Cookie Settings

We use cookies to optimize our website. These include cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as those that are only used for anonymous statistic. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Further information can be found in our data privacy protection .

Essential

These cookies are necessary to run the core functionalities of this website and cannot be disabled.

Name Webedition CMS
Purpose This cookie is required by the CMS (Content Management System) Webedition for the system to function correctly. Typically, this cookie is deleted when the browser is closed.
Name econda
Purpose Session cookie emos_jcsid for the web analysis software econda. This runs in the “anonymized measurement” mode. There is no personal reference. As soon as the user leaves the site, tracking is ended and all data in the browser are automatically deleted.
Statistics

These cookies help us understand how visitors interact with our website by collecting and analyzing information anonymously. Depending on the tool, one or more cookies are set by the provider.

Name econda
Purpose Statistics
External media

Content from external media platforms is blocked by default. If cookies from external media are accepted, access to this content no longer requires manual consent.

Name YouTube
Purpose Show YouTube content
Name Twitter
Purpose activate Twitter Feeds
Toxicology and Chemotherapy

Research Group Toxicology and Chemotherapy

Prof. Dr. Martin Berger

The earlier cancer is diagnosed, the better the chances for successful treatment. Fighting a limited number of transformed cells is more promising than tackling a tumor that was able to proliferate over a prolonged period of time. A key goal of oncology is to develop sensitive diagnostic techniques that are able to detect even very small amounts of tumor cells.
Therefore, one of our working groups focuses on the detection of dispersed tumor cells. This is done on the basis of characteristic mutations of genes such as the K-ras gene or the detection of molecular components that are typical of the tissue from which the tumor originates.
As we are aiming towards enhanced treatment possibilities we need to refine not only the techniques for detecting tumor cells, but also the methods for fighting them. Our work in this area is centered around substances called alkylphosphocholines. These substances trigger programmed cell death in cancer cells and spare the bone marrow. In addition, we are studying the prospects of success of a treatment based on attacking tumor-specific molecules. To this end, we have established special animal models for metastasis in the skeleton and the liver that are close to clinical models. Using these, we are studying various aspects of metastasis and treatment methods designed to counteract the spread of cancer cells.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Martin Berger
Toxicology and Chemotherapy (G401)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 3310

Selected Publications

  • Kovacheva M, Zepp M, Berger SM, Berger MR.: Sustained conditional knockdown reveals intracellular bone sialoprotein as essential for breast cancer skeletal metastasis. Oncotarget.5: 5510-5522 (2014).
  • Horrix C, Raviv Z, Flescher E, Voss C, Berger MR.: Plant ribosome-inactivating proteins type II induce the unfolded protein response in human cancer cells. Cell Mol Life Sci. 68:1269–1281 (2011)
  • 2016-08-30 14:56:26
to top
powered by webEdition CMS

Cookie Hinweis

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen ein optimales Webseiten-Erlebnis zu bieten. Dazu zählen Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Seite notwendig sind, sowie solche, die lediglich zu anonymen Statistikzwecken, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte genutzt werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass auf Basis Ihrer Einstellungen womöglich nicht mehr alle Funktionalitäten der Seite zur Verfügung stehen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzhinweisen .

Essentiell

Diese Cookies sind für die Funktionalität unserer Website erforderlich und können nicht deaktiviert werden.

Name Webedition CMS
Zweck Dieses Cookie wird vom CMS (Content Management System) Webedition für die unverwechselbare Identifizierung eines Anwenders gesetzt. Es bietet dem Anwender bessere Bedienerführung, z.B. Speicherung von Sucheinstellungen oder Formulardaten. Typischerweise wird dieses Cookie beim Schließen des Browsers gelöscht.
Name econda
Zweck Session-Cookie für die Webanalyse Software econda. Diese läuft im Modus „Anonymisiertes Messen“.
Statistik

Diese Cookies helfen uns zu verstehen, wie Besucher mit unserer Webseite interagieren, indem Informationen anonym gesammelt und analysiert werden. Je nach Tool werden ein oder mehrere Cookies des Anbieters gesetzt.

Name econda
Zweck Measure with Visitor Cookie emos_jcvid
Externe Medien

Inhalte von externen Medienplattformen werden standardmäßig blockiert. Wenn Cookies von externen Medien akzeptiert werden, bedarf der Zugriff auf diese Inhalte keiner manuellen Zustimmung mehr.

Name YouTube
Zweck Zeige YouTube Inhalte
Name Twitter
Zweck Twitter Feeds aktivieren

Arbeitsgruppe Toxikologie und Chemotherapie

Prof. Dr. Martin Berger

Je früher eine Krebserkrankung erkannt wird, desto besser sind die Therapieaussichten. Wenige entartete Zellen zu bekämpfen ist Erfolg versprechender als gegen einen einen Tumor vorzugehen, der über längere Zeit wuchern konnte. Ein wichtiges Ziel der Onkologie ist es, empfindliche diagnostische Verfahren zu entwickeln, die bereits geringe Mengen an Tumorzellen nachweisen können.
Einer unserer Arbeitsschwerpunkte ist deshalb dem Nachweis verstreuter Tumorzellen gewidmet. Dazu dienen charakteristische Mutationen in Genen wie dem K-ras-Gen oder der Nachweis von molekularen Bestandteilen, die für das Gewebe typisch sind, aus dem der Tumor stammt.
Auf dem Weg zu verbesserten Therapiemöglichkeiten gilt es aber nicht nur die Methoden zum Nachweis von Tumorzellen zu verfeinern, sondern auch die Verfahren zu deren Bekämpfung. Unsere Arbeiten dazu konzentrieren sich auf Alkylphosphocholine. Diese Substanzen lösen in Krebszellen den programmierten Zelltod aus und schonen das Knochenmark. Darüber hinaus untersuchen wir die Erfolgsaussichten einer Therapie, die tumorspezifische Moleküle angreift. Dazu haben wir spezielle Tiermodelle zur Metastasenbildung im Skelett und in der Leber etabliert, die den klinischen Vorbildern nahe kommen. Damit studieren wir verschiedene Aspekte der Metastasierung und Therapieverfahren, die der Streuung von Krebszellen entgegen wirken sollen.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Martin Berger
Toxikologie und Chemotherapie (G401)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 3310

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Kovacheva M, Zepp M, Berger SM, Berger MR.: Sustained conditional knockdown reveals intracellular bone sialoprotein as essential for breast cancer skeletal metastasis. Oncotarget.5: 5510-5522 (2014).
  • Horrix C, Raviv Z, Flescher E, Voss C, Berger MR.: Plant ribosome-inactivating proteins type II induce the unfolded protein response in human cancer cells. Cell Mol Life Sci. 68:1269–1281 (2011)
  • 2016-08-30 14:56:26
nach oben
powered by webEdition CMS