the specialist, or in hospital. Yet, there is no system storing such individual data securely at one place, making it accessible for later treatments or research, and thus creating added value for the general public. DataBox is changing this unsatisfying situation: through individual data rooms for each and every patient.

© Shutterstock

Under the umbrella of the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), and in cooperation with SAP and Siemens Healthineers, physicians, researchers and IT specialists have been developing a system called DataBox. In the first place, the platform enables patients to collect data regardless of format, share it with the doctors of their choice and receive data from them. In the long run, DataBox shall make diverse systems readable and comparable among one another. That way, all important information would be available for future treatments and could be taken into account for diagnosis and therapy recommendations. In addition, DataBox aims at making experience from previous therapies available for similar cases. In a second step, the involved experts hope for new diagnostic methods and treatment concepts through big data analysis. Major goals are the provision of better prevention measures for all and of more effective therapies for the sickened patients. 

Within DataBox, it’s the patients who hold all rights to their data. Only with their consent, digital, health-related information is compiled, saved and made accessible. For the patients, DataBox is a safe and transparent information service that can be accessed online. Physicians, by contrast, can quickly and comfortably track the complete medical history if they are authorized to view their patients’ data.

First practical tests involve patients of the National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT) in Heidelberg, and lung cancer patients of the Cologne University Medical Center who are being treated within the national Network Genomic Medicine (nNGM). The current project phase represents a feasibility study in which the basic functionalities of DataBox are being developed. Subsequent to the 18-month-pilot phase, the platform shall further be developed by extending its functionalities. The long-term goal of the project is the inclusion of DataBox in the standard of care. Having started in January 2018, the project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the Federal Ministry of Health (BMG).

Contact

© NCT/Philip Benjamin

Dr. Stefanie Rudolph
Scientific Coordinator DataBox
phone:  +49 6221 42-5310
mobile: +49-1522-8563560
stefanie.rudolph@dkfz.de

© private

Katja Syri M.A.
Scientific Communications Manager DataBox
phone:  +49 6221 42-1619
mobile: +49 162-3448269
katja.syri@dkfz.de

Cooperation Partners:

Funded by:

to top

DataBox-Projekt: Digitales Gesundheits-Management in Patientenhand

Laborwerte, Röntgenbilder, das EKG oder der Arztbericht. Bei Millionen von Menschen in Deutschland fallen gesundheitsrelevante Daten an – ob beim Hausarzt, Spezialisten oder in der Klinik. Doch bisher gibt es in Deutschland noch kein einheitliches System, das diese sehr persönlichen Informationen sammelt und sowohl für die Behandlung als auch für die Forschung verfügbar macht und damit einen Mehrwert für die Allgemeinheit schafft.  DataBox ändert diese unbefriedigende Situation – mit individuellen und sicheren Datenräumen für Patienten.

© Shutterstock

Unter dem Dach des Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrums (DKFZ) und in Zusammenarbeit mit SAP und Siemens Healthineers entwickeln Ärzte, Wissenschaftler und IT-Spezialisten ein System mit dem Projektnamen DataBox. Im ersten Schritt ermöglicht DataBox den Patienten, Daten formatunabhängig zu sammeln sowie mit den Ärzten ihres Vertrauens zu teilen und von diesen Daten zu erhalten. Perspektivisch soll es verschiedene Systeme untereinander les- und vergleichbar machen. Damit sind alle wichtigen Informationen bei künftigen Behandlungen verfügbar und können bei Diagnose und Therapieempfehlung berücksichtigt werden. Ergänzend dazu sollen die Erfahrungen aus vorangegangenen Behandlungen für ähnlich gelagerte Fälle schneller zur Verfügung stehen. Im zweiten Schritt erwarten sich die Experten aus der Analyse großer Datenbestände (Big-Data-Analyse) neue Diagnosemethoden und Behandlungskonzepte. Ziele sind eine bessere Prävention für alle und eine effektivere Therapie für bereits erkrankte Menschen.

In der DataBox besitzt der Patient alleine alle Rechte über seine Daten. Nur mit seiner Zustimmung werden digitale, gesundheitsrelevante Informationen zusammengeführt, gespeichert und verfügbar gemacht. Dem Patienten steht somit ein transparenter und sicherer Informationsservice zur Verfügung, auf den er zunächst über das Internet zugreifen kann. Gibt der Patient einem Arzt seine Daten frei, kann dieser die vollständige Krankheitsgeschichte schnell und unkompliziert nachvollziehen. 

In erste Praxistests sind Patienten des Nationalen Centrums für Tumorerkrankungen (NCT) Heidelberg und Lungenkrebspatienten der Uniklinik Köln eingeschlossen. Die aktuelle Phase stellt eine Machbarkeitsstudie dar, in der die Grundfunktionen der DataBox angelegt werden. Nach der 18-monatigen Pilotphase soll die Plattform, unter Ausweitung der Funktionalitäten, weiterentwickelt werden. Langfristiges Ziel ist der Übergang in die Regelversorgung. Das im Januar 2018 gestartete Projekt wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und dem Bundesministerium für Gesundheit (BMG) gefördert. 

Kontakt

© NCT/Philip Benjamin

Dr. Stefanie Rudolph
Wissenschaftliche Koordinatorin DataBox
Tel:  +49 6221 42-1630
Mobil: +49-1522-8563560
stefanie.rudolph@dkfz.de

© privat

Katja Syri M.A.
Wissenschaftliche Kommunikationsmanagerin DataBox  
Tel:  +49 6221 42-1619
Mobil: +49 162-3448269
katja.syri@dkfz.de

Ein gemeinsames Projekt von:


nach oben